Premiere Exporting Problems

Discussion and help related to Adobe video software goes here. e.x. Premiere, After Effects, Photoshop, etc.

Premiere Exporting Problems

Postby Parrot Lover » Thu Dec 28, 2006 9:01 am

(Sigh) My copy of Premiere Elements really hates me. I can do everything except Exporting. The instant I click on ANY of the exporting options, BAM. The whole program shuts down. It doesn't save, or even OFFER to save, it just shuts down. For what it's worth, the clips I was using were AVI's, and I know that that's not good, but I was too lazy to fix that.
So...Er...What the heck is up with it?! Any help would be much appreciated, and thanks in advance.
Parrot Lover
 
Joined: 03 Aug 2005

Postby Kariudo » Thu Dec 28, 2006 3:00 pm

avi doesn't tell us much of anything...since it is a container (not a format) there can be many codecs that can produce avi files.

get gspot from the pic in my sig, drop your video files into it and post what codec it says (codec and name...or just the name)

if it's divx or xvid...that's your problem. You should recompress your footage using a lossless codec such as lagarith or huffyuv
in that case, read this followed by this
ImageImage
Image
User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!

Postby Parrot Lover » Thu Dec 28, 2006 5:21 pm

Well, I'm not sure if the codec's the problem. It was working fine before, then suddenly decided it didn't want to export. I tried Google, but it didn't work out too well. Maybe I just used the wrong words or something...
Well, thanks for your help.
Parrot Lover
 
Joined: 03 Aug 2005

Postby BasharOfTheAges » Thu Dec 28, 2006 11:52 pm

Parrot Lover wrote:Well, I'm not sure if the codec's the problem. It was working fine before, then suddenly decided it didn't want to export.


Yes, editing in lossy codes sometimes works... then it decides not to and you're screwed.
Another Anime Convention AMV Contest Coordinator 2008-2014 & Head of the AAC Fan-works Theater - follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/AACFanTheater
:sorcerer: :sorcerer: |RD: "Oh, Action!" (side-by-side) | |
User avatar
BasharOfTheAges
Just zis guy, you know?
 
Joined: 14 Sep 2004
Location: Merrimack, NH
Status: Extreeeeeeeeeme

Postby Parrot Lover » Fri Dec 29, 2006 10:41 am

Well, I tried it again and it actually WORKED this time. I hope it stays that way. (Note to self: Next time try different Codec).
Anyway, thanks for helping me.
Parrot Lover
 
Joined: 03 Aug 2005

Postby Douggie » Sun Dec 31, 2006 10:22 am

I also had this problem one time and once I cleared space in my C-drive (Windows-drive) I could export with no problem, so it could be temporary files that bothered the proces...
User avatar
Douggie
CHEESECAKE!
 
Joined: 19 Mar 2006


Return to Adobe Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests