Editing MP4 in Premiere CS3

Discussion and help related to Adobe video software goes here. e.x. Premiere, After Effects, Photoshop, etc.
RealEmotionX
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2003 9:22 am
Contact:
Org Profile

Editing MP4 in Premiere CS3

Postby RealEmotionX » Sat Apr 11, 2009 10:27 pm

Okay, I know there is a bunch on this all over the net but HONESTLY I just want to get a final opinion all in one place

I have .mp4 files, ripped by a friend from their Card Captor Sakura DVD set, the issue becomes, while editable in CS4, you are not able to edit them in CS3.

The hastle I would give my friend in ripping them in another format would be ridiculous, and Conversion would result in lower quality, and I cannot have that.

Simply is there anyway to achieve this? I hear you can with AVISYNTH or another pay for plugin. ( I can pay for a plugin, no problem )


Thanks for the help in advance

User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 11:08 pm
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: Editing MP4 in Premiere CS3

Postby Kariudo » Sat Apr 11, 2009 11:22 pm

Yes there is. Through avisynth alone or a combination of avisynth + virtualdub (or virtualdubmod) + lossless codecs.

you can get this plugin to let premiere pro import avisynth scripts.
Editing .avs files isn't the fastest way to edit, and you probably don't want to be importing entire disks at a time.

I'd vote for making an avisynth script and throwing it into vdub/mod to make lossless clips (using either lagarith or huffyuv). You want to make small clips if you use this method, because lossless = really big files

Chances are that you will need ffmpegsource for avisynth (which can be found here)

everything else can be obtained from the amvapp if you don't have it already
Image
Image

User avatar
chui101
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:52 pm
Status: whatisthisidonteven
Location: At a computer
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: Editing MP4 in Premiere CS3

Postby chui101 » Mon Apr 27, 2009 3:07 am

I believe that if you change the extension to .m4v that is how it knows to use the H264 decoder. If that fails you might be able to force it to use the MainConcept decoder by changing the extension to .mpg.
Cyber Ninja Productions - http://www.devilsbsd.net


Return to “Adobe Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests