Premiere Pro CS3 crashing on import

Discussion and help related to Adobe video software goes here. e.x. Premiere, After Effects, Photoshop, etc.

Premiere Pro CS3 crashing on import

Postby Lohoydo » Mon Aug 10, 2009 12:55 pm

I'm trying to import some mkv files using the avisynth plugin into Premiere Pro CS3, but it keeps crashing. Specifically, the .avs file appears as an importable file, I select it and the "Import File" window's outline appears but the contents of the window never appear and a couple seconds later I receive the standard Windows "Adobe Premiere Pro CS3 has encountered a problem and needs to close." Anyone have any ideas how to fix this or get around it using a different method?

.avs script:
Code: Select all
DirectShowSource("D:\Kaleido_Star_09.mkv")


Machine:
dual 2.0 core
2 gigs of RAM
GForce 8600GTS GPU
Lohoydo
 
Joined: 17 Aug 2008

Re: Premiere Pro CS3 crashing on import

Postby mirkosp » Mon Aug 10, 2009 3:06 pm

Try putting a
Code: Select all
setmemorymax(1024)
before that line and see if it still happens.
Image
User avatar
mirkosp
MODkip
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2006
Location: Gallarate (VA), Italy
Status: (」・ワ・)」(⊃・ワ・)⊃

Re: Premiere Pro CS3 crashing on import

Postby Lohoydo » Mon Aug 10, 2009 3:34 pm

Didn't fix it.
Lohoydo
 
Joined: 17 Aug 2008

Re: Premiere Pro CS3 crashing on import

Postby mirkosp » Mon Aug 10, 2009 4:01 pm

Try getting the ffmpegsource (version 1.21 will do fine, I guess) and call the video like
Code: Select all
ffmpegsource("D:\Kaleido_Star_09.mkv")

That will take a bit to load the first time you load the script since it'll make an index file. Also, it won't load the audio. If you need it, call it like this, instead
Code: Select all
ffmpegsource("D:\Kaleido_Star_09.mkv", atrack=-1)

Be warned that the audio will be indexed as pcm though, so it'll weight quite a bit.
Image
User avatar
mirkosp
MODkip
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2006
Location: Gallarate (VA), Italy
Status: (」・ワ・)」(⊃・ワ・)⊃

Re: Premiere Pro CS3 crashing on import

Postby Lohoydo » Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:42 am

OK, that didn't work, but I figured out the problem/solution
Premiere was looking for the plugins in:
C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Premiere Pro CS3\Plug-ins\en_US
as opposed to the folder where the avisynth plugin was putting them:
C:\Program Files\Adobe\Common\Plug-ins\CS3\MediaCore\

The copy I manually placed in the first directory was apparantly old (last modified in 2000), so after copying the file created by the installer to the directory Premiere wanted and updating avisynth to 2.5.8 it worked

Thanks for your time and effort,
Lohoydo
Lohoydo
 
Joined: 17 Aug 2008


Return to Adobe Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest