Adobe Premier Pro sound problem

Discussion and help related to Adobe video software goes here. e.x. Premiere, After Effects, Photoshop, etc.

Adobe Premier Pro sound problem

Postby Hedgehog661 » Mon Mar 02, 2009 7:12 am

Hi,I'm having a problem with anything I import into premier. The sound doesnt line up with the video after a certain point. If I fast forward to get to a point I want to cut the sound is still back at the beginning.

Do I have to somehow move the sound with the video or am I just messed up?

I'm using Adobe Premier Pro cs4 btw...

Any help would be great!
Hedgehog661
 
Joined: 12 Jun 2005

Re: Adobe Premier Pro sound problem

Postby Hedgehog661 » Mon Mar 02, 2009 7:56 am

it seems like it might be the file type I'm using. The sounds only messed up on like anime files (.avi mainly)

But when importing a movie ripped from a dvd (XDCAM-EX Movie, so it says) sound seems to work just fine...
Hedgehog661
 
Joined: 12 Jun 2005

Re: Adobe Premier Pro sound problem

Postby The Origonal Head Hunter » Mon Mar 02, 2009 11:13 am

It's probably a compressed audio problem. Just decompress the audio to something lossless, like .wav.
RonnieDaking wrote:i like my anime like I like my women, from japan and speaking english

Image
Boredom.
User avatar
The Origonal Head Hunter
The Propheteer
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2005
Location: State of Denial
Status: Hooked on a Feeling

Re: Adobe Premier Pro sound problem

Postby Hedgehog661 » Mon Mar 02, 2009 1:44 pm

How do I decompress the sound from the video as a wav instead?
Hedgehog661
 
Joined: 12 Jun 2005

Re: Adobe Premier Pro sound problem

Postby The Origonal Head Hunter » Mon Mar 02, 2009 3:52 pm

Well, if you're making the video to music anyway, do you even need the video audio?
RonnieDaking wrote:i like my anime like I like my women, from japan and speaking english

Image
Boredom.
User avatar
The Origonal Head Hunter
The Propheteer
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2005
Location: State of Denial
Status: Hooked on a Feeling

Re: Adobe Premier Pro sound problem

Postby Hedgehog661 » Mon Mar 02, 2009 4:03 pm

Yeah... I guess not lol, it was just bugging me.

But I did try exporting the audio from the episode to soundbooth which created a wav version of it then brought that into the file and it worked perfectly, thanks for the idea.
Hedgehog661
 
Joined: 12 Jun 2005

Re: Adobe Premier Pro sound problem

Postby Hedgehog661 » Mon Mar 02, 2009 4:08 pm

One last question though, is there a good program for taking .vob episode rips and converting them to a good format for using in premiere?
Hedgehog661
 
Joined: 12 Jun 2005

Re: Adobe Premier Pro sound problem

Postby LivingFlame » Mon Mar 02, 2009 6:01 pm

Are you on PC or Mac? Premiere is an ambiguous program like that. =\

For PC, you can pull the usual VOB > DGIndex > AviSynth > VDM > lossless .avi files as explained in the AMVapp Beta guide. (It's easier than you probably think it is right now. In the guide, skip down to the "Getting your Video" section.)

On Mac, you can try to transcode the VOB to DV format using FFMpegX. (Someone's gonna come in here and say something about the fact that DV is lossy by nature, and I know that; however, the loss is very negligible and NLEs happen to like DV format. Add to that the fact that Premiere on Mac isn't very fond of Huffyuv and Uncompressed is just ungodly huge, and DV seems to be a fairly logical choice in this case.)
... yea ...
User avatar
LivingFlame
 
Joined: 28 May 2005
Location: Closer than you think...

Re: Adobe Premier Pro sound problem

Postby The Origonal Head Hunter » Mon Mar 02, 2009 7:17 pm

LivingFlame wrote:For PC, you can pull the usual VOB > DGIndex > AviSynth > VDM > lossless .avi files as explained in the AMVapp Beta guide.

Actually, if you get the AMVApp, I'd recommend skipping VDM and lossless steps, and just editing with AviSynth directly.
RonnieDaking wrote:i like my anime like I like my women, from japan and speaking english

Image
Boredom.
User avatar
The Origonal Head Hunter
The Propheteer
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2005
Location: State of Denial
Status: Hooked on a Feeling

Re: Adobe Premier Pro sound problem

Postby Hedgehog661 » Mon Mar 02, 2009 9:59 pm

Thanks guys im trying this now, just finished running my episodes through DGIndex now I'm gonna put em in AVIsynth, so far all good
Hedgehog661
 
Joined: 12 Jun 2005

Re: Adobe Premier Pro sound problem

Postby LivingFlame » Mon Mar 02, 2009 10:17 pm

The Origonal Head Hunter wrote:
LivingFlame wrote:For PC, you can pull the usual VOB > DGIndex > AviSynth > VDM > lossless .avi files as explained in the AMVapp Beta guide.

Actually, if you get the AMVApp, I'd recommend skipping VDM and lossless steps, and just editing with AviSynth directly.

Good point. My copy of Premiere is on my Mac, so I forgot that Premiere can directly edit AviSynth scripts. So yea, do what The Origonal Head Hunter said.
... yea ...
User avatar
LivingFlame
 
Joined: 28 May 2005
Location: Closer than you think...

Re: Adobe Premier Pro sound problem

Postby Hedgehog661 » Mon Mar 02, 2009 10:27 pm

How do I open my .d2v files with VirtualDub?
Hedgehog661
 
Joined: 12 Jun 2005

Re: Adobe Premier Pro sound problem

Postby The Origonal Head Hunter » Mon Mar 02, 2009 10:39 pm

You don't need to. Just open the avisynth script that got created when you made the d2v (will be in the same location as the d2v) and where you see

Code: Select all
MPEGSource("")


Enter the full file path to the d2v in the "". Then just open the avisynth file in Premiere.
RonnieDaking wrote:i like my anime like I like my women, from japan and speaking english

Image
Boredom.
User avatar
The Origonal Head Hunter
The Propheteer
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2005
Location: State of Denial
Status: Hooked on a Feeling

Re: Adobe Premier Pro sound problem

Postby Hedgehog661 » Mon Mar 02, 2009 10:57 pm

a script didnt get created though... just 2 .ac3 files and a .d2v
Hedgehog661
 
Joined: 12 Jun 2005

Re: Adobe Premier Pro sound problem

Postby LivingFlame » Tue Mar 03, 2009 12:22 am

Just make a script yourself then. You should be able to right click in some empty space and say "New" > "AviSynth Script." Then, open the script in Notepad and just use the MPEG2Source command.
Code: Select all
MPEG2Source("File path.d2v")
... yea ...
User avatar
LivingFlame
 
Joined: 28 May 2005
Location: Closer than you think...

Next

Return to Adobe Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests