Help with codecs(video)

For help and discussion concerning the Windows Movie Maker software.
User avatar
76
Ninja mother-figure
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 10:48 pm
Status: Learning
Location: in the clouds, crying over a dying world
Contact:
Org Profile

Help with codecs(video)

Postby 76 » Sun Mar 02, 2008 9:24 pm

I'm trying to import a movie file into my collections, but it says I don't have the codec(I use Kmplayer to watch the file)

How do I tell what codec I need. And then, how do I get the codec?
Everything came from nothing, therefore everything is nothing.

There's nothing to worry about.

User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 11:08 pm
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Kariudo » Sun Mar 02, 2008 9:46 pm

gspot (get from mah sig)
drag/drop the file in and it should tell you what codec was used (among other things)

then, google
:up:
Image
Image

User avatar
76
Ninja mother-figure
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 10:48 pm
Status: Learning
Location: in the clouds, crying over a dying world
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby 76 » Sun Mar 02, 2008 11:24 pm

Many thanks, Kariudo-sama
Everything came from nothing, therefore everything is nothing.

There's nothing to worry about.

User avatar
76
Ninja mother-figure
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 10:48 pm
Status: Learning
Location: in the clouds, crying over a dying world
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby 76 » Sun Mar 02, 2008 11:49 pm

Wow, I think I'll actually attempt to make an amv now......


So far the video is importing...THANKS AGAIN!!
Everything came from nothing, therefore everything is nothing.

There's nothing to worry about.

User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 11:08 pm
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Kariudo » Sun Mar 02, 2008 11:59 pm

no problem
I live to serve
the sama really isn't necessary...supreme lord of thar interwebs will do :p
seriously now, glad it worked.
Image
Image

User avatar
Autraya
Zero Punctuation
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2003 12:52 am
Status: old
Location: Terra Australis
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Autraya » Mon Mar 03, 2008 1:09 am

Kariudo wrote:no problem
I live to serve
the sama really isn't necessary...supreme lord of thar interwebs will do :p
seriously now, glad it worked.
rly?
I have a list somewhere <.< >.>
new banzors in the making :p

User avatar
76
Ninja mother-figure
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 10:48 pm
Status: Learning
Location: in the clouds, crying over a dying world
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby 76 » Mon Mar 03, 2008 3:14 am

HAi

kariudo-supreme lord of thar interwebs
Everything came from nothing, therefore everything is nothing.

There's nothing to worry about.

Ada D
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 2:33 am
Location: Toronto, ON
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Ada D » Tue Apr 08, 2008 2:47 am

i had the same problem, when I used gspot it said the codecs are installed but the videos still wont import.

User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 11:08 pm
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Kariudo » Tue Apr 08, 2008 9:04 am

I'm gonna go ahead and guess that your video is encoded with divx or xvid

in which case...

Image
it says premiere...but you really don't want to edit divx/xvid footage in any editing program
(flashing banner is also a link)
Image
Image

User avatar
JaddziaDax
Crazy Cat Lady!
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 6:25 am
Status: I has a TRU Arceus
Location: somewhere i think O.o
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby JaddziaDax » Tue Apr 08, 2008 2:42 pm

Image

mine says any program, but it links to the same place

User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 11:08 pm
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Kariudo » Tue Apr 08, 2008 3:57 pm

JaddziaDax wrote:Image

mine says any program, but it links to the same place

but it isn't flashing :(
Image
Image

User avatar
JaddziaDax
Crazy Cat Lady!
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 6:25 am
Status: I has a TRU Arceus
Location: somewhere i think O.o
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby JaddziaDax » Tue Apr 08, 2008 4:06 pm

but i don't like seizure things or aren't you following the discussion in General AMV O.o

User avatar
Phantasmagoriat
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 11:26 pm
Status: ☁SteamPunked≈☂
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Phantasmagoriat » Wed Apr 09, 2008 4:30 pm

Kariudo wrote:but it isn't flashing :(
I could turn it into a flashing gif to make the ultimate banner :jester: [but that would just be mean...]
Image
Org Profile | AMVGuide | Phan Picks! | THE424SHOW | YouTube | "Galactic Escape"

"Effort to Understand; Effort to be Understood; to See through Different Eyes."

Xx1Emo1xX
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 10:13 am
Org Profile

Postby Xx1Emo1xX » Fri Apr 25, 2008 10:24 am

Help i have a problem when i import a movie an error comes up "~Beautiful Day~ Final Fantasy X aNd X-2.avi could not be imported. The required codec was not downloaded automatically because the Download codecs automatically check box is not selected in the Options dialog box." i need help >.<

User avatar
JaddziaDax
Crazy Cat Lady!
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 6:25 am
Status: I has a TRU Arceus
Location: somewhere i think O.o
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby JaddziaDax » Fri Apr 25, 2008 11:10 am

Phantasmagoriat wrote:
Kariudo wrote:but it isn't flashing :(
I could turn it into a flashing gif to make the ultimate banner :jester: [but that would just be mean...]


minion already did that, I don't remember where he posted it, but you would be too late... I still don't like the flashing one.


Help i have a problem when i import a movie an error comes up "~Beautiful Day~ Final Fantasy X aNd X-2.avi could not be imported. The required codec was not downloaded automatically because the Download codecs automatically check box is not selected in the Options dialog box." i need help >.<


I'm going to guess your problem is the same exact as the original posters, you would be good to read the link that the pretty red letters links too (yes the flashing one links to the same place as the non-flashing one)


Return to “Windows Movie Maker”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests