AE Codec problem.

Discussion and help related to Adobe video software goes here. e.x. Premiere, After Effects, Photoshop, etc.

AE Codec problem.

Postby Orestes » Sun Apr 26, 2009 4:25 am

Yeah hi.
Well I was messing with my After Effects to edit something and I tried to put some footage into AE and afterwords it said "No such AVI compressor." :? But anyways its weird because I used Lagarith and DivX codecs on my footage and from what i've learned BOTH should work in After Effects. Oh btw for what its worth i'm using Vista and After Effects 7.0.
Image
Image
User avatar
Orestes
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2008
Status: Kill the King

Re: AE Codec problem.

Postby LivingFlame » Sun Apr 26, 2009 11:30 am

DivX (and XviD for that matter) shouldn't be used with any editor, ever, and I think Adobe doesn't like Lagarith, from what I remember. I think Huffyuv should work, though. It's another lossless compression like Lagarith; the file size will just be a little bigger. I know the AMVapp comes with Huffyuv, if you don't have it.
... yea ...
User avatar
LivingFlame
 
Joined: 28 May 2005
Location: Closer than you think...

Re: AE Codec problem.

Postby Orestes » Mon Apr 27, 2009 6:02 pm

Yea thanks I know That DivX and XviD should be used just i do it sometimes for practice footage and stuff to save space.
Also I have AMVApp so i'll try out huffyuv.
Thanks Much. :book:
Image
Image
User avatar
Orestes
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2008
Status: Kill the King

Re: AE Codec problem.

Postby Orestes » Mon Apr 27, 2009 6:06 pm

Somewhitekid wrote:Yea thanks I know That DivX and XviD should'nt be used, I just use them sometimes for practice footage to save space.
Also I have AMVApp so i'll try out huffyuv.
Thanks Much. :book:


Sorry for double post can't find edit button. :shock:
But I didn't want my sentence not making sense.
Image
Image
User avatar
Orestes
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2008
Status: Kill the King

Re: AE Codec problem.

Postby Kariudo » Mon Apr 27, 2009 6:39 pm

LivingFlame wrote:.. and I think Adobe doesn't like Lagarith, from what I remember...

Lagarith works just fine win Adobe, it's WMM that doesn't get along with lagarith

on a different note:
we should add H.264 stuff to the list of things that shouldn't be edited with as well
Image
Image
User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!

Re: AE Codec problem.

Postby LivingFlame » Mon Apr 27, 2009 7:38 pm

Kariudo wrote:
LivingFlame wrote:.. and I think Adobe doesn't like Lagarith, from what I remember...

Lagarith works just fine win Adobe, it's WMM that doesn't get along with lagarith

Live and learn and all that. My copy of Premiere/AE is on Mac, so I wasn't sure. Thanks for the clarification.
... yea ...
User avatar
LivingFlame
 
Joined: 28 May 2005
Location: Closer than you think...


Return to Adobe Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest