Exactly how picky is Vegas with codecs?

For help and discussion concerning the Sony Vegas software.

Exactly how picky is Vegas with codecs?

Postby Akashio » Wed Apr 13, 2011 8:10 pm

My problem is simple. I have an archived anime series in .mkv format that I have converted into HuffyYuv YU2 .avi's and, on other occassion, FFV1 avi's using AMVBe 1.2 Beta. When I import a file into Sony Vegas 10.0 64-bit, it will not accept the files. What kind of lossless video does Vegas accept and why won't it accept them as I have them currently?
User avatar
Akashio
 
Joined: 25 Nov 2001

Re: Exactly how picky is Vegas with codecs?

Postby Nya-chan Production » Wed Apr 13, 2011 9:07 pm

Aaaaaaand...

Do you have 64-bit versions of those lossless codecs?

Check also this thread where people solved similar issues: viewtopic.php?f=68&t=102167
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
User avatar
Nya-chan Production
The :< point of view
 
Joined: 15 Nov 2006
Location: Ward 7F
Status: White bracelet

Re: Exactly how picky is Vegas with codecs?

Postby Akashio » Wed Apr 13, 2011 9:51 pm

I read the whole thread and downloaded HuffYUV 64-bit, but it's just a .dll file. Where should I put it? I am so dependent on .exe's :p.
User avatar
Akashio
 
Joined: 25 Nov 2001

Re: Exactly how picky is Vegas with codecs?

Postby Nya-chan Production » Wed Apr 13, 2011 9:58 pm

You should also have .inf file. Right click it and choose install in the dropdown menu ;x
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
User avatar
Nya-chan Production
The :< point of view
 
Joined: 15 Nov 2006
Location: Ward 7F
Status: White bracelet

Re: Exactly how picky is Vegas with codecs?

Postby Akashio » Wed Apr 13, 2011 10:07 pm

So I did that, but I can't find huffYUV64 anywhere in AMVBe. Ah, I'm so ready to encode!
User avatar
Akashio
 
Joined: 25 Nov 2001

Re: Exactly how picky is Vegas with codecs?

Postby HalOfBorg » Thu Apr 14, 2011 8:52 am

I use UtVideo, lagarith and FFV1 in Sony Vegas Pro 8.0 (32bit)
Help HalOfBorg fight his cancer - http://www.gofundme.com/21ygdk

ImageImageImage
ImageImageImage
User avatar
HalOfBorg
 
Joined: 14 May 2008

Re: Exactly how picky is Vegas with codecs?

Postby Nya-chan Production » Thu Apr 14, 2011 11:28 am

Akashio wrote:So I did that, but I can't find huffYUV64 anywhere in AMVBe. Ah, I'm so ready to encode!

That sounds more like a problem with AMVBe, tbh - I have never used it, though, so I can't really say about that.
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
User avatar
Nya-chan Production
The :< point of view
 
Joined: 15 Nov 2006
Location: Ward 7F
Status: White bracelet

Re: Exactly how picky is Vegas with codecs?

Postby Akashio » Thu Apr 14, 2011 3:03 pm

Nya-chan Production wrote:
Akashio wrote:So I did that, but I can't find huffYUV64 anywhere in AMVBe. Ah, I'm so ready to encode!

That sounds more like a problem with AMVBe, tbh - I have never used it, though, so I can't really say about that.


I can't find it in Virtual Dub 64 either, despite re-installing the .dll.
User avatar
Akashio
 
Joined: 25 Nov 2001

Re: Exactly how picky is Vegas with codecs?

Postby post-it » Thu Apr 14, 2011 3:31 pm

Akashio wrote:.. can't find it in Virtual Dub 64 ..
Virtual Dub 64 Version: 1.9.11 released 24 Dec 2010 ( there may be a newer one out!?! )
User avatar
post-it
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2002
Status: Audio: bass remains; if else, 3D

Re: Exactly how picky is Vegas with codecs?

Postby Akashio » Thu Apr 14, 2011 3:34 pm

post-it wrote:
Akashio wrote:.. can't find it in Virtual Dub 64 ..
Virtual Dub 64 Version: 1.9.11 released 24 Dec 2010 ( there may be a newer one out!?! )


Nope, that's the version I'm using. Do you think the .inf file put the HuffYUV64 .dll in the wrong place?
User avatar
Akashio
 
Joined: 25 Nov 2001

Re: Exactly how picky is Vegas with codecs?

Postby post-it » Thu Apr 14, 2011 4:09 pm

Akashio wrote:Nope, that's the version I'm using.
ok -- good ^__^
Akashio wrote: Do you think the .inf file put the HuffYUV64 .dll in the wrong place?
nah! .. but I am getting a lot of static about the 64bit huffy though!
..
normally you just "right click" if the .inf file and it loads itself but, that doesn't
seem to be the case on this codec and I'm waiting for the smoke to clear so
we can find-out "what's the issue here!" .. this may take a little while -- unfortunately!
User avatar
post-it
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2002
Status: Audio: bass remains; if else, 3D

Re: Exactly how picky is Vegas with codecs?

Postby Akashio » Fri Apr 15, 2011 2:55 pm

post-it wrote:
Akashio wrote:Nope, that's the version I'm using.
ok -- good ^__^
Akashio wrote: Do you think the .inf file put the HuffYUV64 .dll in the wrong place?
nah! .. but I am getting a lot of static about the 64bit huffy though!
..
normally you just "right click" if the .inf file and it loads itself but, that doesn't
seem to be the case on this codec and I'm waiting for the smoke to clear so
we can find-out "what's the issue here!" .. this may take a little while -- unfortunately!


Thanks! I'm desperate for any solution to this stubborn problem :)!
User avatar
Akashio
 
Joined: 25 Nov 2001


Return to Sony Vegas

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron