Another n00bish question...

This forum is for questions and discussion of all the aspects of handling and cleaning up your footage with Avisynth.
User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 11:08 pm
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Kariudo » Tue Dec 05, 2006 7:58 pm

out of curiosity...what version of AviSynth comes with the amvapp?
DGdecode only works with avisynth 2.5+
...that might be the problem.

to find out what version you have, open up notepad and put the line
version()
as the only thing in your script. (then save as .avs)
then open it in virtualdub(/mod)
Image
Image

User avatar
Millions Legato
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 4:08 am
Org Profile

Postby Millions Legato » Tue Dec 05, 2006 11:41 pm

According to the program, I have AVI 2.5...
If wishes and busts were clusters of nuts, we'd all have a bowl of granola.

User avatar
Millions Legato
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 4:08 am
Org Profile

Postby Millions Legato » Wed Dec 06, 2006 12:09 am

Okay..so I typed

Code: Select all

LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files\Ben's Stuff\Ben's Video\AMV Making Programs\Avisynth 2.5\plugins\DGDecode.dll")
mpeg2source("C:\Program Files\Ben's Stuff\Ben's Video\My Movies\Cowboy bebop\Episode 23.d2v")


into Notepad..now what must I do with it..keep in mind that a step by step guide will definitely be appreciated.
If wishes and busts were clusters of nuts, we'd all have a bowl of granola.

User avatar
Minion
Joined: Sat May 22, 2004 10:16 pm
Location: orlando
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Minion » Wed Dec 06, 2006 12:15 am

save as a .avs file
open that in vdub
?
profit!
KioAtWork: I'm so bored. I don't have class again for another half hour.
Minion: masturbate into someones desk and giggle about it for the remaining 28 minutes

User avatar
Millions Legato
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 4:08 am
Org Profile

Postby Millions Legato » Wed Dec 06, 2006 1:32 am

How do I save it as a .avs file?
If wishes and busts were clusters of nuts, we'd all have a bowl of granola.

User avatar
ngsilver
The Hookah Guy
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2003 1:22 pm
Status: Calm Your Miniature Colorful Horses
Location: Detroit area
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby ngsilver » Wed Dec 06, 2006 1:42 am

make sure the save as type pull down has "all files" selected in the save as dialog.

type the filename yuo want in the file name field and add ".avs" to the end.

if that doesn't work, you did something wrong.
ImageImageImage
ImageImageImage

User avatar
Gepetto
Mr. Poopy Pants
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2004 10:11 pm
Status: Bored to tears
Location: The Tokyo Settlement
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Gepetto » Wed Dec 06, 2006 5:21 am

apparently it didn't, God knows why. However that is the standard path so I figured I'd mention it. If Legato responds, "the dll isn't in that folder", then we'll have nailed the problem.
And God spoke unto the Chicken, and He said: "Thou shalt crosseth the road", and the Chicken did cross the road, and there was much rejoicing.
My DeviantART profile

User avatar
Millions Legato
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 4:08 am
Org Profile

Postby Millions Legato » Wed Dec 06, 2006 10:22 am

Ha! Jubilations! It works! Thank you toeveryone who helped me get over this roadblock.
If wishes and busts were clusters of nuts, we'd all have a bowl of granola.

User avatar
Millions Legato
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 4:08 am
Org Profile

Postby Millions Legato » Wed Dec 06, 2006 10:25 am

ah frig...spoke too soon. What I ended up loading was just a blank black frame...thats it.
If wishes and busts were clusters of nuts, we'd all have a bowl of granola.

User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 11:08 pm
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Kariudo » Wed Dec 06, 2006 10:41 am

did you try moving a few frames?
either click and drag the slider, push the next frame button or press the right arrow on your keyboard

maybe try pushing one of the two playback buttons (try the one that has an i next to it, should be the furthest button on the bottom left)
Image
Image

GForce4
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 7:02 am
Org Profile

Postby GForce4 » Fri Dec 08, 2006 12:34 am

I'm having a similar problem as well with my virtual dub unable to open my file through my scipt. I've followed the advice given on this thread and I have posted both the d2v and the AC3 file in the same folder as the avisynth script but I still am unable to open it.

My script is

Code: Select all

LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files\AviSynth 2.5\plugins\dgdecode.dll")
mpeg2source("C:\Documents and Settings\Gerardo\Desktop\New Folder\Contour.d2v")


I'm sure that I hve both the file paths and names correct as I literally just right-clicked the files and I directly copied and paste their locations and names in my script

User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 11:08 pm
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Kariudo » Fri Dec 08, 2006 12:37 am

what is the text of the error that you're seeing?
Image
Image

GForce4
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 7:02 am
Org Profile

Postby GForce4 » Fri Dec 08, 2006 2:48 am

Kariudo wrote:what is the text of the error that you're seeing?


MPEG2Source: couldn't open source file, or obsolete D2V file (C:\Documents and Settings\Gerardo\Desktop\New Folder\Contour.avs, line 2)

User avatar
Minion
Joined: Sat May 22, 2004 10:16 pm
Location: orlando
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Minion » Fri Dec 08, 2006 2:52 am

try removing the address of the file, and just have the file name. it'll still work so long as the avs file is in the same folder as the dv2.
if that doesn't work, you may be using versions of vdub and avisynth that are not compatable, or a version of dgindex not compatable with your version of avisynth
KioAtWork: I'm so bored. I don't have class again for another half hour.

Minion: masturbate into someones desk and giggle about it for the remaining 28 minutes

User avatar
Gepetto
Mr. Poopy Pants
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2004 10:11 pm
Status: Bored to tears
Location: The Tokyo Settlement
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Gepetto » Fri Dec 08, 2006 6:09 pm

another possibility (although it's a small chance) is that for some reason the d2v file was written wrong. I get that when I try making them on the background while playing WoW, so it's probably something to do with going over the top with my RAM. Try re-writing the d2v files.
And God spoke unto the Chicken, and He said: "Thou shalt crosseth the road", and the Chicken did cross the road, and there was much rejoicing.
My DeviantART profile


Return to “AviSynth Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest