Something wrong with Effects in WMM2

For help and discussion concerning the Windows Movie Maker software.
Nevann
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 10:02 pm
Contact:
Org Profile

Something wrong with Effects in WMM2

Postby Nevann » Tue Jan 16, 2007 8:24 pm

Everytime I add an effect at the end of a scene, my WMM2 automatically closes down, sorry if this has been posted before. Thanks

User avatar
BlaCk_PeArL_27
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 9:33 pm
Status: Married and lots of Child LOL
Location: SoCal, North Hills
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby BlaCk_PeArL_27 » Tue Jan 16, 2007 9:05 pm

Then I say if not "necessary" to add the effects in you last clips, then don't add any. And if that is different clips contains DviX/XviD must not use in WMM. You should read the WMM FAQ.

User avatar
CrackTheSky
has trust issues
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 11:01 pm
Status: Maybe editing?
Location: Chicago
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: Something wrong with Effects in WMM2

Postby CrackTheSky » Tue Jan 16, 2007 9:24 pm

Nevann wrote:Everytime I add an effect at the end of a scene, my WMM2 automatically closes down, sorry if this has been posted before. Thanks


Yeah...WMM sucks like that :/

Nevann
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 10:02 pm
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Nevann » Tue Jan 16, 2007 10:45 pm

Forgot to mention that my clip is not encoded with DivX/XviD.
The WMM FAQ didn't have any thing regarding my problem.

User avatar
CrackTheSky
has trust issues
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 11:01 pm
Status: Maybe editing?
Location: Chicago
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby CrackTheSky » Tue Jan 16, 2007 10:49 pm

Most likely it's just WMM sucking, which can be fixed by getting something else.

Or with lots of patience.

System specs?

User avatar
Arigatomina
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2003 3:04 am
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Arigatomina » Tue Jan 16, 2007 11:10 pm

Nevann wrote:Forgot to mention that my clip is not encoded with DivX/XviD.

What's it encoded with, then? If it's huffyuv, try reinstalling ffdshow.
If it's not the clips themselves, then it may be your copy of wmm2.0. Did you upgrade it (from wmm1.0), or download it from somewhere? Try reinstalling it.

User avatar
BlaCk_PeArL_27
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 9:33 pm
Status: Married and lots of Child LOL
Location: SoCal, North Hills
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby BlaCk_PeArL_27 » Tue Jan 16, 2007 11:13 pm

Nevann wrote:Forgot to mention that my clip is not encoded with DivX/XviD.
The WMM FAQ didn't have any thing regarding my problem.


Did you know the WMM is very buggy and most of the time crashing?

Like what Craky say you must have alot of patience if you choose to edit your project in WMM mostly that's the main problem about WMM buggy and crashing.

Nevann
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 10:02 pm
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Nevann » Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:07 am

- I'm sure my computer should have no trouble running it, its less than a year old
- Is there another alternative program I can obtain to edit video files?
- Its encoded with Lagarith(sp?), and I've downloaded it off the site rather than upgrading.
- And no, this is my first experience using WMM.

Thanks for the help guys

User avatar
Autraya
Zero Punctuation
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2003 12:52 am
Status: old
Location: Terra Australis
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Autraya » Wed Jan 17, 2007 4:23 am

nevann wrote:1 I'm sure my computer should have no trouble running it, its less than a year old
2 Is there another alternative program I can obtain to edit video files?
3 Its encoded with Lagarith(sp?), and I've downloaded it off the site rather than upgrading.
4 And no, this is my first experience using WMM.


1 - yeah and mines a beast that was upgraded last month, it still doesn't run properly.

2- Some Alternative programs: Vegas Video, Adobe Premiere (and pro), Ulead

3- try huffyuv instead, but it doesn't make much difference

4 - sucks don't it.

nevann wrote:The WMM FAQ didn't have any thing regarding my problem

Tich tich
FAQ wrote: 1.) Why does WMM maker keep freezing/stop/start/delay when I try to playback?
This is relatively normal for this program when you start using a lot of transitions effects or your computer is not able to handle the playback

Perhaps I should add crashing to that list, cause that's your answer
new banzors in the making :p

User avatar
BlaCk_PeArL_27
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 9:33 pm
Status: Married and lots of Child LOL
Location: SoCal, North Hills
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby BlaCk_PeArL_27 » Wed Jan 17, 2007 10:54 am

Nevann wrote:- I'm sure my computer should have no trouble running it, its less than a year old
- Is there another alternative program I can obtain to edit video files?
- Its encoded with Lagarith(sp?), and I've downloaded it off the site rather than upgrading.
- And no, this is my first experience using WMM.

Thanks for the help guys


mine too it's also less a year old but it doesn't mean you never have trouble using wmm sometimes wmm need to upgrade it.

yes you can get other program like what autraya say and also if you also I want to add Nero Pro ^_^

I never use lagarith in my clips maybe I should try that but I rather suggest huffyuv too

if so WELCOME to WMM user and like what I said wmm is buggy and crashy so much better if you get another prog instead of one

User avatar
JaddziaDax
Crazy Cat Lady!
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 6:25 am
Status: I has a TRU Arceus
Location: somewhere i think O.o
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby JaddziaDax » Wed Jan 17, 2007 1:30 pm

autraya wrote:Vegas Video


that should be Sony Vegas

>.>

User avatar
JaddziaDax
Crazy Cat Lady!
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 6:25 am
Status: I has a TRU Arceus
Location: somewhere i think O.o
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby JaddziaDax » Wed Jan 17, 2007 1:32 pm

PS. theres a lovely list right here of what programs you might want to look into O.o if WMM isnt working out for you

khurram
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2005 4:48 pm
Contact:
Org Profile

Same

Postby khurram » Wed Jan 17, 2007 7:17 pm

Is ur windows genuine, the same thing happened to me when something happened and it said my windows isnt genuine >.>, im sick of it, so then i didnt add effects and it worked, but... (more >.>) after 2 - 3 months my movie maker always closes whenever i add a clip.. any clip >.<!!

Nevann
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 10:02 pm
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Nevann » Wed Jan 17, 2007 7:31 pm

is ur windows genuine, the same thing happened to me when something happened and it said my windows isnt genuine >.>, im sick of it, so then i didnt add effects and it worked, but... (more >.>) after 2 - 3 months my movie maker always closes whenever i add a clip.. any clip >.<!!


I think it is. *shrugs*, it came from the manufacturer so meh.

PS. theres a lovely list right here of what programs you might want to look into O.o if WMM isnt working out for you


Lovely list is right. It's just that my eyes glaze over every time I see the price range. Guess I'll have to stick it out with WMM; is there any way at all for me to add effects without my system crashing down - its been reinstalled but the same thing happens, and its not just the effects too - it crashes with other commands as well.

User avatar
Arigatomina
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2003 3:04 am
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Arigatomina » Wed Jan 17, 2007 7:45 pm

Nevann wrote:...and its not just the effects too - it crashes with other commands as well.

That sounds like it's the clips causing the problems. Did you try using huffyuv instead of lagarith? Did you try installing a newer version of ffdshow?

Here's a quick check - import a picture file, jpg/bmp/gif/etc. Try using that picture as a clip and apply effects to it. If you don't get the same errors, you'll know it's the lagarith clips causing the problem and not the program.


Return to “Windows Movie Maker”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests