Premiere Pro Memory Issue

Discussion and help related to Adobe video software goes here. e.x. Premiere, After Effects, Photoshop, etc.

Premiere Pro Memory Issue

Postby Ultimatetransfan » Sun Aug 14, 2011 4:19 am

I've never gotten this message in all my years of using Premiere, but all of a sudden, working on this project, it happens constantly.

I'll be working on my timeline, and randomly be told "Premiere is running low on memory. Save your project and proceed cautiously." or something to that effect.

I've had much bigger projects in the past, using the same version of the program. The footage is all relatively small, averaging between 2 and 26 mb, with the notable exceptions being 200mb at the max. The footage is all standard def, Xvid.

I've also had Premiere complain when I try to import some footage, saying "Premiere does not have enough memory to perform this action", or a similar message.

I have no idea what is causing all of this, or what I can change to fix it.

If anyone has any ideas, I'd appreciate it a lot.
Image

Super Smash Bros Brawl: Wii Friend Code: 4682-8199-4711
User avatar
Ultimatetransfan
 
Joined: 14 Jul 2003
Location: Thornhill Ontario

Re: Premiere Pro Memory Issue

Postby Pwolf » Fri Aug 19, 2011 1:04 am

Two things... 1) how much ram do you have in your computer and 2) don't edit with xvid files. Convert them to lossless.
ImageImage
ImageImage
Like the AMV .Org App? Think about donating to help me make it better.
User avatar
Pwolf
Friendly Neighborhood Pwaffle
 
Joined: 03 May 2001
Location: Some where in California, I forgot :\

Re: Premiere Pro Memory Issue

Postby Ultimatetransfan » Sat Aug 20, 2011 9:23 pm

Pwolf wrote:Two things... 1) how much ram do you have in your computer and 2) don't edit with xvid files. Convert them to lossless.


Unfortunately, I just don't have the space to work only with lossless/uncompressed. In answer to your question, I have 4gb, but only up to 3 are recognized.
I also think I figured out what the issue was. Since I was using compressed video, it looks like I gave the clips a much higher bit rate than I should have. In the end, I was using more than double what was needed. So even though my clips were fairly small in filesize, they were overly taxing on my machine.

Does that sound about right?
Image

Super Smash Bros Brawl: Wii Friend Code: 4682-8199-4711
User avatar
Ultimatetransfan
 
Joined: 14 Jul 2003
Location: Thornhill Ontario


Return to Adobe Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron