FFVideoSource cannot load a 10bit h264 file

This forum is for questions and discussion of all the aspects of handling your footage. If you have questions about capturing/ripping footage, AviSynth, or compression/encoding/converting, look here.
wilder
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 5:14 am
Org Profile

FFVideoSource cannot load a 10bit h264 file

Postby wilder » Tue Apr 17, 2012 5:23 am

hello
I have the latest build of ffms2
the problem is I cannot load a lossless (--preset ultrafast -q0 -I1) 10bit h264 file (in mkv container)
I can load the file using directshowsource but the problem with DSS is the number of frames is incorrect
can anybody help?

also how can I open huffyuv file in avi container? I got the file using avs2yuv but I don't know how to open/use it

and can anyone suggest what is a good lossless codec ? except y4m, it's too big that 1 file can take up to 50GB!!!!!

thanks for any help appreciated

wilder
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 5:14 am
Org Profile

Re: FFVideoSource cannot load a 10bit h264 file

Postby wilder » Tue Apr 17, 2012 6:18 am

update: I can open the file now. it's so magic

Mister Hatt
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 8:26 am
Status: better than you
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: FFVideoSource cannot load a 10bit h264 file

Postby Mister Hatt » Tue Apr 17, 2012 8:24 am

Related to your second question, the huffy output by avs2yuv is kinda broken (srsly, try avs2avi or something else instead) but usually avisource is fine in avisynth. As for lossless codecs, see UTVideo or Lagarith or FFV1 or VBLE, depending on your needs. I suppose I recommend them in that order, although if you know exactly what you're doing and how internals and some heavy video theory work, VBLE is the best option. If editing in Linux or a mac, try FFV1, or UTVideo if your app is in OSX and using QT. Y4M is just a raw YUV file with some headers (interlacing, framerate, resolution, AR) so technically not a codec as such.

User avatar
Eake4
Australian Zeus
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:15 am
Status: Doing something useless again
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: FFVideoSource cannot load a 10bit h264 file

Postby Eake4 » Wed Apr 18, 2012 5:12 am

Good lossless codec eh, I work with UTvideo Clips but when i render my video I use the Lagarith Codecs.
Image

User avatar
Cannonaire
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 5:59 pm
Status: OVERLOAD
Location: Oregon
Org Profile

Re: FFVideoSource cannot load a 10bit h264 file

Postby Cannonaire » Wed Apr 18, 2012 7:19 am

-Eake4- wrote:Good lossless codec eh, I work with UTvideo Clips but when i render my video I use the Lagarith Codecs.

I do the same thing because for some reason Vegas refuses to output anything sane when I try it with UTVideo.
Image Think millionaire, but with cannons. || Resident Maaya Sakamoto fan.


Return to “Footage Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests