x264 Install

This forum is for questions and discussion of all the aspects of handling your footage. If you have questions about capturing/ripping footage, AviSynth, or compression/encoding/converting, look here.

x264 Install

Postby DaCoolGohan » Fri Nov 24, 2006 8:57 am

I have been trying to figure out how you install x264, and I have yet to find a solution. Does anyone know of a guide for x264 install?
Image
User avatar
DaCoolGohan
 
Joined: 04 Dec 2001
Location: Loveland, Ohio
Status: my liver wrote his congressman and complained

Postby shishlik » Fri Nov 24, 2006 9:49 am

you mean how to play x264 or how to encode with it?
if you want to play x264 files just read the playback guide on this site. if you want a guide to encode you can use this:
http://aflux.deltaanime.net/Zero1/MP4/x264.html

there are some easier tools for encoding like megui. just look into the site: http://www.doom9.org/
shishlik
 
Joined: 04 Apr 2004

Postby DaCoolGohan » Fri Nov 24, 2006 10:01 am

I mean encoding it, I can play it back no issue. Yeah I tried to use megui and it was having error after error and I couldn't find a guide on how to fix it, just ones that had solutions which didn't work.
Image
User avatar
DaCoolGohan
 
Joined: 04 Dec 2001
Location: Loveland, Ohio
Status: my liver wrote his congressman and complained

Postby trythil » Fri Nov 24, 2006 1:01 pm

x264 install is very easy -- just download a binary and run it. The location doesn't really matter. The encoder is a console application, so you'll want to do this from a command prompt.

If you want to use MeGUI, it should have a dialog that allows you to specify where the x264 executable is located.
This is a block of text that can be added to posts you make. There is a 512 character limit.
trythil
is
 
Joined: 23 Jul 2002
Location: Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch

Postby DaCoolGohan » Fri Nov 24, 2006 8:47 pm

Yeah I'm no good with CLI so that may be my issue.
Image
User avatar
DaCoolGohan
 
Joined: 04 Dec 2001
Location: Loveland, Ohio
Status: my liver wrote his congressman and complained

Postby Athena » Fri Nov 24, 2006 9:24 pm

Bah. This is why I'm glad I can use D-Volution on the mac mini.
Image
User avatar
Athena
I ♥ the 80's
 
Joined: 02 Mar 2001
Location: Japan
Status: Sad Girl on Mac

Postby DaCoolGohan » Fri Nov 24, 2006 9:45 pm

Kionon wrote:Bah. This is why I'm glad I can use D-Volution on the mac mini.


So how exactly does that help my problem?
Image
User avatar
DaCoolGohan
 
Joined: 04 Dec 2001
Location: Loveland, Ohio
Status: my liver wrote his congressman and complained

Postby Athena » Sun Nov 26, 2006 1:07 am

It doesn't, unless you have a mac.

I successfully do make Mp4s on windows, but I prefer not to. In order to do so, you'll really need to just go ahead and use CLI with x264, flac encoder (or something for audio), and Mp4Box to combine them.

Alternately, you CAN use YAMB to do all of the above in a GUI, but I actually think it's LESS intuitive than the commands. I've done it successfully though, and it does allow you to do crazy things like put in multiple video tracks...
Image
User avatar
Athena
I ♥ the 80's
 
Joined: 02 Mar 2001
Location: Japan
Status: Sad Girl on Mac


Return to Footage Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests