Magix movie edit pro 2004 questions and answers

For help and discussion about specific video editing systems like Adobe software, Windows Movie Maker, Magix, Sony Vegas, etc. Please note the subforums.
User avatar
Osakaisthebomb
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2005 5:05 pm
Status: 16 kib limit is a crime.
Location: Florence,Alabama
Contact:
Org Profile

Magix movie edit pro 2004 questions and answers

Postby Osakaisthebomb » Wed May 09, 2007 10:01 pm

tried looking for a forum like this but could. If you have questions or answers on using Magix Movie Edit Pro to it's fullest, then this is the place for you.

I'll start with question. It's been getting to the point where I have trouble watching the preview window to see if I edited something right. This happens most often when I cut between clips real fast. I was wondering if some setting on Magix will help the preview video to play smoother and without skipping or delaying. Is this possible or does it just mean I need to look for a new video card soon? ( I hope not).
Image
Image

User avatar
Koopiskeva
|:
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2002 7:31 pm
Status: O:
Location: Out There Occupation: Fondling Private Areas ..of the Nation.
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Koopiskeva » Wed May 09, 2007 10:06 pm

Magix is actually cpu and ram intensive.. so upgrading those would be your best bet. |:>
Hi.

User avatar
Osakaisthebomb
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2005 5:05 pm
Status: 16 kib limit is a crime.
Location: Florence,Alabama
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Osakaisthebomb » Wed May 09, 2007 10:08 pm

Drat. well any type of setting change that could help me out a bit?
Image
Image

User avatar
Kalium
Sir Bugsalot
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2003 11:17 pm
Location: Plymouth, Michigan
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Kalium » Wed May 09, 2007 10:44 pm

Try doing it at a lower res.

User avatar
Osakaisthebomb
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2005 5:05 pm
Status: 16 kib limit is a crime.
Location: Florence,Alabama
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Osakaisthebomb » Thu May 10, 2007 12:19 am

Kalium wrote:Try doing it at a lower res.


:shock:

I'm so shocked at how much that helped. I had to make it 280 x140 (or something like that) to get it to work but it worked. Thanks.
Image
Image

User avatar
808-buma
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 5:40 pm
Org Profile

Postby 808-buma » Fri May 11, 2007 3:16 am

you could also just export your clip too and just watch that >.>

which is what I did when I had a slower computer...
Image
ImageImageImageImage

User avatar
Phantasmagoriat
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 11:26 pm
Status: ☁SteamPunked≈☂
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Phantasmagoriat » Fri May 11, 2007 6:27 pm

could also convert your source to a fast codec... like some sort of MJPEG.

...Lately I've been using the trial version from PICVIDEO, and just cropped off the watermarks... which is great if you plan to make your amv widescreen anyways :P Its so fast I can fill all 16 tracks in Magix MEP10 @50%opacity, and it still plays smoothly...
Image
Org Profile | AMVGuide | Phan Picks! | THE424SHOW | YouTube | "Galactic Escape"

"Effort to Understand; Effort to be Understood; to See through Different Eyes."

User avatar
Osakaisthebomb
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2005 5:05 pm
Status: 16 kib limit is a crime.
Location: Florence,Alabama
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Osakaisthebomb » Fri May 11, 2007 10:29 pm

Phantasmagoriat wrote:could also convert your source to a fast codec... like some sort of MJPEG.

...Lately I've been using the trial version from PICVIDEO, and just cropped off the watermarks... which is great if you plan to make your amv widescreen anyways :P Its so fast I can fill all 16 tracks in Magix MEP10 @50%opacity, and it still plays smoothly...


So let me get this straight. what are watermarks?
And exactly how do you use PICVIDEO?
Image
Image

User avatar
Phantasmagoriat
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 11:26 pm
Status: ☁SteamPunked≈☂
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Phantasmagoriat » Sat May 12, 2007 12:34 am

Image

What I am referring to is a codec, precisely-- the <a href="http://www.pegasusimaging.com/picvideo.htm">PICVideo M-JPEG Codec</a>

What I do is load my source into vdub, and re-save/re-compress it as the MJPEG mentioned. Throw that into magix, and it will be really fast... and the filesizes are pretty reasonable too depending on the quality you set. As shown above, the codec imprints stuff/watermarks at the top and bottom of the frame [this is the ONLY limitation of the trail]... but I want widescreen, so I don't care... and I've already added borders because I'm not going to use that part anyways-->in fact, if you really wanted to rip off pegasusimaging... just add borders to the whole thing, and the watermarks will only appear on those borders. :P [like shown above]
Image
Org Profile | AMVGuide | Phan Picks! | THE424SHOW | YouTube | "Galactic Escape"

"Effort to Understand; Effort to be Understood; to See through Different Eyes."

User avatar
shinji13
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 4:40 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby shinji13 » Tue May 15, 2007 10:32 pm

I got a noob question for Magix, how do you take a screenshot in magix?

Nothing seems to be obvious with Magix video editor ._. I hope it isnt this difficult for me to figure out how to edit my video when I get started or I am gonna be spending 10 hours trying to make two scenes go smooth. Thanks to whoever answers.

Beep...Beep...Beep...Beep...
"The secret to creativity is knowing how to hide your sources." - Albert Einstein

User avatar
808-buma
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 5:40 pm
Org Profile

Postby 808-buma » Wed May 16, 2007 12:31 am

shinji13 wrote:I got a noob question for Magix, how do you take a screenshot in magix?

Nothing seems to be obvious with Magix video editor ._. I hope it isnt this difficult for me to figure out how to edit my video when I get started or I am gonna be spending 10 hours trying to make two scenes go smooth. Thanks to whoever answers.

Beep...Beep...Beep...Beep...


in the export video pulldown, there should be an option (below all the vid export options) for you to export to an image file (BMP and something else, that I can't recall at the moment)...

hope this helps!
Image

ImageImageImageImage

User avatar
shinji13
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 4:40 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby shinji13 » Wed May 16, 2007 12:47 am

808-buma wrote:
shinji13 wrote:I got a noob question for Magix, how do you take a screenshot in magix?

Nothing seems to be obvious with Magix video editor ._. I hope it isnt this difficult for me to figure out how to edit my video when I get started or I am gonna be spending 10 hours trying to make two scenes go smooth. Thanks to whoever answers.

Beep...Beep...Beep...Beep...


in the export video pulldown, there should be an option (below all the vid export options) for you to export to an image file (BMP and something else, that I can't recall at the moment)...

hope this helps!
Yay it helped a lot.

Image

my first ever exported image from magix :P
"The secret to creativity is knowing how to hide your sources." - Albert Einstein

User avatar
808-buma
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 5:40 pm
Org Profile

Postby 808-buma » Wed May 16, 2007 12:49 am

hey, that looks like a scene from my last video :)

glad I could help
Image

ImageImageImageImage

User avatar
shinji13
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 4:40 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby shinji13 » Wed May 16, 2007 1:27 am

808-buma wrote:hey, that looks like a scene from my last video :)

glad I could help
lol; I may or may not use this scene :P but this is a portion of my test video hehe.. cool picture though.

thanks to help.
"The secret to creativity is knowing how to hide your sources." - Albert Einstein

User avatar
Osakaisthebomb
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2005 5:05 pm
Status: 16 kib limit is a crime.
Location: Florence,Alabama
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Osakaisthebomb » Sat May 26, 2007 12:55 am

New Problem!!!!


Any video I bring in come's in with out the audio with it. Why and how do I fix it?
Image
Image


Return to “Video Editing Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest