Adobe Premiere creates a border after video exports

Discussion and help related to Adobe video software goes here. e.x. Premiere, After Effects, Photoshop, etc.

Adobe Premiere creates a border after video exports

Postby spreet » Fri Jun 05, 2009 2:31 am

I have Adobe Premiere CS3 3.0. I have been having issues where after I export my footage there is a large black border framing the clip. It does not show this in the preview when I'm in Premiere. I have gone back in forth through different tutorials and tried process of elimination when it came to setting up the aspect ratio and frame sizes. I have no idea what I am doing wrong. Anyone know what's going on?
spreet
 
Joined: 08 Oct 2007

Re: Adobe Premiere creates a border after video exports

Postby Kariudo » Fri Jun 05, 2009 3:29 am

post your project settings and footage resolution
Image
Image
User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!

Re: Adobe Premiere creates a border after video exports

Postby spreet » Fri Jun 05, 2009 12:15 pm

Kariudo wrote:post your project settings and footage resolution


Project settings:

Editing mode: Quicktime DV/NTSC
Frame size: 720x480 4:3
Pixel Aspect ratio: D1/DV NTSC (0.9)
Display format: 30 fps drop frame timecode
Title safe area: 20% horizontal 20% vertical (<----is that the problem??)
Action safe area: 10% horizontal 10% vertical

Footage settings:
720x480 (0.9)
29.97 fps

Am I missing anything?
spreet
 
Joined: 08 Oct 2007

Re: Adobe Premiere creates a border after video exports

Postby spreet » Fri Jun 05, 2009 12:17 pm

Oh! Sorry I forgot. And the footage is .DV. I have a Mac and it won't let me import any other format.
spreet
 
Joined: 08 Oct 2007

Re: Adobe Premiere creates a border after video exports

Postby Kariudo » Fri Jun 05, 2009 2:24 pm

hmm, not seeing anything obviously wrong with those settings

the title-safe area just brings up guides in the monitor window to help you decide where to put text overlays so they can be completely displayed on TVs
Image
Image
User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!

Re: Adobe Premiere creates a border after video exports

Postby spreet » Fri Jun 05, 2009 2:34 pm

I know it's weird. I'm a youtube junkie and whenever I upload my AMV to youtube, there's a huge black border and the quality looks terrible when on the actual video file I have looks perfect in quality. Is there an alternative or does youtube just hate me? Or maybe get a new editing program? I was real excited about ditching iMovie and getting Adobe Premiere...Now it seems like it's just causing a new series of problems and headaches.
spreet
 
Joined: 08 Oct 2007

Re: Adobe Premiere creates a border after video exports

Postby spreet » Fri Jun 05, 2009 2:36 pm

I can't say YT?
spreet
 
Joined: 08 Oct 2007

Re: Adobe Premiere creates a border after video exports

Postby Kariudo » Fri Jun 05, 2009 8:45 pm

there's a word filter on YT

YT has never really been known for preserving quality (or sync for that matter) though HD and HQ uploads seem to be remarkably better

Might want to check to see if you have those borders when you play it back on your mac, that might just be the result of YT tomfoolery
Image
Image
User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!

Re: Adobe Premiere creates a border after video exports

Postby LivingFlame » Fri Jun 05, 2009 9:05 pm

I believe the tube still runs everything through their own encoder, which I think happens to be Sorenson Spark, unless they finally upgraded to Sorenson Squeeze. Either way, it may just be them botching the transcode.

If the video file has no borders on your computer, you may try feeding YT a different file format, just to see if it handles it any better.

I might suggest feeding them an h.264 file with square pixels. Run your file through HandBrake, changing the resolution to 640x480 and turning off "Keep Aspect Ratio."

It's worth a shot.
... yea ...
User avatar
LivingFlame
 
Joined: 28 May 2005
Location: Closer than you think...


Return to Adobe Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests