De-Interlacing

For help and discussion about specific video editing systems like Adobe software, Windows Movie Maker, Magix, Sony Vegas, etc. Please note the subforums.
User avatar
Hagaren Viper
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 11:51 pm
Status: Just wanna play Persona 4Ever
Location: I dont wanna edit
Contact:
Org Profile

De-Interlacing

Postby Hagaren Viper » Sun Dec 31, 2006 5:58 pm

I have just finished an AMV on Sony Vegas 6. Problem is, when I render it as an AVI, the video looks pretty ugly, with lines going through the footage at some parts. I'm pretty sure this is because the video is interlaced. Is there a setting in Vegas I can use to de-interlace the video, or is it something I have to do with my source footage first? Whatever the case, help is appreciated.
ImageImage
ImageImage

User avatar
Minion
Joined: Sat May 22, 2004 10:16 pm
Location: orlando
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Minion » Sun Dec 31, 2006 6:23 pm

export it as lagarith, open it in virtualdub, run the deinterlace filter and compress with xvid
KioAtWork: I'm so bored. I don't have class again for another half hour.
Minion: masturbate into someones desk and giggle about it for the remaining 28 minutes

User avatar
Keeper of Hellfire
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 6:13 am
Location: Germany
Org Profile

Postby Keeper of Hellfire » Mon Jan 01, 2007 5:29 am

Usually you should remove interlacing before editing. This part of EADFAG helps, though it is a bit outdated. The section about the Decomb package should be replaced with TIVTC. But since you have edited don't IVTC because it changes the framerate.

User avatar
chosef
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 8:34 am
Location: Bulgaria, Sofia
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby chosef » Mon Jan 01, 2007 6:56 am

If the source isn't interlaced, but your export is, check the aspect ratio. It must be the same as the source, and not have letterbox.
Мрете у кофите!

User avatar
Minion
Joined: Sat May 22, 2004 10:16 pm
Location: orlando
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Minion » Mon Jan 01, 2007 5:35 pm

you can also get interlaced artifacts if you added any motion yourself. like having an object fly across the screen
KioAtWork: I'm so bored. I don't have class again for another half hour.

Minion: masturbate into someones desk and giggle about it for the remaining 28 minutes

User avatar
Hagaren Viper
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 11:51 pm
Status: Just wanna play Persona 4Ever
Location: I dont wanna edit
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Hagaren Viper » Mon Jan 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Yeah, I think that's what did it. I had a few clips zoom, spin ect., but now it looks fine. Thanks!

Now I need to figure out audio conversion...I'm ok at making AMVs and Photoshop but not much else computer-related stuff >_>
ImageImage
ImageImage

User avatar
Hagaren Viper
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 11:51 pm
Status: Just wanna play Persona 4Ever
Location: I dont wanna edit
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Hagaren Viper » Mon Jan 01, 2007 11:14 pm

Yeah, I think that's what did it. I had a few clips zoom, spin ect., but now it looks fine. Thanks!

Now I need to figure out audio conversion...I'm ok at making AMVs and Photoshop but not much else computer-related stuff >_>
ImageImage
ImageImage

User avatar
CrackTheSky
has trust issues
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 11:01 pm
Status: Maybe editing?
Location: Chicago
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby CrackTheSky » Tue Jan 02, 2007 2:10 pm


User avatar
Hagaren Viper
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 11:51 pm
Status: Just wanna play Persona 4Ever
Location: I dont wanna edit
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Hagaren Viper » Thu Jan 04, 2007 12:55 am

THANK YOU. That took a good chunk of mb out of my vid.
ImageImage
ImageImage


Return to “Video Editing Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests