Cropping Subtitles, TV Logo's and What Not

For all help and discussion relating to visual effects in programs that are not already covered in an existing forum, such as Blender, Particle Illusion, etc., along with discussion about effects theories and techniques.

Moderator: Niotex

sumomogirl01
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 8:09 pm
Location: my secret
Contact:
Org Profile

Cropping Subtitles, TV Logo's and What Not

Postby sumomogirl01 » Tue Feb 12, 2008 8:10 pm

Hey, does anybody know of a Program (Free or other wise) that can do this. I did have Sony Vegas but I had to uninstall it. Or is you know an XML Code for Windows Movie Maker that can add that effect? I would Appreciate the help. -bow-
*sighs* and to think one day they could be in-laws.

User avatar
Pherphq
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 9:33 am
Location: silver morning
Org Profile

Postby Pherphq » Tue Feb 12, 2008 8:27 pm

not sure of an XML Code but I think adobe premiere, magix movie pro have screen changing to cover subtitles

User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 11:08 pm
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Kariudo » Tue Feb 12, 2008 8:41 pm

avisynth
(you'll probably have to use virtualdubmod as well if you don't want to make "fake avi" files)

Code: Select all

crop(int left, int top, -int right, -int bottom)
Image
Image

User avatar
JaddziaDax
Crazy Cat Lady!
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 6:25 am
Status: I has a TRU Arceus
Location: somewhere i think O.o
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby JaddziaDax » Wed Feb 13, 2008 4:28 pm

you can do cropping in virtualdub alone without having to even use avisynth... O.o

go to video filters and choose "null transform" then click the cropping button and set the pixels where you want it :/

WingedAng3l
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 7:14 pm
Org Profile

Postby WingedAng3l » Wed Mar 05, 2008 3:10 pm

When you save you can change the screen to wide screen mod and click on crop button. there should be this thing you can adjest the size with. Put it to the size you want and click on okay, After that it should save in wide screen and it would look normal with good quaility

User avatar
Side Swipe
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 2:37 pm
Location: Worceter, Mass
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Side Swipe » Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:09 am

also depending on the footage If the logo or subtitles are on a solid background you can use a second clip identical to the first clip cropped down to the size you need to cover the mark them move it into position it covers the mark and noone can tell the difference

User avatar
requiett
Joined: Mon May 12, 2003 6:49 pm
Location: Alaska
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby requiett » Wed Mar 19, 2008 1:59 am

Cropping is one of the hardest special effects there is. I wish you luck on that one.

User avatar
Side Swipe
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 2:37 pm
Location: Worceter, Mass
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Side Swipe » Wed Mar 19, 2008 3:01 am

requiett wrote:Cropping is one of the hardest special effects there is. I wish you luck on that one.


how are you doing your cropping??? in adobe premiere its a piece of cake i do it all the time

User avatar
mirkosp
The Absolute Mudman
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 6:24 am
Status: (」・ワ・)」(⊃・ワ・)⊃
Location: Gallarate (VA), Italy
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby mirkosp » Wed Mar 19, 2008 8:16 am

Side Swipe wrote:
requiett wrote:Cropping is one of the hardest special effects there is. I wish you luck on that one.


how are you doing your cropping??? in adobe premiere its a piece of cake i do it all the time


He was being sarcastic, heh... :? Well, like always.

User avatar
JaddziaDax
Crazy Cat Lady!
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 6:25 am
Status: I has a TRU Arceus
Location: somewhere i think O.o
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby JaddziaDax » Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:45 pm

wow

User avatar
Side Swipe
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 2:37 pm
Location: Worceter, Mass
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Side Swipe » Fri Mar 28, 2008 10:01 am

Ah! Sarcasim Yay! doesn't quite work the same with a keyboard does it?

User avatar
JaddziaDax
Crazy Cat Lady!
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 6:25 am
Status: I has a TRU Arceus
Location: somewhere i think O.o
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby JaddziaDax » Fri Mar 28, 2008 2:02 pm

it does if the font is purple and next to requiett's name

User avatar
Side Swipe
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 2:37 pm
Location: Worceter, Mass
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Side Swipe » Sat Mar 29, 2008 3:30 pm

so thats how it works thankyou for the clarification

so now what was the topic again since I have managed to Digress Severely


Return to “Visual Effects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests