Premiere problem

Discussion and help related to Adobe video software goes here. e.x. Premiere, After Effects, Photoshop, etc.

Premiere problem

Postby Vax » Fri Feb 20, 2009 7:45 pm

Alright, well. When I cut a clip on my timeline it brings down the whole track horizontally. Anyway to get rid of it?

A bad example:
What I do:
ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOP

What I get:
ABCDEGHIJKLMNOP

What I want:
ABCDE GHIJKLMNOP


This makes it impossible to go back and re-do stuff D:
User avatar
Vax
Sexy black guy
 
Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Location: New York

Re: Premiere problem

Postby Vax » Fri Feb 20, 2009 7:46 pm

Wow barely see-able.
The F is supposed to be strikedout. In other words, cut.
User avatar
Vax
Sexy black guy
 
Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Location: New York

Re: Premiere problem

Postby GloryQuestor » Fri Feb 20, 2009 8:04 pm

You have to use "Clear" instead of "Delete and Close Gap" in the right-click menu. That will take out the middle clip without moving the timeline.
( :| Serious Business Studios :| )
Website Administrator, AnimeMusicVideos.Org
Pittsburgh Japanese Culture Society Events - AMV Department Head
Anime Weekend Atlanta - Video Art Track Department Supervisor
Another Anime Convention - Fan-Works Theater Staff
ImageImage
User avatar
GloryQuestor
Moderation Hero
 
Joined: 13 Apr 2004
Location: Cane Ridge, TN
Status: Moved to a new town, looking around.

Re: Premiere problem

Postby Vax » Fri Feb 20, 2009 8:52 pm

AH!
I forgot to mention, It happens also when I decrease the size of the clip and move it. If i move a clip to a new track, the current track it's on moves to that track as well. Anyway around that?


Random premiere elements 7 question. Anyway to control which track the text goes on when you select it?
User avatar
Vax
Sexy black guy
 
Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Location: New York

Re: Premiere problem

Postby GloryQuestor » Sat Feb 21, 2009 1:04 am

Placing the clip you want to change on a completely blank video timeline shouldn't change the other video timelines, so try that first. If that still moves your other timelines, then the the best way around it is to first confirm the amount of time your new clip needs to run. Then, right-click, select "Time Stretch...", and then set the clip time in the window that pops up to your new clip time. The Time Stretch right-click function doesn't move the rest of the timelime when you shrink or grow the clips.

As to Titles, when you create a title, it will always use the next available unused video track at the point on your timeline the slider rests. So, if you click the Add Title button and your slider is at a point with 3 full video lines, the Title will add to the 4th. There is no way to change that, as far as I know.
( :| Serious Business Studios :| )
Website Administrator, AnimeMusicVideos.Org
Pittsburgh Japanese Culture Society Events - AMV Department Head
Anime Weekend Atlanta - Video Art Track Department Supervisor
Another Anime Convention - Fan-Works Theater Staff
ImageImage
User avatar
GloryQuestor
Moderation Hero
 
Joined: 13 Apr 2004
Location: Cane Ridge, TN
Status: Moved to a new town, looking around.


Return to Adobe Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest