SMASH! 2014 AMV Competition - People's Choice voting OPEN!

This forum is for the announcement and discussion of anime music video contests.

SMASH! 2014 AMV Competition - People's Choice voting OPEN!

Postby Renato » Thu May 08, 2014 9:38 am

UPDATES


20 July 2014: People's Choice award voting is now open!
Click here to see the AMVs entered A list of the AMVs entered can be found here. (Huge picture file size warning!)
Click here to cast your votes!

Voting ends: Saturday, 26 July @ 11:59 p.m. (AEST)


14 July 2014: Thanks to all those who submitted an AMV in the SMASH! AMV Competition! People's choice award will open in one week time! In the meantime, we will show you how to vote before that time comes!

Image

2 July 2014: Submissions now closed. Stay tuned for the People's Choice award voting on July 20!
1 July 2014: Today's the last day to submit your entries into the competition! If you haven't done so, get to it! XD
Deadline: 11:59 p.m. (Australian Eastern Standard Time)

ImageImageImage

The Sydney Manga and Anime Show's (SMASH!) Anime Music Video competition has returned in 2014!


Note: This is SMASH!'s Main AMV Competition. For SMASH! AMV's offshoot competition, the Blitz tournament, can be found by clicking here!

Hi a-m-v.org folk~

After a record-breaking, yet epic run in 2013, Sydney's convention, SMASH! is back, and as a result, the Anime Music Video competition has returned too! (AMVs to make, yay!) This is the convention's 8th year in running the AMV competiton, and as such, the organisers of the competition hope to make this a better event than the last. ^_^

We had some great entries in the past, as well as well-known winners (such as in SMASH! AMV 2012 and SMASH! AMV 2013), so we hope to see more quality entries this year! Importantly, this competition is open to EVERYONE around the world, and not just for Australians. :mrgreen:

So! Let's get to the basic, yet important details of the competition!

- When is the competition open: NOW CLOSED! Thank you to all those who have entered!
- When is the deadline: July 1, 2014 @ 11:59 p.m. (UTC+10) (For other timezone, please see at the end of this post!)
- Up to three (3) videos can be entered.
- Videos may be no longer than 5 minutes.

For more details, please see the rules and submission guidelines by clicking here!

Here are the categories that represent SMASH!
- Action
- Comedy/Parody
- Drama/Romance
- Upbeat/Dance

In addition, you can also win the following awards too - increase your chances to win!:
- Best Technical award
- People’s Choice award
- Judge’s Choice award
- Down Under award (For Australians only)

So, that's the basic gist of it! If you are ready to submit your AMV(s), please click here for the ENTRY FORM!

If you have any further questions on the AMV competition (or even questions about the con itself!) please do not to hesitate to contact me (or MariaChrystal and NinjaGaiden888 who lurks around here sometimes ^^;;) via this thread here, or through an email to the AMV team: amv@smash.org.au

I wish you all Good Luck and all the best in the competition! Be the best you can be! :3

Renato

--------------------------
What time is the deadline in your end? Find out below!

UTC+/0 - Tuesday, 1 July 2014 @ 1:59 p.m.
Cities include: Reykjavik

UTC+1 - Tuesday, 1 July 2014 @ 2:59 p.m.
Cities include: London, Dublin, Lisbon

UTC+2 - Tuesday, 1 July 2014 @ 3:59 p.m.
Cities include: Paris, Frankfurt, Rome, Madrid, Zurich, Johannesburg

UTC+3 - Tuesday, 1 July 2014 @ 4:59 p.m.
Cities include: Sofia, Athens, Helsinki, Bucharest, Istanbul

UTC+4 - Tuesday, 1 July 2014 @ 5:59 p.m.
Cities include: Moscow, Dubai

UTC+5 - Tuesday, 1 July 2014 @ 6:59 p.m.
Cities include: Karachi, Islamabad

UTC+5:30 - Tuesday, 1 July 2014 @ 7:29 p.m.
Cities include: New Delhi, Mumbai

UTC+6 - Tuesday, 1 July 2014 @ 7:59 p.m.
Cities include: Yangon

UTC+7 - Tuesday, 1 July 2014 @ 8:59 p.m.
Cities include: Bangkok

UTC+8 - Tuesday, 1 July 2014 @ 9:59 p.m.
Cities include: Perth, Singapore, Manila, Hong Kong, Beijing, Kuala Lumpur

UTC+9 - Tuesday, 1 July 2014 @ 10:59 p.m.
Cities include: Tokyo, Seoul

UTC+9:30 - Tuesday, 1 July 2014 @ 11:29 p.m.
Cities include: Adelaide, Darwin

UTC+10 - Tuesday, 1 July 2014 @ 11:59 p.m.
Cities include: Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Canberra, Hobart


UTC+12 - Wednesday, 2 July 2014 @ 1:59 a.m.
Cities include: Auckland, Wellington

UTC-10 - Tuesday, 1 July 2014 @ 3:59 a.m.
Cities include: Honolulu

UTC-8 - Tuesday, 1 July 2014 @ 5:59 a.m
Cities include: Anchorage

UTC-7 (Pacific Daylight Time) - Tuesday, 1 July 2014 @ 6:59 a.m.
Cities include: Los Angeles, Seattle, Vancouver, Phoenix

UTC-6 (Mountain Daylight Time) - Tuesday, 1 July 2014 @ 7:59 a.m.
Cities include: Calgary, Edmonton, Denver, Tegucigalpa

UTC-5 (Central Daylight Time) - Tuesday, 1 July 2014 @ 8:59 a.m.
Cities include: Chicago, Houston, New Orleans, Winnipeg, Bogota

UTC-4 (Eastern Daylight Time) - Tuesday, 1 July 2014 @ 9:59 a.m.
Cities include: Atlanta, Boston, New York, Washington DC, Toronto, Santiago

UTC-3 - Tuesday, 1 July 2014 @ 10:59 a.m.
Cities include: Halifax, Buenos Aires, Sao Paolo, Rio de Janeiro
Last edited by Renato on Sat Jul 19, 2014 9:23 am, edited 26 times in total.
Image
Image
User avatar
Renato
 
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Re: SMASH! 2014 Anime Music Video competition - NOW OPEN!

Postby ProjectBarcodeError » Thu May 08, 2014 11:05 am

i'm in !

Image
User avatar
ProjectBarcodeError
 
Joined: 09 May 2011
Location: snooping as usual

Re: SMASH! 2014 Anime Music Video competition - NOW OPEN!

Postby Renato » Thu May 08, 2014 6:43 pm

Sweet! I would like to see you back again PBE :mrgreen:
Image
Image
User avatar
Renato
 
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Re: SMASH! 2014 AMV Competition - Deadline: 1st July

Postby MariaChrystal » Tue May 20, 2014 4:42 am

Woo~! Some entries coming in now! Remember guys, enter the competition and you can have a chance to win a trophy! :mrgreen:
Image
User avatar
MariaChrystal
SMASH! AMV Coordinator
 
Joined: 14 Sep 2009
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia

Re: SMASH! 2014 AMV Competition - Deadline: 1st July

Postby Renato » Tue May 27, 2014 7:27 am

Just a little over a month and a half till the deadline!

Love to see more of you guys enter! ^_^ We have had some interesting entries come in, and the competition is getting tougher!
Image
Image
User avatar
Renato
 
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Re: SMASH! 2014 AMV Competition - Deadline: 24 days time!

Postby MariaChrystal » Sun Jun 08, 2014 9:46 pm

Just around 3 more weeks till the deadline!! :O

Here are some shots of the prizes from last years winners and runner ups!
Winner Trophy!
Spoiler :
Image

Runner Up Medal!
Spoiler :
Image


Will you get these similar prizes this year? One way to find out! ;D
Looking forward to your submissions~~ :jester:
Image
User avatar
MariaChrystal
SMASH! AMV Coordinator
 
Joined: 14 Sep 2009
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia

Re: SMASH! 2014 AMV Competition - Deadline: 24 days time!

Postby Kokoro Hane » Tue Jun 10, 2014 2:30 pm

Ooh, I may enter this!

Question; Are videos that have been submitted for other AMV contests allowed? For example, I am also entering my AMVs for Nan Desu Kan, so nothing has won nor do I know if it will be a finalist yet.
User avatar
Kokoro Hane
 
Joined: 30 Apr 2014

Re: SMASH! 2014 AMV Competition - Deadline: 24 days time!

Postby Renato » Wed Jun 11, 2014 2:56 am

Kokoro Hane wrote:Ooh, I may enter this!

Question; Are videos that have been submitted for other AMV contests allowed? For example, I am also entering my AMVs for Nan Desu Kan, so nothing has won nor do I know if it will be a finalist yet.


Yes you can! :mrgreen:

Note: If you do have other AMV contest logos (in this case, Nan Desu Kan), we highly recommend that you remove them before you enter them in the competition!

Hope that helps! :)
Image
Image
User avatar
Renato
 
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Re: SMASH! 2014 AMV Competition - Deadline: 24 days time!

Postby Kokoro Hane » Wed Jun 11, 2014 12:27 pm

Renato wrote:
Kokoro Hane wrote:Ooh, I may enter this!

Question; Are videos that have been submitted for other AMV contests allowed? For example, I am also entering my AMVs for Nan Desu Kan, so nothing has won nor do I know if it will be a finalist yet.


Yes you can! :mrgreen:

Note: If you do have other AMV contest logos (in this case, Nan Desu Kan), we highly recommend that you remove them before you enter them in the competition!

Hope that helps! :)


Thanks, it does! And they do not have logos on them anyway, so yay! I'll be sure to send something soon~
User avatar
Kokoro Hane
 
Joined: 30 Apr 2014

Re: SMASH! 2014 AMV Competition - Deadline: 19 days time!

Postby Renato » Thu Jun 12, 2014 10:06 am

^ Looking forward to it! :)

Only 19 days to go to submit up to three entries folks! Don't miss out!
Image
Image
User avatar
Renato
 
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Re: SMASH! 2014 AMV Competition - Deadline: 16 days time!

Postby MariaChrystal » Thu Jun 19, 2014 3:32 am

12 MORE DAYS LEFT!! :O

Hurry your submissions in, to get awesome prizes!

Also! Don't forget about the attendees! Screening your AMVs is a pleasure viewing towards our attendees! In the past years, they would come up to us and ask, who made that?! Or even how to! We would love to screen your enjoyable AMVs for pleasure entertainment and hope to spread how fun AMVs can be, across Sydney and all over Aus! Help us increase the AMV community within Aus!~~

Looking forward to your AMVs!! :3
Image
User avatar
MariaChrystal
SMASH! AMV Coordinator
 
Joined: 14 Sep 2009
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia

Re: SMASH! 2014 AMV Competition - Deadline: 11 days time!

Postby [madaraxD] » Fri Jun 20, 2014 3:34 am

What category I should select if my video is Psyche/Horror <_<
Image
User avatar
[madaraxD]
L1king Lolis
 
Joined: 11 Oct 2010
Location: Argentina
Status: Under your bed!

Re: SMASH! 2014 AMV Competition - Deadline: 11 days time!

Postby Renato » Fri Jun 20, 2014 10:36 am

You can still put it as unsure and we can check it and we decide on it for you lol~ We will send you an email on what category it has been placed and if you don't feel that's the right place, you can tell us and we will place it at your choosing. :)

Remember folks, 10 days to go till the deadline! Not long!
Image
Image
User avatar
Renato
 
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Re: SMASH! 2014 AMV Competition - Deadline: 7 DAYS TO GO

Postby Renato » Tue Jun 24, 2014 9:00 pm

Image

Just a friendly reminder that there is only:

7 DAYS TO GO

till the deadline!

Fancy to win a nice and shiny cup (like shown below)? Go ahead and submit then! :mrgreen:

Image
Image
Image
User avatar
Renato
 
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Re: SMASH! 2014 AMV Competition - Deadline: 7 DAYS TO GO! :O

Postby allmostanyone » Wed Jun 25, 2014 2:04 am

Does it matter if there are a few seconds black screen beginning and end of the AMV?
I have mine set up that way as requested by other contest.
User avatar
allmostanyone
 
Joined: 05 Dec 2013
Location: Texas

Next

Return to AMV Contests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Pikapwn and 6 guests