Sony Vegas - Masking Tutotrial

For all help and discussion relating to visual effects in programs that are not already covered in an existing forum, such as Blender, Particle Illusion, etc., along with discussion about effects theories and techniques.

Moderator: Niotex

Sony Vegas - Masking Tutotrial

Postby nikolakis » Fri Jan 08, 2010 6:04 pm

Masking with Sony Vegas? Many are asking this so i decide to make this topic.

1. First, you need to "Disable Resample" on each Video :


Right Click on the Video
go to "Switches"
Select "Disable Resample"

2. Turn the " Maintain aspect Ratio" to No - on each Video

Click on Event pan/Crop
Go "position"
Go "Source"
Turn "Maintain aspect Ratio" to No

3. Even though you complete every mask, at some points Vegas would not show the correct one... to correct this you need to do this :

Enter the masking time line...
find the problematic mask...
copy it...
hold Left click and navigate between the mask and the previews one...
and paste it there...

This would solve the problem

* A second solution would be to split the video into frames... not highly recommended because you can't apply effects...

** Many are avoiding Sony Vegas because of this so i was "lucky" to find it out by myself...

4. Try using High quality Footage, with better video quality you get better quality masks.

To improve the Quality do this :


Place a feather on each mask ( 0, 1 - 0, 2 )
Place below the masked scene a Black Solid ( with the same Duration )
Copy and paste the mask sequence to the solid but remove the feather...

-----------------------

I hope you found my "tutorial" useful
Have fun
ImageImage
User avatar
nikolakis
 
Joined: 25 Dec 2006
Location: Greece

Re: Sony Vegas - Masking Tutotrial

Postby Pheonix Rose » Sat Jan 09, 2010 4:03 pm

Thanks Nick, this is really helpful! You're awesome for this <3
Pheonix Rose
 
Joined: 17 Mar 2007

Re: Sony Vegas - Masking Tutotrial

Postby tugaOwn » Sun Feb 28, 2010 4:23 pm

Does What's the difference between using smart resample, force resample and disabling it?
tugaOwn
 
Joined: 27 Feb 2010

Re: Sony Vegas - Masking Tutotrial

Postby nikolakis » Mon Mar 01, 2010 9:35 am

The resample creates new frames...

Example (Something boring :p ) :

You have two different frames, the frame A and B and the frame sequence is A, A , B , B.
By activating resample on Sony Vegas, it creates a new frame between them, the AB frame combining 50% opacity from each frame... and the new sequence is A, AB , B , BC

While working with standard video frame rates ( 23.976 or 30.000 ) the resample is useless and in most cases ugly...

But when you edit something in 60 fps, the set amount of extra / same number of frames between every different frame is increased.... so the resample process is smoother and recommended...

Also resample works great on slow motion videos...

------------------

To be honest, i am not pretty sure which resample is better, smart or force... With both of them the results are satisfied but i tend to select the smart one.
ImageImage
User avatar
nikolakis
 
Joined: 25 Dec 2006
Location: Greece

Re: Sony Vegas - Masking Tutotrial

Postby Underthewintermoon » Mon Mar 01, 2010 7:10 pm

Great tutorial, thanks! I wasent even aware about that disable resample thing,... that overlapping image was really annoying.. thanks for helping me get rid of it :P!

One question though..When I make the amv, every mask looks perfectly fine. But after I render, they get all screwed up- and in some cases the image that I had masked, wasent even masked after I rendered! That was when I saved it as a .wmv, but when I saved it as a .avi, all the masks were fine when I was watching it render in the preview, but then it wouldnt upload to youtube! (unable to convert video file)

So I was really hoping that you could tell me what I am doing wrong? Or even tell me your rendering settings? That would be AWESOME!

Thanks :)!
Underthewintermoon
 
Joined: 01 Mar 2010

Re: Sony Vegas - Masking Tutotrial

Postby nikolakis » Tue Mar 02, 2010 4:21 am

Underthewintermoon wrote:Great tutorial, thanks! I wasent even aware about that disable resample thing,... that overlapping image was really annoying.. thanks for helping me get rid of it :P!

One question though..When I make the amv, every mask looks perfectly fine. But after I render, they get all screwed up- and in some cases the image that I had masked, wasent even masked after I rendered! That was when I saved it as a .wmv, but when I saved it as a .avi, all the masks were fine when I was watching it render in the preview, but then it wouldnt upload to youtube! (unable to convert video file)

So I was really hoping that you could tell me what I am doing wrong? Or even tell me your rendering settings? That would be AWESOME!

Thanks :)!


1. Probably your rendering settings does not match you project settings... if your project is set on 24,97 fps your export file should be also on 24,97, with different fps everything would be misplaced.

To check your Project settings go to : File - > Project properties

and set your render setting the same...

2. Check your Masking mode Value... each mask should be "Positive"... with "negative" or 'disable" mode the mask would be removed.

Also keep in mind that you never start by adding "negative" value masks... Vegas would ignore any active mask placed after that... So first you should add any Positive mask then you start removing any unnecessary parts.

3. You should Ignore the wmv... my suggestion :

Use Main Concept AVC/ACC (*.mp4)

Click <Custom>

On - Project - Set "Video Rendering quality" to Best

On - Video - Set "Variable frame rate" from 4000 to 10000 ( depend on what quality / video size you want )

Note : This format work great for uploading on youtube...
ImageImage
User avatar
nikolakis
 
Joined: 25 Dec 2006
Location: Greece

Re: Sony Vegas - Masking Tutotrial

Postby Nya-chan Production » Sat Mar 06, 2010 2:23 pm

Also be sure that when you're masking you use Best preview option as large as you can (100% reccommended)

Lower qualities and sizes often interpolate and your mask can be off.
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
User avatar
Nya-chan Production
The :< point of view
 
Joined: 15 Nov 2006
Location: Ward 7F
Status: White bracelet

Re: Sony Vegas - Masking Tutotrial

Postby tugaOwn » Mon Mar 08, 2010 11:36 am

I only recommend to do that if the computer is a fast one... in mine i do segments of clips in order to prevent lagging and not seeing the whole masking scene cause it's really laggy previewing the whole vid.
tugaOwn
 
Joined: 27 Feb 2010

Re: Sony Vegas - Masking Tutotrial

Postby Underthewintermoon » Fri Mar 12, 2010 6:48 pm

Thanks SO much for replying! :D!
And thanks for telling me about the project settings, thats really going to make my masks look perfect :)!

But I still dont fully understand the rendering settings...
So I set my rendering quality to best, then I tried to set the frame rate to 10000 (as you said) but whenever I clicked on something else, the frame rate number changed to 172.000000! And also, what frame size do I set it too? 1280x720? 320x240?? And what about everything else? Field order? Pixel aspect raito?? Constant Bit Rate?!? Its all so confusing :(!

Thanks for trying to help me :) Sorry if i'm being annoying :(!
Underthewintermoon
 
Joined: 01 Mar 2010

Re: Sony Vegas - Masking Tutotrial

Postby Mastamind » Fri Mar 12, 2010 8:51 pm

Underthewintermoon wrote:then I tried to set the frame rate to 10000 (as you said) but whenever I clicked on something else, the frame rate number changed to 172.000000!

:shock:
Underthewintermoon wrote: And also, what frame size do I set it too? 1280x720? 320x240?? And what about everything else? Field order? Pixel aspect raito?? Constant Bit Rate?!? Its all so confusing :(!

Your project and rendering settings (resolution, aspect ratio, etc) should match your footage. And assuming you're working with deinterlaced footage you should set the field order to progressive.
Image
User avatar
Mastamind
 
Joined: 09 Sep 2009

Re: Sony Vegas - Masking Tutotrial

Postby mirkosp » Fri Mar 12, 2010 9:58 pm

Underthewintermoon wrote:So I set my rendering quality to best, then I tried to set the frame rate to 10000 (as you said) but whenever I clicked on something else, the frame rate number changed to 172.000000!


He likely meant variable bitrate there, and not framerate. The framerate should always match your footage, which is likely to be 23.976.
Image
User avatar
mirkosp
MODkip
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2006
Location: Gallarate (VA), Italy
Status: (」・ワ・)」(⊃・ワ・)⊃

Re: Sony Vegas - Masking Tutotrial

Postby nikolakis » Sat Mar 13, 2010 7:45 am

Image

You choose the saving type

Image

Click "Custom"

Image

You set your "Video rendering Quality"

Image

Like i said you change the "Variable bit rate"...

10.000 its too much, and its only recommended for high quality videos.
For normal video quality put at least 4000 / 4000 or more... ( always depending on your needs ).
ImageImage
User avatar
nikolakis
 
Joined: 25 Dec 2006
Location: Greece

Re: Sony Vegas - Masking Tutotrial

Postby nikolakis » Sat Mar 13, 2010 8:19 am

Now i noticed that i wrote on my first reply "Variable frame rate"... my bad :(

Anyway i hope my latest reply would help you.
ImageImage
User avatar
nikolakis
 
Joined: 25 Dec 2006
Location: Greece

Re: Sony Vegas - Masking Tutotrial

Postby Sooniie » Sat Mar 20, 2010 6:56 am

Please help, how can you make the file HD and widescreen?
Sooniie
 
Joined: 06 Mar 2010

Re: Sony Vegas - Masking Tutotrial

Postby Underthewintermoon » Wed Mar 24, 2010 10:16 pm

OMG thank you soooo much!!! This helped me so much i cant even explain it THANK YOU <333
It worked! And its great quality! (Though it wasent widescreen, but I know how to fix that :P) But just out of intrest, were those the settings you used for Empty Motion?
Underthewintermoon
 
Joined: 01 Mar 2010

Next

Return to Visual Effects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest