Cross Dissolve causes Aspect ratio change?

Discussion and help related to Adobe video software goes here. e.x. Premiere, After Effects, Photoshop, etc.

Cross Dissolve causes Aspect ratio change?

Postby MajinZero » Sat Feb 03, 2007 10:32 pm

There's an odd visual change in the aspect ratio of portions of my clips where a cross dissolve is involved (it shortens the width where the dissolve is applied, widens to its normal ratio when there is no dissolve). Any idea how to fix this?
User avatar
MajinZero
 
Joined: 08 Feb 2002

Postby Up In Flamez » Sat Feb 03, 2007 11:06 pm

so you see your video being distorted, and is there black next to it?

also screenshot please
Up In Flamez
 
Joined: 30 Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles

Postby MajinZero » Sun Feb 04, 2007 2:54 am

Screenshots of my vid loaded onto Virtualdub:

Fade In:
Image

Normal:
Image

(no dissolve/transition in place)

The second shot is at the ratio it should be at.
User avatar
MajinZero
 
Joined: 08 Feb 2002

Postby MajinZero » Wed Feb 07, 2007 4:43 am

*bump for great justice*

Apologies for the impatience, but this is perhaps the last technical bump in the road I need to overcome before I finish my amv in time for contest entry. Any further help on this matter would be greatly appreciated. :)
User avatar
MajinZero
 
Joined: 08 Feb 2002

Postby Purge » Wed Feb 07, 2007 8:24 am

does it do that in the preview window?


i have no idea why that would happen but maybe you can instead use two vid tracks and overlap the video clips and keyframe the opacity to simulate a fade effect if you dont find whats wrong.
User avatar
Purge
 
Joined: 10 Oct 2005
Location: Under Aus

Postby Minion » Wed Feb 07, 2007 2:33 pm

could you upload a small clip of your cross disolve? this is pretty weird :/
KioAtWork: I'm so bored. I don't have class again for another half hour.
Minion: masturbate into someones desk and giggle about it for the remaining 28 minutes
User avatar
Minion
 
Joined: 22 May 2004
Location: orlando

Postby MajinZero » Wed Feb 07, 2007 3:15 pm

Purge wrote:does it do that in the preview window?


i have no idea why that would happen but maybe you can instead use two vid tracks and overlap the video clips and keyframe the opacity to simulate a fade effect if you dont find whats wrong.


That's what puzzles me further. It doesn't occur within the preview window. Only the export.

could you upload a small clip of your cross disolve? this is pretty weird :/


I've got a clip temporarily uploaded on my comcast account. I'll send you a d/l link via private message.
User avatar
MajinZero
 
Joined: 08 Feb 2002

Postby Minion » Thu Feb 08, 2007 1:47 am

i looked at it. wow. i've no fucking clue. thats a pretty strange problem.
try using the opacity rubber bands instead of cross disolve. it gives you better control anyways.
KioAtWork: I'm so bored. I don't have class again for another half hour.
Minion: masturbate into someones desk and giggle about it for the remaining 28 minutes
User avatar
Minion
 
Joined: 22 May 2004
Location: orlando


Return to Adobe Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests