Slight Problem

MaliceDX
Org Profile

Slight Problem

Post by MaliceDX » Fri Jan 02, 2009 2:50 pm

I'm unsure where to stick this, so I'll go ahead and post it in this category.

I got Sony Vegas 8.0 several weeks ago, but have finally taken interest into making an AMV. Well, I started it up and opened a Code Geass file to get started. It popped into the timeline as expected; so I went off to see it before I began editing. Thing is, I couldn't see it in the preview box. I could only hear it.

I'm new to this, so I'm not sure what I did wrong or what I didn't do right. It's an .avi file if that helps any. I don't think I'll be able to do this right if I can't see what I'm doing. I really hope someone can help me. It sucks getting stuck at the very beginning of a project. =/

Vivaldi
Polemic Apologist
Org Profile

Re: Slight Problem

Post by Vivaldi » Fri Jan 02, 2009 7:31 pm

The problem is that the avi file uses either a DivX or Xvid codec, which can't be used for editing. It should be converted to a lossless codec like lagirith or HuffYUV.

[uel=http://www.animemusicvideos.org/guides/avtechbeta/]this[/url] is a very in depth guide made specifically for amvs. It explains pretty everything you need to know, and provides download links for any programs you'll for converting, ripping ect ect. Be warned, it's a very long guide, and most people have to read through it a few times to really "get" it. But it's very reccomended.

this is a series of short video tutorials ment to get new amv editors on their feet quickly. but note that it cannot replace the guide above. (And I personally can't vouch for it since I haven't seen it.)

Last thing, this site is officially against using downloaded footage. As such, we reccomend that you use DVDs instead. Asking about using or acquiring downloaded footage is will most likely get a hostile response from most people. So don't bother unless you're really stumped. :wink: