Fincal Cut Pro and Upgrading

For discussion on Mac software and video editing on Mac computers.
SQ
Doesn't have a title
Org Profile

Fincal Cut Pro and Upgrading

Post by SQ » Mon Mar 05, 2007 1:33 pm

Right so, I'm new to macs and I have bought Final Cut Pro.
My current version is 5.0.4.

For reasons I don't feel like going through time to explain, I need to get version 5.1.2.

My question is, since I bought Final Cut Pro back in 5.0.4, do I have to buy an upgrade, buy a completely new Final Cut Pro, or is the upgrade free(because I heard Apple has this weird download free updates policy thing)?

And where would I go to ask someone a question like this in the future? The Apple site wasn't much help. :/

(and also: If this isn't "software-y" enough, instead of lock/delete, move to donator's forum? It is really important I upgrade)
StandardQuip
Discord: @standardquip
BentoVid (previously AMV Sashimi) Discord Server

elvirasweeney
Org Profile

Post by elvirasweeney » Mon Mar 05, 2007 1:53 pm

Crossgrade to Final Cut Studio NOW. It's $100, and the deadline is fast approaching (I think—check site for details). I crossgraded from FCP 5 in December, and am elated. I got the whole package for $100! Motion (which my video card does not support—but eventually I'll get a new Mac which will :D ), DVD Studio Pro, Soundtrack, etc. etc.

Go for it! Do not wait too long. It's the only way you'll get a copy of the Universal Binary version of FCP (as well as Studio) anyway. You cannot download the 5.1.4 upgrade for free.

SQ
Doesn't have a title
Org Profile

Post by SQ » Mon Mar 05, 2007 1:56 pm

Well snap. I don't have an intel mac, so is it possible to only get the upgrade for 5.1.4 at all, with out crossgrading?

I just would like to know all my options. =(
StandardQuip
Discord: @standardquip
BentoVid (previously AMV Sashimi) Discord Server

elvirasweeney
Org Profile

Post by elvirasweeney » Mon Mar 05, 2007 2:04 pm