AP+AE bridge

Discussion and help related to Adobe video software goes here. e.x. Premiere, After Effects, Photoshop, etc.

AP+AE bridge

Postby Vax » Fri Apr 03, 2009 8:57 pm

This whole thing confuses me.
I use APCS3 and AECS4. When I import my premiere file in After Effects I was expecting to see something similar to my Premiere timeline. But I didn't. Someone told me that when I import my Premiere filein After Effects it will keep all my cuts. Am I missing a step, or doing it wrong?
User avatar
Vax
Sexy black guy
 
Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Location: New York

Re: AP+AE bridge

Postby blabbler » Sat Apr 04, 2009 5:10 am

if you go file>import>import premiere project, or if you copy a sequence and paste it into an ae comp, you should keep your edits. however i never found this to be frame accurate, and it's a pain in the ass to trim everything back down.
also, any motion, fx or transitions you applied in premiere will probably be lost.

cs4 dynamic link is where it's at, but you only get it in the production premium and master collection bundles. bridge is for managing your project files, it doesn't link between ae and ppro.

another option is to export an edl (edit decision list) from premiere, and import that into ae.

best way is to work scene by scene though - render out or copy/paste the clips you need from ppro into an ae comp, do the work over there, then render out with project link enabled. bring the rendered output into your premiere timeline to replace the original clips.
Image
User avatar
blabbler
 
Joined: 09 Nov 2007
Location: Copycat_Revolver's fetid imagination

Re: AP+AE bridge

Postby Vax » Sat Apr 04, 2009 8:35 am

Image

Here's what I see. When I drag the sequence in, it gives me a big block. I thought there would be edits there.

I guess my best shot will be the edl and copy and pasting. Thanks blabb |:
User avatar
Vax
Sexy black guy
 
Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Location: New York

Re: AP+AE bridge

Postby blabbler » Sat Apr 04, 2009 2:10 pm

double click the "sequence 01" comp.

ps. lol.
Image
User avatar
blabbler
 
Joined: 09 Nov 2007
Location: Copycat_Revolver's fetid imagination

Re: AP+AE bridge

Postby Vax » Sat Apr 04, 2009 2:36 pm

:uhoh:
Fuck off mouse.
User avatar
Vax
Sexy black guy
 
Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Location: New York

Re: AP+AE bridge

Postby blabbler » Sat Apr 04, 2009 2:43 pm

=D
Image
User avatar
blabbler
 
Joined: 09 Nov 2007
Location: Copycat_Revolver's fetid imagination


Return to Adobe Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron