Can only render as a audio file?

For help and discussion concerning the Sony Vegas software.

Can only render as a audio file?

Postby KittywittywithFatcat » Fri Aug 13, 2010 3:28 pm

I've been looking at video editing software since I decided to start making AMVs, I tried to use Sony Vegas 9.0d pro, unfortunately although I can get a preview, and I'm importing different video files and types like .AVI and .MPEG but when I try to render the actual video my only options are audio files. At the moment I'm stuck with Cyberlink PowerDirector 8 and it's not doing the best of jobs. Any suggestions? I've tried different files, different settings, cutting out the audio, installing new codecs, nothing is really working.

Image
KittywittywithFatcat
 
Joined: 10 Aug 2010

Re: Can only render as a audio file?

Postby Nya-chan Production » Fri Aug 13, 2010 4:14 pm

Which codecs have you tried to install? That dropdown menu looks really suspicious and really out of place...
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
User avatar
Nya-chan Production
The :< point of view
 
Joined: 15 Nov 2006
Location: Ward 7F
Status: White bracelet

Re: Can only render as a audio file?

Postby KittywittywithFatcat » Fri Aug 13, 2010 4:19 pm

Well DIVX has always done the trick usually for Windows Media player and VLC, but now I've just installed the AMVapp package, and still get the same results. If I cut out the audio from the video, and try to render it just asks me to Save as a .veg file.
KittywittywithFatcat
 
Joined: 10 Aug 2010

Re: Can only render as a audio file?

Postby Nya-chan Production » Fri Aug 13, 2010 4:27 pm

Can you try selecting the whole project (for example by double clicking on the audio track) and going File => Render As... ?

Still the same result?
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
User avatar
Nya-chan Production
The :< point of view
 
Joined: 15 Nov 2006
Location: Ward 7F
Status: White bracelet

Re: Can only render as a audio file?

Postby KittywittywithFatcat » Fri Aug 13, 2010 4:36 pm

Still same result :/.
KittywittywithFatcat
 
Joined: 10 Aug 2010

Re: Can only render as a audio file?

Postby Nya-chan Production » Fri Aug 13, 2010 5:33 pm

Hmmm, one more idea - isn't your PC using 32-bit processor, by any chance? If yes, you should use Vegas 9.0c, d is for 64-bit.

If it's not this, I have no idea, sorry ><
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
User avatar
Nya-chan Production
The :< point of view
 
Joined: 15 Nov 2006
Location: Ward 7F
Status: White bracelet

Re: Can only render as a audio file?

Postby KittywittywithFatcat » Fri Aug 13, 2010 5:36 pm

It is using 32 bit, but when I was 9.0c I had the same exact problem and looking over google someone suggested to fix most problems would to upgrade to 9.0d, but I've still got the same problem.
KittywittywithFatcat
 
Joined: 10 Aug 2010

Re: Can only render as a audio file?

Postby Mastamind » Fri Aug 13, 2010 5:38 pm

Or, just another possibility, it might just be a problem with Vegas being unable to read the codec. If it's something like divx, xvid, or h264 it's likely Vegas just isn't able to display or render the video.
Does this happen with everything? If you drag something from "media generators" onto the timeline, do you still get the same problem? As Nya said, that looks suspicious.
Image
User avatar
Mastamind
 
Joined: 09 Sep 2009

Re: Can only render as a audio file?

Postby Nya-chan Production » Fri Aug 13, 2010 5:46 pm

Mastamind wrote:Does this happen with everything? If you drag something from "media generators" onto the timeline, do you still get the same problem? As Nya said, that looks suspicious.

It still should suggest to render usual stuff (avi, wav, wmv, mp4, mp3, etc), even when you have audio timeline only - I have tried it ^^;;
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
User avatar
Nya-chan Production
The :< point of view
 
Joined: 15 Nov 2006
Location: Ward 7F
Status: White bracelet

Re: Can only render as a audio file?

Postby KittywittywithFatcat » Fri Aug 13, 2010 5:53 pm

Still happens the same with the Media generator, I used the credit roll, put it to 59 seconds, then tried to render it, but the only options were the same in Save as like a .veg file. I was just also wondering, about the preview, if I press the play button where my mouse is in the picture I just get audio playing, I can't see any preview. But if I go to Project Media and select a video file then press the preview button where the red is it comes up. I was just wondering if it's supposed to work like that, or my computer is being silly. I can drag the file from the Project Media then open it in the Trimmer then view it, but if I click the play button where my mouse is, only audio. Also if I try to preview it in External Monitor, I just get audio and black screen.

Image
KittywittywithFatcat
 
Joined: 10 Aug 2010

Re: Can only render as a audio file?

Postby Mastamind » Fri Aug 13, 2010 6:15 pm

Oh, I think I know now thanks to that screenshot. Select the layer and press X on your keyboard. If the layer's still dark like that, try Z.

Nya-chan Production wrote:It still should suggest to render usual stuff (avi, wav, wmv, mp4, mp3, etc), even when you have audio timeline only - I have tried it ^^;;

Wierd, it doesn't happen that way with me..
Image
User avatar
Mastamind
 
Joined: 09 Sep 2009

Re: Can only render as a audio file?

Postby KittywittywithFatcat » Fri Aug 13, 2010 6:22 pm

Still getting it wanting me to save as a .veg file without audio and an audio file with audio after x and z.
KittywittywithFatcat
 
Joined: 10 Aug 2010

Re: Can only render as a audio file?

Postby Mastamind » Fri Aug 13, 2010 6:35 pm

KittywittywithFatcat wrote:Still getting it wanting me to save as a .veg file without audio and an audio file with audio after x and z.

Hmm... when the layer's dark that it means it's disabled, and since it's like that in the screenshot I assumed that's what was giving you trouble. Is the video layer brighter and show in the preview, at least, after enabling it? Because I don't think I have any other suggestions either |:

What do you mean by saving it as a .veg though? Aren't you rendering it?
Image
User avatar
Mastamind
 
Joined: 09 Sep 2009

Re: Can only render as a audio file?

Postby KittywittywithFatcat » Fri Aug 13, 2010 6:39 pm

It is brighter when previewing it, and what I mean is when I render a video with audio I only get options to render it with audio, if I cut out the audio, it asks me brings up 'Save as...' instead and I get .veg as the first option.
KittywittywithFatcat
 
Joined: 10 Aug 2010

Re: Can only render as a audio file?

Postby post-it » Mon Aug 16, 2010 5:33 pm

late:

.. trying to figure-out why she won't export the video and yet it trys to save the project & audio only!

I may be waaaaaay off base with this follow-up, but here we go!

.. possible idea that might point you in the right direction ^___ ^ .... 0_0 !?? 32/64 ?
http://shark007.net/forum/Thread-Audio-encoder-for-64-bits-systems

-- just an idea ... :beer:

Video not exportable:
http://forum.doom9.org/archive/index.php/t-149055.html
http://thepiratebay.org/torrent/5145292/Sony_Vegas_Pro_9.0c_Build_896_%5B32.64_bit%5D%5BMULTi%5D%5BFull_Plug-in%5D.i

.. There is a Sony Pro 9 E download which is supposed to correct some flaws . . direct from the Sony Site itself;
I'm downloading it now ... this doesn't seem to be a problem on my system, but then; I burn things direct to DVD.
http://www.sonycreativesoftware.com/download/updates/vegaspro

:beer:

P.S. if this is way-off-subject, then I "red" the question wrong. Kindly feel free to delete this message.

[[ btw; how does "rëd" and "read" both be understood as before & past tense in the English word READ?
1) I can read a book. ( -reed- )
2) I have read a book. ( -rëd- )
.. this makes no sense to me!! ]]
User avatar
post-it
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2002
Status: Audio: bass remains; if else, 3D


Return to Sony Vegas

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron