Pinnacle - Where did my sound go?

For help and discussion about specific video editing systems like Adobe software, Windows Movie Maker, Magix, Sony Vegas, etc. Please note the subforums.

Pinnacle - Where did my sound go?

Postby pinky75910 » Sat Feb 07, 2009 1:48 am

Just got new editing prog for Christmas, attemptign to make first official vid with it. Everything sounds good in the project - I save, I play - The sound is gone. Did I miss somethign?
Making an amv, is rather like being the director of a Broadway show, where you have a million dancers and each of them only knows one step.

http://www.animemusicvideos.org/members ... hp?v=50239
User avatar
pinky75910
 
Joined: 09 Sep 2002

Re: Pinnacle - Where did my sound go?

Postby NeoQuixotic » Sat Feb 07, 2009 2:02 am

Pinnacle? Seriously? I've had such bad experience with anything with the Pinnacle or Dazzle name. Both software and hardware. Of course, that was like 4 years ago, so anyways.

Well, it might help if we know what exact version of Pinnacle you are using and what format/settings you used for exporting. And while we're at it, what you are playing the exported file back in (ie, WMP, VLC, etc.) Although, I'm betting its an issue during export.
Insert clever text/image here.
User avatar
NeoQuixotic
Master Procrastinator
 
Joined: 01 May 2001
Location: St. Louis Park, MN
Status: I haz job!

Re: Pinnacle - Where did my sound go?

Postby pinky75910 » Sat Feb 07, 2009 2:08 am

anubisx00 wrote:Pinnacle? Seriously? I've had such bad experience with anything with the Pinnacle or Dazzle name. Both software and hardware. Of course, that was like 4 years ago, so anyways.

Well, it might help if we know what exact version of Pinnacle you are using and what format/settings you used for exporting. And while we're at it, what you are playing the exported file back in (ie, WMP, VLC, etc.) Although, I'm betting its an issue during export.


Err, Thanks for your response. I have Pinnacle Studio Ultimate 12.

I usually use Windows Movie Player to play, but it didn't come out when I uploaded it direct to youtube either. I think I created it as a avi,
Making an amv, is rather like being the director of a Broadway show, where you have a million dancers and each of them only knows one step.

http://www.animemusicvideos.org/members ... hp?v=50239
User avatar
pinky75910
 
Joined: 09 Sep 2002

Re: Pinnacle - Where did my sound go?

Postby JaddziaDax » Sat Feb 07, 2009 2:09 am

what are you using for your audio source?
User avatar
JaddziaDax
Crazy Cat Lady!
 
Joined: 16 Mar 2004
Location: somewhere i think O.o
Status: I has a TRU Arceus

Re: Pinnacle - Where did my sound go?

Postby pinky75910 » Sat Feb 07, 2009 2:09 am

JaddziaDax wrote:what are you using for your audio source?


Voice recording using Power Sound Editor.
Making an amv, is rather like being the director of a Broadway show, where you have a million dancers and each of them only knows one step.

http://www.animemusicvideos.org/members ... hp?v=50239
User avatar
pinky75910
 
Joined: 09 Sep 2002

Re: Pinnacle - Where did my sound go?

Postby JaddziaDax » Sat Feb 07, 2009 2:27 am

O.o

what file type does that make?
or are you doing it in pinnacle?

(ps the only thing ive ever used pinnacle for is video capturing and it works fine for that, the editing mode seems kinda meh to me)
User avatar
JaddziaDax
Crazy Cat Lady!
 
Joined: 16 Mar 2004
Location: somewhere i think O.o
Status: I has a TRU Arceus

Re: Pinnacle - Where did my sound go?

Postby pinky75910 » Sat Feb 07, 2009 2:36 am

JaddziaDax wrote:O.o

what file type does that make?
or are you doing it in pinnacle?

(ps the only thing ive ever used pinnacle for is video capturing and it works fine for that, the editing mode seems kinda meh to me)


.wma
Making an amv, is rather like being the director of a Broadway show, where you have a million dancers and each of them only knows one step.

http://www.animemusicvideos.org/members ... hp?v=50239
User avatar
pinky75910
 
Joined: 09 Sep 2002

Re: Pinnacle - Where did my sound go?

Postby JaddziaDax » Sat Feb 07, 2009 2:45 am

have you tried converting the audio to an uncompressed WAV and see if that fixes the problem?
User avatar
JaddziaDax
Crazy Cat Lady!
 
Joined: 16 Mar 2004
Location: somewhere i think O.o
Status: I has a TRU Arceus

Re: Pinnacle - Where did my sound go?

Postby pinky75910 » Sat Feb 07, 2009 2:46 am

JaddziaDax wrote:have you tried converting the audio to an uncompressed WAV and see if that fixes the problem?


Er, how would I do that?

I think it's a Pinnacle problem - I ran it through my old editing prog and it came out fine
Making an amv, is rather like being the director of a Broadway show, where you have a million dancers and each of them only knows one step.

http://www.animemusicvideos.org/members ... hp?v=50239
User avatar
pinky75910
 
Joined: 09 Sep 2002

Re: Pinnacle - Where did my sound go?

Postby JaddziaDax » Sat Feb 07, 2009 3:01 am

what was your old editing program?
User avatar
JaddziaDax
Crazy Cat Lady!
 
Joined: 16 Mar 2004
Location: somewhere i think O.o
Status: I has a TRU Arceus

Re: Pinnacle - Where did my sound go?

Postby pinky75910 » Sat Feb 07, 2009 3:10 am

JaddziaDax wrote:what was your old editing program?


Windows Movie Maker. And I'm missing it now.
Making an amv, is rather like being the director of a Broadway show, where you have a million dancers and each of them only knows one step.

http://www.animemusicvideos.org/members ... hp?v=50239
User avatar
pinky75910
 
Joined: 09 Sep 2002

Re: Pinnacle - Where did my sound go?

Postby JaddziaDax » Sat Feb 07, 2009 3:23 am

well wma is windows audio container and windows movie maker is well window's editing program... so it would make sense it woudl work there O.o
User avatar
JaddziaDax
Crazy Cat Lady!
 
Joined: 16 Mar 2004
Location: somewhere i think O.o
Status: I has a TRU Arceus

Re: Pinnacle - Where did my sound go?

Postby NeoQuixotic » Sat Feb 07, 2009 3:34 am

pinky75910 wrote:
JaddziaDax wrote:have you tried converting the audio to an uncompressed WAV and see if that fixes the problem?

Er, how would I do that?

I think it's a Pinnacle problem - I ran it through my old editing prog and it came out fine

I personally have been using dBpoweramp for the last 7+ years to convert audio files.

http://www.dbpoweramp.com/dmc.htm - Install (No need to pay, unless you want MP3 or multicore support.)
http://www.dbpoweramp.com/codec-central ... -audio.htm - WMA codec (Get the XP or Vista one, depending on your OS.)

Then just right click and convert to WAV.

If you're recording audio, don't save to a lossy format if it's going to be compressed again for a video. Just record as a WAV in the first place. You want to avoid or at least minimize any compression done before the final output (same goes for video).
Insert clever text/image here.
User avatar
NeoQuixotic
Master Procrastinator
 
Joined: 01 May 2001
Location: St. Louis Park, MN
Status: I haz job!

Re: Pinnacle - Where did my sound go?

Postby pinky75910 » Sat Feb 07, 2009 3:45 am

You think that will fix my problem?

anubisx00 wrote:
pinky75910 wrote:
JaddziaDax wrote:have you tried converting the audio to an uncompressed WAV and see if that fixes the problem?

Er, how would I do that?

I think it's a Pinnacle problem - I ran it through my old editing prog and it came out fine

I personally have been using dBpoweramp for the last 7+ years to convert audio files.

http://www.dbpoweramp.com/dmc.htm - Install (No need to pay, unless you want MP3 or multicore support.)
http://www.dbpoweramp.com/codec-central ... -audio.htm - WMA codec (Get the XP or Vista one, depending on your OS.)

Then just right click and convert to WAV.

If you're recording audio, don't save to a lossy format if it's going to be compressed again for a video. Just record as a WAV in the first place. You want to avoid or at least minimize any compression done before the final output (same goes for video).
Making an amv, is rather like being the director of a Broadway show, where you have a million dancers and each of them only knows one step.

http://www.animemusicvideos.org/members ... hp?v=50239
User avatar
pinky75910
 
Joined: 09 Sep 2002

Re: Pinnacle - Where did my sound go?

Postby pinky75910 » Sat Feb 07, 2009 4:08 am

Sorry, just double-checked, I was using wavs the whole time.

anubisx00 wrote:
pinky75910 wrote:
JaddziaDax wrote:have you tried converting the audio to an uncompressed WAV and see if that fixes the problem?

Er, how would I do that?

I think it's a Pinnacle problem - I ran it through my old editing prog and it came out fine

I personally have been using dBpoweramp for the last 7+ years to convert audio files.

http://www.dbpoweramp.com/dmc.htm - Install (No need to pay, unless you want MP3 or multicore support.)
http://www.dbpoweramp.com/codec-central ... -audio.htm - WMA codec (Get the XP or Vista one, depending on your OS.)

Then just right click and convert to WAV.

If you're recording audio, don't save to a lossy format if it's going to be compressed again for a video. Just record as a WAV in the first place. You want to avoid or at least minimize any compression done before the final output (same goes for video).
Making an amv, is rather like being the director of a Broadway show, where you have a million dancers and each of them only knows one step.

http://www.animemusicvideos.org/members ... hp?v=50239
User avatar
pinky75910
 
Joined: 09 Sep 2002

Next

Return to Video Editing Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest