Masking pictures

For all help and discussion relating to visual effects in programs that are not already covered in an existing forum, such as Blender, Particle Illusion, etc., along with discussion about effects theories and techniques.

Moderator: Niotex

Masking pictures

Postby Wolfy2hk » Sat Nov 17, 2007 9:29 am

does anyone know a good program on how you can do that, i tried fireworks but i gave up on tryiing to figure it out, does anyone know a simple program where i can do that using j-pegs and png.
User avatar
Wolfy2hk
 
Joined: 22 Dec 2006
Location: Tejas

Postby JaddziaDax » Sat Nov 17, 2007 11:35 am

for like pngs and jpg images: THE GIMP or Photoshop..

for video files: Sony Vegas or After Effects.
User avatar
JaddziaDax
Crazy Cat Lady!
 
Joined: 16 Mar 2004
Location: somewhere i think O.o
Status: I has a TRU Arceus

Postby 808-buma » Mon Nov 19, 2007 11:18 pm

JaddziaDax wrote:for like pngs and jpg images: THE GIMP or Photoshop..

for video files: Sony Vegas or After Effects.


or output them frame by frame and bring them into GIMP / Photoshop (that's how I do it :) )
Image
ImageImageImageImage
User avatar
808-buma
 
Joined: 25 Apr 2005

Postby CrackTheSky » Mon Nov 19, 2007 11:44 pm

JaddziaDax wrote:for like pngs and jpg images: THE GIMP or Photoshop..

for video files: Sony Vegas or After Effects.

I wouldn't recommend doing hardcore (i.e. lots of frame-by-frame stuff) masking in Vegas, its Pan/Crop function isn't frame-accurate. I'd recommend doing what buma suggests, it'll cause you much less of a headache.
User avatar
CrackTheSky
Fancy Balls
 
Joined: 27 Aug 2006
Location: Chicago
Status: Maybe editing?

Postby DayWalker B. » Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:22 pm

CrackTheSky wrote:I wouldn't recommend doing hardcore (i.e. lots of frame-by-frame stuff) masking in Vegas, its Pan/Crop function isn't frame-accurate.


Pretty annoying thing indeed. :x
User avatar
DayWalker B.
 
Joined: 22 Feb 2007
Location: Unknown
Status: Out on bail

Postby post-it » Tue Nov 20, 2007 7:08 pm

.. you can pretty much forget about it if your using Corel/Ulead Video Studio 11 Pro & Corel PaintShopPro Photo XI with Corel's KnockOut 2 Plug-in .. unless you only want 23 frames at a time to turn-out correctly w/o using Layers.
.. its not frame by frame but with some of the mistakes it makes, you'd wish it would have been frame by frame T_T ( sniff sniff )
User avatar
post-it
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2002
Status: Audio: bass remains; if else, 3D

Postby Knowname » Thu Nov 22, 2007 12:02 am

I actually find frame by frame more annoying. maybe I was just doing it wrong. I was also in Premiere as well of coarse. But if you mess up ONE step in frame by frame EVERY consecutive frame will be off.
User avatar
Knowname
 
Joined: 16 Nov 2002
Location: Sanity, USA (on the edge... very edge)
Status: Indubitably

Im starting to hate vegas 8.0...........

Postby coolfightuh » Tue Jan 22, 2008 7:47 pm

yeah i cant find the masking option on vegas 8.0........
coolfightuh
 
Joined: 03 Dec 2006

Postby JaddziaDax » Wed Jan 23, 2008 10:58 am

unless they changed it (which I doubt)

Image

Image

if you don't have the check box in the second screen cap it's because you are using "Movie Studio" version which doesn't have the masking tool as an option.
User avatar
JaddziaDax
Crazy Cat Lady!
 
Joined: 16 Mar 2004
Location: somewhere i think O.o
Status: I has a TRU Arceus


Return to Visual Effects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest