Final Cut Pro Editing Tips needed...

nifear4
Org Profile

Final Cut Pro Editing Tips needed...

Post by nifear4 » Tue Apr 15, 2008 3:31 pm

I'm new to Final Cut Pro and everything, but not new to importing/exporting/etc.

I'm new to AMV's. Usually I make videos with my cam-recorders for school and everything like school projects, so AMV's are a whole new thing with the music/video syncing.

To those that use Final Cut Pro, what are some video-editing tips and tricks that anyone can explain.

JaddziaDax
Crazy Cat Lady!
Org Profile

Post by JaddziaDax » Tue Apr 15, 2008 3:43 pm

I think this would be better suited for "Other Editing Systems" than "Special Effects" as you are looking for tips on a program and not asking about a specific effect.

I suppose however a mod may or may not move it.

nifear4
Org Profile

Post by nifear4 » Tue Apr 15, 2008 9:21 pm

Well there is a certain effect, sort of. Its like overlapping instead of Cross Dissolving. Cross dissolving is nice, but I like overlapping, like in iMovie you can do "overlay" which will overlay the previous clip with the next clip, which I find fun to use at a certain point in a amv.

sorry i should've mentioned this before.

Also, is it wise to get Motion for mac? will it be good for a AMV?

Niotex
The Phantom Canine
Org Profile

Post by Niotex » Tue Apr 15, 2008 9:37 pm

If you don't know how to make something semi transparent in FCP then don't even bother trying Motion.. It will destroy you from the inside out.

nifear4
Org Profile

Post by nifear4 » Tue Apr 15, 2008 9:43 pm

Well I know how to make something transparent, just wondering if there was an effect that I can just apply instead of going into the movie and changing the opacity.

And I was wondering about Motion, because my friend just came by with Motion and I was wondering if I should install, but it takes quite a lot of space :D

Niotex
The Phantom Canine
Org Profile

Post by Niotex » Tue Apr 15, 2008 9:45 pm