Graphics Tablet for drawing anime & realistic portraits

Topics not related to Anime Music Videos
Nunusaur
Org Profile

Graphics Tablet for drawing anime & realistic portraits

Post by Nunusaur » Sun Aug 18, 2013 1:03 pm

I've been looking into several reviews but I still need further help. I'm looking for a graphics tablet (within reasonable price), but I'm not sure which one would best suit my needs. I draw realistic portraits, but I'd also like to draw anime/manga. I wanted to get Intuos 5 at first, but I changed my mind, seeing as there are other things I need to buy (such as a scanner, printer, mouse and keyboard), and also because quite a few people have suggested me not to invest into an Intuos 5 because it would be wiser to get a cheaper one that can also do the job, and spend the rest of the money on other things. I have no experience with tablets, nor with Photoshop just yet, but I don't want a beginner's tablet because I'd eventually learn. What tablet would you suggest? Thanking you in advance!

ngsilver
The Old School Otaku
Org Profile

Re: Graphics Tablet for drawing anime & realistic portraits

Post by ngsilver » Sun Aug 18, 2013 3:38 pm

Honestly, I think it's really up to your preference and how much your willing to spend and your ability to draw without looking where your hands are. Ruu has an Wacom that I just can't wrap my head around, she has 2 monitors and it spreads it's work area across both, which really makes it difficult for me to envision what I'm doing space wise between the monitor and the control surface. Don't know if other tablets have this issue or not.

For me, if I were to get one it'd be the one that also doubles as a monitor (cintiq I think) that way I can actually look at the screen I'm controlling and see what I'm doing directly. I have a hard time drawing without looking at my hands. It's part of my lysdexia, I have to concentrate on my hands otherwise they go crazy and don't do what I want (like draw straight lines.)