Help me find this feature.

JohnnySnow
Org Profile

Help me find this feature.

Post by JohnnySnow » Fri Nov 06, 2009 5:21 am

Hi there.

I'm relatively new to video editing and have always used Windows Movie Maker. However, I've know for a while now that Windows Movie Maker lacks a feature that I really want to be able to use. Now I'm looking to trade up, and don't mind spending a bit of money, but I don't know what exactly you'd call this particular feature. Hoping someone here can point me in the right direction.

Basically: Syncing video to music in WMM is frustrating because clips added to the timeline always "snap" to the end of the available space. If I have a music track already in place and an empty timeline, I cannot simply drop video clips in at a certain point in the middle of the song, which is annoying.

I've tried a few other free programs which surprisingly seemed to lack this feature -- I would have thought it would be pretty basic, and I'm sure I'm just looking in all the wrong places. Could someone point me in the direction of a lightweight program that can handle this?

Mastamind
Org Profile

Re: Help me find this feature.

Post by Mastamind » Fri Nov 06, 2009 7:33 am

I remember, back when I used to edit with WMM, the same thing bugged me. I'm pretty sure I found a way around it- maybe place a random clip starting from where you left off, cut it to the part you want to edit, then erase the clip. Haven't used that program in a while though, so details I'd learned are pretty vague.
I'd really reccomend getting another program, though. I use Sony Vegas, and Adobe Premiere and After Effects are popular among many others. Try them out, and good luck. :up:

Bauzi
Location: Austria (uhm the other country without kangaroos^^)
Org Profile

Post by Bauzi » Fri Nov 06, 2009 6:59 pm

I remember I used to fix such issues with simpel black images that I pasted on the timeline to fill the gaps.