Premeir vs After Effects

Discussion and help related to Adobe video software goes here. e.x. Premiere, After Effects, Photoshop, etc.
SS4Gojetanks
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2008 9:16 pm
Contact:
Org Profile

Premeir vs After Effects

Postby SS4Gojetanks » Wed Feb 25, 2009 10:53 pm

Currently, I use sony vegas 7.0 and have been for over a year, but animations in 3d seem pretty limited. A friend of mine suggested trying some of the Adobe software. So for a complete newcommer into the adobe world, what are the differences between after effects and adobe premeir.

My Idea: I have no clue whether this actually right or not :P
From what I have gathered (without any research whatsoever), it seems like After Effects is "better", as in it has more possiblilities for 3D and premeir is just like sony vegas with different interface.

User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 11:08 pm
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: Premeir vs After Effects

Postby Kariudo » Wed Feb 25, 2009 11:27 pm

Premiere is an editing program whereas After Effects is a motion graphics/compositing program.

AE is better for doing digital effects...but it can't compare to premiere for run of the mill editing.

It sounds like AE is what you're after, but you'll still be doing your editing in vegas. (You can edit in AE, but it is pretty akward and it's a pain to try to sync to audio in AE)
Image
Image

SS4Gojetanks
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2008 9:16 pm
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: Premeir vs After Effects

Postby SS4Gojetanks » Thu Feb 26, 2009 8:56 pm

ooh, thanks that helped alot :D

Is all Adobe Software "linked" ?
I was reading on the Adobe website you can import illustrator and photoshop stuff.

For example:
I start editing in Premeir Pro.... cut a clip... ctrl + c... go to after effects, ctrl + v... will the clip appear in AE?

User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 11:08 pm
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: Premeir vs After Effects

Postby Kariudo » Thu Feb 26, 2009 9:43 pm

I think you're supposed to be able to do that. I know that I can ctrl+c in AE 6.5 and ctrl+v into premiere pro 1.5...but I haven't really done any extensive work between the two.

Someone please correct me if I'm wrong, but I think only similar versions are linked (ie Premiere CS3 + AE CS3, but not premiere 5 and AE CS3)
Image
Image

User avatar
The Origonal Head Hunter
The Propheteer
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 12:21 am
Status: Hooked on a Feeling
Location: State of Denial
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: Premeir vs After Effects

Postby The Origonal Head Hunter » Thu Feb 26, 2009 10:07 pm

I think the bridge is only included if you buy the entire CS.
RonnieDaking wrote:i like my anime like I like my women, from japan and speaking english

Image
Boredom.

User avatar
Falconone
get the Punch
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2004 11:38 am
Status: the Time of AMVs ends... or not?
Location: Passau, Germany
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: Premeir vs After Effects

Postby Falconone » Fri Feb 27, 2009 7:55 am

but you can save your Premiere project and improt it into AE and work there
Image

User avatar
chui101
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:52 pm
Status: whatisthisidonteven
Location: At a computer
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: Premeir vs After Effects

Postby chui101 » Sun Mar 22, 2009 12:44 pm

You can import and export across programs, but if you have the Master Collection or Production Premium installed you can do what's called Dynamic Linking, where you can have an AE comp inside your PPro sequence, and if you update your AE comp the PPro sequence will automatically update to reflect those changes.

If Dynamic Link is enabled, you can context-click a clip in PPro and have it convert to an AE sequence, which takes that portion of the source footage and automatically sets up a new comp in AE, and automatically sets up a dynamically linked clip in your PPro timeline.

It's pretty nifty, and greatly speeds along your SFX workflow.
Cyber Ninja Productions - http://www.devilsbsd.net


Return to “Adobe Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest