Help with AviSynth

For help and discussion about specific video editing systems like Adobe software, Windows Movie Maker, Magix, Sony Vegas, etc. Please note the subforums.

Re: Help with AviSynth

Postby pan_dbgt01 » Mon Nov 11, 2013 1:49 pm

pan_dbgt01 wrote:
RTW47 wrote:
Spoiler :
pan_dbgt01 wrote:I am missing the LSMASHSource.dll

I assume you have copied LSMASHSource.dll to AviSynth's plugin folder.
msvcr110.dll is in place, yet opening script in Vdub results in same error message as before.

-Update AviSynth to 2.6 Alpha 5 http://sourceforge.net/projects/avisynt ... _Releases/
-Make sure you are using latest stable 32-bit (x86) version of virtual dub http://virtualdub.sourceforge.net/
because the 64-bit version cannot use 32-bit plugins. (use 32-bit versions of everything)

then try again opening avs script in Vdub like this:
Code: Select all
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth 2.5\plugins\LSMASHSource.dll")
LWLibavVideoSource("Video.mp4")
tell if error message is different.


You assumed right. Thanks, I wasn't sure if I should update to that version.

I hope this works.


Now it says,
Avisynth open failure:
[Fatal]: Failed to avformat_open_input.
User avatar
pan_dbgt01
 
Joined: 24 May 2001
Location: Canada
Status: Hanging around. Trying to find time to edit.

Re: Help with AviSynth

Postby l33tmeatwad » Mon Nov 11, 2013 3:13 pm

pan_dbgt01 wrote:Now it says,
Avisynth open failure:
[Fatal]: Failed to avformat_open_input.
Looks like LSMASHsource doesn't like that file...see if FFMPEGSource works and report back.
Guides, Scripts, & Software: AMV 101 | AMVpack | AviSynth 101 | Anime Upscale
PixelBlended Studios: Website | Facebook | Tumblr | Twitter | YouTube
User avatar
l33tmeatwad
 
Joined: 16 Feb 2005
Location: Charleston, SC
Status: Trolling

Re: Help with AviSynth

Postby pan_dbgt01 » Wed Nov 13, 2013 2:15 pm

l33tmeatwad wrote:
pan_dbgt01 wrote:Now it says,
Avisynth open failure:
[Fatal]: Failed to avformat_open_input.
Looks like LSMASHsource doesn't like that file...see if FFMPEGSource works and report back.


How do I get this to work?
User avatar
pan_dbgt01
 
Joined: 24 May 2001
Location: Canada
Status: Hanging around. Trying to find time to edit.

Re: Help with AviSynth

Postby l33tmeatwad » Wed Nov 13, 2013 2:38 pm

After you download the latest revision (currently 2.19), copy ffms2.dll and ffms2.avsi into your AviSynth plugins folder. Your script would look like this:
Code: Select all
ffvideosource("video.mp4")
Guides, Scripts, & Software: AMV 101 | AMVpack | AviSynth 101 | Anime Upscale
PixelBlended Studios: Website | Facebook | Tumblr | Twitter | YouTube
User avatar
l33tmeatwad
 
Joined: 16 Feb 2005
Location: Charleston, SC
Status: Trolling

Re: Help with AviSynth

Postby pan_dbgt01 » Wed Nov 13, 2013 3:51 pm

l33tmeatwad wrote:After you download the latest revision (currently 2.19), copy ffms2.dll and ffms2.avsi into your AviSynth plugins folder. Your script would look like this:
Code: Select all
ffvideosource("video.mp4")


I think I officially quit. It's not working it's saying it can't open the video.
User avatar
pan_dbgt01
 
Joined: 24 May 2001
Location: Canada
Status: Hanging around. Trying to find time to edit.

Re: Help with AviSynth

Postby l33tmeatwad » Wed Nov 13, 2013 4:29 pm

Does it play back in your media player? If so as a last resort you could always use DirectShowSource() (no additional plugins needed). It's not the best method but it will work assuming the file plays at all.
Guides, Scripts, & Software: AMV 101 | AMVpack | AviSynth 101 | Anime Upscale
PixelBlended Studios: Website | Facebook | Tumblr | Twitter | YouTube
User avatar
l33tmeatwad
 
Joined: 16 Feb 2005
Location: Charleston, SC
Status: Trolling

Re: Help with AviSynth

Postby pan_dbgt01 » Wed Nov 13, 2013 5:13 pm

l33tmeatwad wrote:Does it play back in your media player? If so as a last resort you could always use DirectShowSource() (no additional plugins needed). It's not the best method but it will work assuming the file plays at all.


I haven't been able to use windows media player since I started using windows 8. It says it needs an update and I haven't bothered since I use vlc. Could that be an issue?
User avatar
pan_dbgt01
 
Joined: 24 May 2001
Location: Canada
Status: Hanging around. Trying to find time to edit.

Re: Help with AviSynth

Postby l33tmeatwad » Wed Nov 13, 2013 5:33 pm

pan_dbgt01 wrote:
l33tmeatwad wrote:Does it play back in your media player? If so as a last resort you could always use DirectShowSource() (no additional plugins needed). It's not the best method but it will work assuming the file plays at all.


I haven't been able to use windows media player since I started using windows 8. It says it needs an update and I haven't bothered since I use vlc. Could that be an issue?

First off, I would recommend dropping VLC in favor of Media Player Classic as it is much better. Secondly, I would install the latest LAV Filters to make sure DirectShowSource has something to decode the file with if MPC happens to play it correctly.
Guides, Scripts, & Software: AMV 101 | AMVpack | AviSynth 101 | Anime Upscale
PixelBlended Studios: Website | Facebook | Tumblr | Twitter | YouTube
User avatar
l33tmeatwad
 
Joined: 16 Feb 2005
Location: Charleston, SC
Status: Trolling

Re: Help with AviSynth

Postby pan_dbgt01 » Thu Nov 14, 2013 10:52 am

l33tmeatwad wrote:
pan_dbgt01 wrote:
l33tmeatwad wrote:Does it play back in your media player? If so as a last resort you could always use DirectShowSource() (no additional plugins needed). It's not the best method but it will work assuming the file plays at all.


I haven't been able to use windows media player since I started using windows 8. It says it needs an update and I haven't bothered since I use vlc. Could that be an issue?

First off, I would recommend dropping VLC in favor of Media Player Classic as it is much better. Secondly, I would install the latest LAV Filters to make sure DirectShowSource has something to decode the file with if MPC happens to play it correctly.


It's still not working. I have no idea why. I installed Avisynth and all the dlls are in place.
User avatar
pan_dbgt01
 
Joined: 24 May 2001
Location: Canada
Status: Hanging around. Trying to find time to edit.

Re: Help with AviSynth

Postby pan_dbgt01 » Thu Nov 14, 2013 11:41 am

I used a video converter to make the mp4 and now it's working. MKVtoMp4 is what I originally used, so I have no idea why the h264 video isn't working properly.
User avatar
pan_dbgt01
 
Joined: 24 May 2001
Location: Canada
Status: Hanging around. Trying to find time to edit.

Re: Help with AviSynth

Postby l33tmeatwad » Thu Nov 14, 2013 12:20 pm

pan_dbgt01 wrote:I used a video converter to make the mp4 and now it's working. MKVtoMp4 is what I originally used, so I have no idea why the h264 video isn't working properly.

My first question is, why recontainer just to use AviSynth? Did you try using the original MKV with AviSynth? Secondly, DO NOT REENCODE TO A LOSSY FORMAT! By doing that you are degrading the footage, you are best off figuring out why the footage is not importing properly.

I will say this, while MKVtoMP4 is probably the most convenient and easy way to recontainer videos, it has been known to create unusable files when using the 32bit version on a 64bit OS. The only reason you should need to use MKVtoMP4 is if you are trying to open the MP4 in your editing software, you should avoid using it if you plan to convert with AviSynth as it just adds another layer of possible problems.
Guides, Scripts, & Software: AMV 101 | AMVpack | AviSynth 101 | Anime Upscale
PixelBlended Studios: Website | Facebook | Tumblr | Twitter | YouTube
User avatar
l33tmeatwad
 
Joined: 16 Feb 2005
Location: Charleston, SC
Status: Trolling

Re: Help with AviSynth

Postby pan_dbgt01 » Fri Nov 15, 2013 2:58 pm

l33tmeatwad wrote:
pan_dbgt01 wrote:I used a video converter to make the mp4 and now it's working. MKVtoMp4 is what I originally used, so I have no idea why the h264 video isn't working properly.

My first question is, why recontainer just to use AviSynth? Did you try using the original MKV with AviSynth? Secondly, DO NOT REENCODE TO A LOSSY FORMAT! By doing that you are degrading the footage, you are best off figuring out why the footage is not importing properly.

I will say this, while MKVtoMP4 is probably the most convenient and easy way to recontainer videos, it has been known to create unusable files when using the 32bit version on a 64bit OS. The only reason you should need to use MKVtoMP4 is if you are trying to open the MP4 in your editing software, you should avoid using it if you plan to convert with AviSynth as it just adds another layer of possible problems.


Oh okay. Thank you for all of your help :)

When I opened the mp4s in my Vegas I was getting blank video and that's why I am going lossless. I will try the MKVs.
User avatar
pan_dbgt01
 
Joined: 24 May 2001
Location: Canada
Status: Hanging around. Trying to find time to edit.

Re: Help with AviSynth

Postby l33tmeatwad » Fri Nov 15, 2013 4:05 pm

Sounds like the originals are 10bit so lossless it's the right choice, I would just try converting from the original MKVs instead of the recontainered MP4s. There are some rare instances where Vegas (tho not Premiere) will not decode a recontainered video even if it is 8 bit, but I have only heard about this for a few sources.
Guides, Scripts, & Software: AMV 101 | AMVpack | AviSynth 101 | Anime Upscale
PixelBlended Studios: Website | Facebook | Tumblr | Twitter | YouTube
User avatar
l33tmeatwad
 
Joined: 16 Feb 2005
Location: Charleston, SC
Status: Trolling

Re: Help with AviSynth

Postby RTW47 » Sat Nov 16, 2013 8:28 am

I believe some problems happened because of accidently trying to open something that does not exist. eg:. avformat_open_input() function error actually could also mean that LSMASHsource can't locate video file! (one possible case: perhaps because video extension did not matched to that in .avs script?) later I got totaly lost was it mp4, mkv or something else...in any way FFMPEGSource failue is also expected. Then remuxing suddenly fixes the problem?
(instead of just changing extension in the script? and using original video in avisynth right away)
Regards.
User avatar
RTW47
 
Joined: 30 Oct 2010
Location: Argument Clinic
Status: staring at 0x00

Re: Help with AviSynth

Postby l33tmeatwad » Sat Nov 16, 2013 6:41 pm

RTW47 wrote:Then remuxing suddenly fixes the problem?
(instead of just changing extension in the script? and using original video in avisynth right away)
No, from the sound of it they recontainered to use in Vegas, it didn't work, so they used the new recontainered file with AviSynth.
Guides, Scripts, & Software: AMV 101 | AMVpack | AviSynth 101 | Anime Upscale
PixelBlended Studios: Website | Facebook | Tumblr | Twitter | YouTube
User avatar
l33tmeatwad
 
Joined: 16 Feb 2005
Location: Charleston, SC
Status: Trolling

PreviousNext

Return to Video Editing Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest