Sony Vegas 10

For help and discussion concerning the Sony Vegas software.

Re: Sony Vegas 10

Postby Kawatta-kun » Sun Nov 14, 2010 3:57 pm

So there's no reason for 64bit version not accepting AVI files (XviD/DivX), there is? Still is wierd..
Image Image
User avatar
Kawatta-kun
 
Joined: 27 Jul 2005
Location: Povoa de Santa Iria, Lisbon
Status: Awesomely great

Re: Sony Vegas 10

Postby post-it » Sun Nov 14, 2010 5:56 pm

.. importing has nothing to do with 32 or 64 bit structure! The difference is in "how it handles commands." period!

I've got no idea why it won't load an AVI .. this makes no sense to me. .. sorry!
User avatar
post-it
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2002
Status: Audio: bass remains; if else, 3D

Re: Sony Vegas 10

Postby Cannonaire » Sun Nov 14, 2010 11:18 pm

I was under the impression that you needed 64-bit codecs to open files in a 64-bit program. Anyone know for sure? Pretty sure VirtualDub is like that, at least for encoding.
Image Think millionaire, but with cannons. || Resident Maaya Sakamoto fan.
User avatar
Cannonaire
 
Joined: 05 May 2010
Location: Oregon
Status: OVERLOAD

Re: Sony Vegas 10

Postby Nya-chan Production » Mon Nov 15, 2010 4:57 am

The 64-bit version runs only under 64-bit systems, iirc. The 32-bit version is a little slower, because it doesn't use the whole power of processor.

This, of course, doesn't have anything to do with the codecs, both should load up the same set with same issues.
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
User avatar
Nya-chan Production
The :< point of view
 
Joined: 15 Nov 2006
Location: Ward 7F
Status: White bracelet

Re: Sony Vegas 10

Postby HalOfBorg » Sun Nov 21, 2010 6:19 pm

I have been trying Vegas 10 (32 bit), and I am dumping it now. In the middle of a project - that's how much it is annoying me.

It keeps losing the ability to understand my files. These are clips I have made recently, using Xvid4PSP or Vegas itself. FFV1 or lagarith. Sometimes the whole clip is gibberish, sometimes a few frames. Once it was the top 1/3rd or so.

Closing/re-opening the project fixed most of them, once I had to close Vegas. I have no trouble at all with these on 8, beyond the very rare orphaned frame.

3 separate PCs, 2 with XP, one with 7. (that one is new).

It's just becoming tiresome, so I'm sticking with 8. Just glad I didn't spend the money.
Help HalOfBorg fight his cancer - http://www.gofundme.com/21ygdk

ImageImageImage
ImageImageImage
User avatar
HalOfBorg
 
Joined: 14 May 2008

Re: Sony Vegas 10

Postby Kawatta-kun » Sun Nov 21, 2010 6:21 pm

I'll be using 10 for all my lossless files. Other than that, keeping 8 instaled aswell (no errors by having both so far).
Image Image
User avatar
Kawatta-kun
 
Joined: 27 Jul 2005
Location: Povoa de Santa Iria, Lisbon
Status: Awesomely great

Re: Sony Vegas 10

Postby Cannonaire » Mon Nov 22, 2010 1:53 am

HalOfBorg, I have been using Vegas 10 since about July I think. I have had no such errors at all. I'm currently running Windows 7 64-bit with 4GB of ram, 32-bit Vegas Movie Studio HD Platinum ($100 version). I have only used Lagarith and UTVideo (both RGB and YCbCr). I do recall that at first I had some trouble with clips dropping out, but in Preferences > General tab I unchecked the box for "Close media files when not the active application" and I haven't had any issues at all since. I hope this helps.
Image Think millionaire, but with cannons. || Resident Maaya Sakamoto fan.
User avatar
Cannonaire
 
Joined: 05 May 2010
Location: Oregon
Status: OVERLOAD

Re: Sony Vegas 10

Postby aganim » Thu Dec 02, 2010 4:17 pm

I picked up Vegas 10 a week ago. (64bit version)
I had to install a 64bit version of the xvid codec before vegas would recognise my imported files.
You may want to use google and search for it if you encounter the same problem with vegas not being able to import xvid/divx etc. files.

Everything runs fine now. :D
Time to make my first AMV... :dino:
THE SOUND ABOVE MY HAIR!!
User avatar
aganim
 
Joined: 02 Dec 2010
Location: GERMANY

Re: Sony Vegas 10

Postby Kawatta-kun » Thu Dec 02, 2010 5:51 pm

aganim wrote:I picked up Vegas 10 a week ago. (64bit version)
I had to install a 64bit version of the xvid codec before vegas would recognise my imported files.
You may want to use google and search for it if you encounter the same problem with vegas not being able to import xvid/divx etc. files.

Everything runs fine now. :D
Time to make my first AMV... :dino:


Woah woah WOAH THANKS!

Can you give em a link please, so I do not mistake the version of it :')
Also, is it needed to uninstall some other versions, like AMVapp's one?
Image Image
User avatar
Kawatta-kun
 
Joined: 27 Jul 2005
Location: Povoa de Santa Iria, Lisbon
Status: Awesomely great

Re: Sony Vegas 10

Postby aganim » Fri Dec 03, 2010 7:00 am

Kawatta-kun wrote:Woah woah WOAH THANKS!

Can you give em a link please, so I do not mistake the version of it :')

uploaded the xvid64 codec that fixed it for me to:

megaupload
and
mediafire

Also, is it needed to uninstall some other versions, like AMVapp's one?

Well, you have to make sure that xvid64 is used for decoding.
Uninstalling the normal xvid codec is a good idea, too. :wink:
AFAIR the setup asks you if xvid64 should be used to decode xvid/divx files
Don't know about AMVapp, though.
I have ffdshow installed besides xvid64 and no problems with that.

btw: Only have tried this for xvid/divx files, don't know if this works with H264/MPG4.
THE SOUND ABOVE MY HAIR!!
User avatar
aganim
 
Joined: 02 Dec 2010
Location: GERMANY

Re: Sony Vegas 10

Postby Kawatta-kun » Fri Dec 03, 2010 5:06 pm

Thank you ^^ it seems to work now!
Image Image
User avatar
Kawatta-kun
 
Joined: 27 Jul 2005
Location: Povoa de Santa Iria, Lisbon
Status: Awesomely great

Re: Sony Vegas 10

Postby okitaxchizuru » Sun Dec 05, 2010 5:35 pm

For me sony vegas 9 is far better than sony vegas 10. Every time I try to import video files in sony vegas, it crashes, while in sony vegas 9 I can import the same video files.
okitaxchizuru
 
Joined: 04 Dec 2010

Re: Sony Vegas 10

Postby okitaxchizuru » Mon Dec 06, 2010 8:59 am

sorry I'm a newbie, but what are the differences between a 32bit version and a 64bit version?
okitaxchizuru
 
Joined: 04 Dec 2010

Re: Sony Vegas 10

Postby Nya-chan Production » Wed Dec 08, 2010 2:52 am

okitaxchizuru wrote:sorry I'm a newbie, but what are the differences between a 32bit version and a 64bit version?

They are used in different operation systems - 32 or 64-bit ones.
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
User avatar
Nya-chan Production
The :< point of view
 
Joined: 15 Nov 2006
Location: Ward 7F
Status: White bracelet

Re: Sony Vegas 10

Postby pan_dbgt01 » Wed Dec 08, 2010 7:14 pm

Always update your codecs.
User avatar
pan_dbgt01
 
Joined: 24 May 2001
Location: Canada
Status: Hanging around. Trying to find time to edit.

PreviousNext

Return to Sony Vegas

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests