The Bait and Switch Method problem in premiere

This forum is for video and audio help and discussion.
Up In Flamez
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2006 6:52 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Org Profile

The Bait and Switch Method problem in premiere

Postby Up In Flamez » Sun Nov 19, 2006 2:55 am

i didnt know which section to put this in, the Avisynth section or the Adobe section..so forgive me if this is the wrong section :oops:


Well this is my first time trying the bait and switch method, ive only edited with lagarith clips before. I tested this my making a short MJPEG video, and did a few effects in premiere. Then i saved it, then saved the copy of it. I moved the original MJPEG video to another folder, and then opened up the copied project. When it asked me for the clip, i directed it to my original avisynth file. All the effects/transitions/cuts are all their, except the video is way from the beginning. ( i have a bleach episode from the middle of the show, and take that out, but when i show it the avisynth file it shows the opening instead of where i cut it)

Has anyone had this problem before?

Help is greatly appreciated!

User avatar
Pwolf
Friendly Neighborhood Pwaffle
Joined: Thu May 03, 2001 4:17 pm
Location: Some where in California, I forgot :\
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Pwolf » Sun Nov 19, 2006 5:41 am

is the mjpeg a "clip" or the entire dvd?

Pwolf
ImageImage
ImageImage
Like the AMV .Org App? Think about donating to help me make it better.

User avatar
Purge
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 9:18 am
Location: Under Aus
Org Profile

Postby Purge » Sun Nov 19, 2006 9:53 am

what version premiere?
In pro you can easily "unlnk media", "link media" to bait and switch.

are you sure the replaced footage is exactly the same in terms of time length and such as the original?

Up In Flamez
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2006 6:52 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Org Profile

Postby Up In Flamez » Sun Nov 19, 2006 1:01 pm

Pwolf, its just a clip, should i be converting a whole episode to MJPEG?

Purge, i am using premiere 6.5

User avatar
Melanchthon
Joined: Thu Sep 02, 2004 11:12 am
Org Profile

Postby Melanchthon » Sun Nov 19, 2006 4:51 pm

I'm guessing that your AviSynth script returns the whole episode. In that case, frames 0-250 of the mjpeg will be frames from the middle of the episode, and frames 0-250 of the AviSynth script will be frames from the beginning of the episode. The mjpeg needs to return the same number of frames as the AviSynth script for the bait and switch method to work.

Up In Flamez
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2006 6:52 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Org Profile

Postby Up In Flamez » Mon Nov 20, 2006 12:15 am

alright, thx i get it now, so i have to encode an entire episode? man that sucks...oh well thx for all your help guys.

also another kind of off topic thing, how do u get the waveform and the rubberband to show up at the same time? i cant figure out how to do it.

User avatar
Krisqo
Cooking Oil
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2003 1:22 pm
Status: W.O.A (Waiting on Aion)
Location: Moderating the Adobe Forums
Org Profile

Postby Krisqo » Mon Nov 20, 2006 12:24 am

Are you talking about the rubber bands in the audio? Just expand the audio track to show the waveform and the rubberbands are in the middle.
Image

Up In Flamez
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2006 6:52 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Org Profile

Postby Up In Flamez » Mon Nov 20, 2006 1:08 am

no i mean, i want the rubberband AND the waveform to be shown

like this, in the first picture, both the waveform and the rubberband is shown
http://www.animemusicvideos.org/guides/ ... ierea.html

User avatar
Krisqo
Cooking Oil
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2003 1:22 pm
Status: W.O.A (Waiting on Aion)
Location: Moderating the Adobe Forums
Org Profile

Postby Krisqo » Mon Nov 20, 2006 1:48 am

Image

Up In Flamez
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2006 6:52 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Org Profile

Postby Up In Flamez » Mon Nov 20, 2006 2:29 am

thx for the video, i assume you made it yourself, only one thing, when you expanded the audio track options, both your waveform and your rubberband are selected, mine is just like this :
Image

i only have the option of either rubberband or waveform, i cant have both

User avatar
Pwolf
Friendly Neighborhood Pwaffle
Joined: Thu May 03, 2001 4:17 pm
Location: Some where in California, I forgot :\
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Pwolf » Mon Nov 20, 2006 3:04 am

older revisions of premiere 6.5 don't have that feature. it only lets you switch between waveform and rubberbands, i know mine doesn't. That or i haven't figured out how to get it to work.


Pwolf
ImageImage
ImageImage
Like the AMV .Org App? Think about donating to help me make it better.

Up In Flamez
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2006 6:52 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Org Profile

Postby Up In Flamez » Mon Nov 20, 2006 3:13 am

hmm i dont think its that it doesnt have it, i mean in Read ErMaC & AbsoluteDestiny's Friendly AMV Guides, the audio section is using premiere 6.0 so im pretty sure 6.5 would have it. Ive looked in the timeline window options but i cant just cant seem to get it

User avatar
Pwolf
Friendly Neighborhood Pwaffle
Joined: Thu May 03, 2001 4:17 pm
Location: Some where in California, I forgot :\
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Pwolf » Mon Nov 20, 2006 3:39 am

yea... the only reason i can think would be that the initial release of 6.5 disabled it or it's a bug that was fixed in a later revision... i dunno. my revision is r168 and I know for sure that Atomx's is a higher revision (and he has that feature).


Pwolf
ImageImage
ImageImage
Like the AMV .Org App? Think about donating to help me make it better.

Up In Flamez
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2006 6:52 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Org Profile

Postby Up In Flamez » Mon Nov 20, 2006 4:24 am

i really hope thats not the case, because i dont want to get a another premiere

User avatar
Pwolf
Friendly Neighborhood Pwaffle
Joined: Thu May 03, 2001 4:17 pm
Location: Some where in California, I forgot :\
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Pwolf » Mon Nov 20, 2006 5:51 am

uP|iN|fLaM3z wrote:i really hope thats not the case, because i dont want to get a another premiere


it's really not that big of a deal, you don't <i>need</i> it. or do you?


Pwolf
ImageImage
ImageImage
Like the AMV .Org App? Think about donating to help me make it better.


Return to “Video & Audio Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests