.MP4 files NOT working in Sony Vegas 11

If you have questions about compression/encoding/converting look here.
hbaws
Org Profile

.MP4 files NOT working in Sony Vegas 11

Post by hbaws » Sat Jun 09, 2012 8:55 am

Hey, this is my first time posting here, so sorry if I post in wrong section and what not. I hope this forum can help me, anything is appreciated :)

I wanted to begin an AMV project today, so I decided to research on how to convert .MKV files to import them into Vegas 11.
So I decided to do some research and I came along a quite helpful video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gsDndcvglrA

Read bold for summary.
Anyway, I managed to convert my .MKV files to .MP4 files removing subtitles using a program called MKVToolNix, and MP4Box. When converted to MP4, it didn't kill the quality of the video one bit so I loved it!
Until ... I tried to import it to Vegas and it immediately crashes. Upon crashing, it gives me a message "Vegas has stopped working" and gives me the option to 'send' the error or not to.
Now I'm sorta frustrated because I could import OTHER .MP4 files but not these ones, and I don't know why. I then decided to convert the .MP4 files (the ones that were originally .MKV's) to .MP4 itself but it just totally destroyed the quality.
Now I'm frustrated, and I hope to get some help. Could this be a codec problem? Anything?
Is there another way to extract subtitles off footage and make them compatible with Vegas?

Thanks in advance.

mirkosp
The Absolute Mudman
Org Profile

Re: .MP4 files NOT working in Sony Vegas 11

Post by mirkosp » Sat Jun 09, 2012 3:48 pm

Read <a href=http://www.a-m-v.org/guides/avtech31/>ErMaC & AbsoluteDestiny's Friendly AMV Guides Lovingly Overhauled Largely by Zarxrax</a>.