Transition help

For all help and discussion relating to visual effects in programs that are not already covered in an existing forum, such as Blender, Particle Illusion, etc., along with discussion about effects theories and techniques.

Moderator: Niotex

Transition help

Postby floatuponourtears » Thu Nov 15, 2007 8:50 am

Does anoyone know how to do this effect? like the camera is moving extremly fast then stopping in another footage?
floatuponourtears
 
Joined: 11 Nov 2007

Re: Transition help

Postby CrackTheSky » Thu Nov 15, 2007 12:21 pm

floatuponourtears wrote:Does anoyone know how to do this effect? like the camera is moving extremly fast then stopping in another footage?

"Moving" is an extremely vague term.
User avatar
CrackTheSky
 
Joined: 27 Aug 2006
Location: Chicago
Status: Probably not editing.

Postby MadScientist » Thu Nov 15, 2007 1:19 pm

Yeah thats pretty vague. Do you mean horizontally, vertically, or a zoom in or out type effect? I would assume you also mean with some sort of motion blur between clips to give that "fast" effect?
The more specific you are, the more likely someone here can or will help you out.
aka Madscientist
User avatar
MadScientist
 
Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Location: Thornton, CO

Postby floatuponourtears » Thu Nov 15, 2007 2:11 pm

horizontally or vertically.
and yea, that's exactly what I meant - this cool motion blur to give the transition its "fast" look.

thanks
floatuponourtears
 
Joined: 11 Nov 2007

Postby CrackTheSky » Thu Nov 15, 2007 2:43 pm

...Aaaaaand what program are you using?
User avatar
CrackTheSky
 
Joined: 27 Aug 2006
Location: Chicago
Status: Probably not editing.

Postby Koopiskeva » Thu Nov 15, 2007 3:20 pm

AE: camera movement and apply motion blur.

or u can fake this in any number of other programs.
Hi.
User avatar
Koopiskeva
|:
 
Joined: 17 Mar 2002
Location: Out There Occupation: Fondling Private Areas ..of the Nation.
Status: O:

Postby floatuponourtears » Thu Nov 15, 2007 4:28 pm

I'm using AP and AE.
I tried using camera and motion blur, but it just doesn't seem smooth enough.
floatuponourtears
 
Joined: 11 Nov 2007

Postby floatuponourtears » Thu Dec 13, 2007 12:13 pm

Or long enough...
floatuponourtears
 
Joined: 11 Nov 2007

Postby post-it » Thu Dec 13, 2007 3:16 pm

.. almost sounds like you've been watching "Road Runner" cartoons where Warner Brothers Specialized in Motion Freeze!
.. the concept was simple enough; Road Runner and Coyote running while background was clean and moving -- suddenly Road Runner stopped [ usually with a sound effect like an Arrow being "twang'd" in front of a bowl of bird seed ] while the Coyote flew-by and found a "sudden impact." When the Road Runner had finished eating the bird seeds, she jumped-up "Beep! Beep!" and left the picture in a Puff-of-smoke .. followed by the camera slowly panning to see the Coyote's fate.
.. the Illusion of Sudden-Stop only works if your eyes are "pinned" on the Main Character and your mind is focused on the Main Character as well. The moving background had three layers of mountains/hills/trees/cactus instead of using 3D stuff like they do today which is why the illusion worked back-then.

.. just an observance from an Animators point of view :P

PS .. anytime you suddenly STOP Motion, your mind does not grasp it as a Motion-Freeze unless something else is still moving ( like the Coyote. )
Last edited by post-it on Fri Dec 14, 2007 12:54 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
post-it
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2002
Status: Audio: bass remains; if else, 3D

Postby Zarxrax » Thu Dec 13, 2007 5:12 pm

Apply a directional blur.
You might also try making a generic looking "speed" clip with the fractal noise effect in after effects, and mix that in between your 2 clips.
User avatar
Zarxrax
 
Joined: 01 Apr 2001
Location: Concord, NC

Postby floatuponourtears » Sat Dec 15, 2007 12:58 pm

Zarxrax wrote:Apply a directional blur.
You might also try making a generic looking "speed" clip with the fractal noise effect in after effects, and mix that in between your 2 clips.

sounds like a great idea, I'll try that.

Hmm... that's kinda stupid, but is there a way to feather only a specific portion or side of the clip without using mattes? because when moving from one layer to another it'll look kinda choppy.

Oh, and thanks for the fun facts and tips, post-it :).
floatuponourtears
 
Joined: 11 Nov 2007

Postby Zarxrax » Sat Dec 15, 2007 3:10 pm

Use a mask, and use its feather property.
User avatar
Zarxrax
 
Joined: 01 Apr 2001
Location: Concord, NC


Return to Visual Effects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest