shutdown on its own

For help and discussion concerning the Windows Movie Maker software.

shutdown on its own

Postby DarkestBuddha » Mon Apr 16, 2007 3:18 am

i started to make a vid when allofasudden my movie maker just shut down
i think it was cuz i was using and xvid file
can some1 verify this?

dam xvid files should be made for easier editing
User avatar
DarkestBuddha
 
Joined: 15 Apr 2007

Postby Autraya » Mon Apr 16, 2007 4:19 am

Ok 3 things.

1.) yes Xvid could be the cause
2.) The progam has a habbit of doing that normally anyway
3.) Read the FAQ sticky at the top of this forum.... It talks about this (and other) problems. :?
new banzors in the making :p
User avatar
Autraya
Zero Punctuation
 
Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Location: Terra Australis
Status: old

Postby JaddziaDax » Mon Apr 16, 2007 12:59 pm

XVID wasnt meant for editing anyways...
User avatar
JaddziaDax
Crazy Cat Lady!
 
Joined: 16 Mar 2004
Location: somewhere i think O.o
Status: I has a TRU Arceus

Postby Illwilledmarine » Wed May 09, 2007 9:29 pm

I had this problem often. I found out that the main cause was due to my codec. At the time I had the Community Codec Pack and one of those codecs would repeatedly open for each individual clip I was selecting until finally the the program crashed. You might want to troubleshoot the codecs that your using, turn off/uninstall them (If you have more then one) one by one until you isolate the one that is causing the program to crash. Hope this helps.
User avatar
Illwilledmarine
 
Joined: 25 Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Postby JaddziaDax » Thu May 10, 2007 6:28 am

if you dont have your codecs installed/turned on then how are you going to see the video to edit it?

that is not the answer... the real answer is:
Image
User avatar
JaddziaDax
Crazy Cat Lady!
 
Joined: 16 Mar 2004
Location: somewhere i think O.o
Status: I has a TRU Arceus

Postby khurram » Sun May 13, 2007 12:04 am

JaddziaDax wrote:if you dont have your codecs installed/turned on then how are you going to see the video to edit it?

that is not the answer... the real answer is:
Image


ooooooooooo so thats what happened T.T
khurram
 
Joined: 03 Dec 2005

Postby Illwilledmarine » Mon Jun 18, 2007 5:23 pm

JaddziaDax wrote:if you dont have your codecs installed/turned on then how are you going to see the video to edit it?

that is not the answer... the real answer is:
Image


It wasn't really meant to be the answer alone, once you found out whether the codec is giving you a problem or not, the next step would be to look and see if there is a newer version. But you are right, Divx and Xvid files shouldn't be used for editing anyways.
User avatar
Illwilledmarine
 
Joined: 25 Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Postby JaddziaDax » Mon Jun 18, 2007 5:40 pm

did you click the banner? the answers are "hidden" there O:
User avatar
JaddziaDax
Crazy Cat Lady!
 
Joined: 16 Mar 2004
Location: somewhere i think O.o
Status: I has a TRU Arceus

Postby Cornwiggle » Wed Jun 20, 2007 1:20 pm

Just remember this:

Everytime you do something, save. It's a good habit to get into whether WMM is acting up or not. Unless you like to do stuff over and over again.
¯\(°_o)/¯
User avatar
Cornwiggle
 
Joined: 10 May 2003
Location: Lost Ground


Return to Windows Movie Maker

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron