Track matte with alpha channel possible?

For all help and discussion relating to visual effects in programs that are not already covered in an existing forum, such as Blender, Particle Illusion, etc., along with discussion about effects theories and techniques.

Moderator: Niotex

Track matte with alpha channel possible?

Postby Vanity » Thu Mar 01, 2012 2:47 am

Hey guys I've been trying to perform this effect that rozard does so well in this old mep track
Meptrack
And im kinda lost on how to go about this now...should i make a alpha channel out of my brushes in adobe photoshop(How do you do that btw?) and track matte it in adobe after effects?

Help would be appreciated.
User avatar
Vanity
 
Joined: 28 Dec 2007
Location: Everywhere, yet no where
Status: XIII

Re: Track matte with alpha channel possible?

Postby Niotex » Thu Mar 01, 2012 5:18 am

I'll record a small tutorial for you tomorrow afternoon.

/edit- just opened up my laptop real quick. If you follow the pencilhead[ish] tutorial you will actually notice me addressing how to turn a black and white image into a alpha which can then be used as a trackmatte. I've included the link to the tut along with time-code below. While it's obviously not exactly the same the idea of what I'm doing in there with "channel combiner" is essentially what you're going for.

http://youtu.be/EWGmB1PG1hM?hd=1&t=3m53s

I know for a fact that Rozard went about it differently as there are numerous ways of going about this. The method that I implied in the tutorial is a little more versatile though.

If you are still having issues tomorrow I'll be more than happy to record a specific tutorial regardless though.
Image
User avatar
Niotex
The Phantom Canine
 
Joined: 08 Jun 2003
Location: Netherlands
Status: Simply Insane

Re: Track matte with alpha channel possible?

Postby Vanity » Thu Mar 01, 2012 1:50 pm

def helped alot...a tutorial would be great if don't mind..I would really appreciate it :)
User avatar
Vanity
 
Joined: 28 Dec 2007
Location: Everywhere, yet no where
Status: XIII

Re: Track matte with alpha channel possible?

Postby Niotex » Thu Mar 01, 2012 1:56 pm

I'll record something later today for you then. Might be a little bit but I'll have it up sometime today for you.
Image
User avatar
Niotex
The Phantom Canine
 
Joined: 08 Jun 2003
Location: Netherlands
Status: Simply Insane

Re: Track matte with alpha channel possible?

Postby Niotex » Thu Mar 01, 2012 7:11 pm

A little scatterbrained but it gets the point across.

http://youtu.be/9fxP4wKCAv4?hd=1

If you're interested in the brushes I used click here
Image
User avatar
Niotex
The Phantom Canine
 
Joined: 08 Jun 2003
Location: Netherlands
Status: Simply Insane

Re: Track matte with alpha channel possible?

Postby Vanity » Thu Mar 01, 2012 11:38 pm

Super thxs for the awsome tutorial :) . It seems I did exactly everything you showed in the tut. I just tried to alpha matte in sonyvegas instead of ae which didn't go that well.
User avatar
Vanity
 
Joined: 28 Dec 2007
Location: Everywhere, yet no where
Status: XIII


Return to Visual Effects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests