Need help capturing with VirtualDub

This forum is for questions and discussion of all the aspects of handling your footage. If you have questions about capturing/ripping footage, AviSynth, or compression/encoding/converting, look here.

Need help capturing with VirtualDub

Postby KiTo~chan » Sat Mar 17, 2012 9:34 am

I just got a capture card a few months ago and VirtualDub has been working just fine for capturing from component video sources, but for some reason I just can't get it to capture composite properly. I know that all my hardware is doing it's job because the video displays properly on the VDub's preview screen, but no matter how much I play with the capture settings the captured video always looks like the pixels got spat out in random order. Can anyone tell me how to fix this?
The infamous Killer Tofu.
User avatar
KiTo~chan
 
Joined: 27 Apr 2007
Location: Limbo
Status: Catgirl

Re: Need help capturing with VirtualDub

Postby Mister Hatt » Mon Mar 19, 2012 1:27 am

Screenshots are good. It's also likely your card is outputting RCA received data differently so you might be wise to either throw us a model number or link the stats on what it outputs.
Mister Hatt
 
Joined: 25 Dec 2007
Status: better than you

Re: Need help capturing with VirtualDub

Postby KiTo~chan » Sun Mar 25, 2012 5:29 am

this was supposed to be white text on a blue background:

Image

here's my capture card http://tiny.cc/0w1pbw
The infamous Killer Tofu.
User avatar
KiTo~chan
 
Joined: 27 Apr 2007
Location: Limbo
Status: Catgirl

Re: Need help capturing with VirtualDub

Postby Mister Hatt » Mon Mar 26, 2012 12:30 am

Try updating the drivers. I was thinking maybe you had the wrong cabling in for component capture but the luma and chroma looks correct, just not the vsync. Given that you said the preview window looks fine, I would suggest that vsync is tuned to the framerate of the capture, so having that wrong will make it misinterpret the signal. I toyed around with my macbook's camera in vdub and the framerate is part of the capture menu rather than the video/source menus. Try that.
Mister Hatt
 
Joined: 25 Dec 2007
Status: better than you

Re: Need help capturing with VirtualDub

Postby KiTo~chan » Mon Mar 26, 2012 2:19 am

Thanks. I'll play with it tonight and see what I can do
The infamous Killer Tofu.
User avatar
KiTo~chan
 
Joined: 27 Apr 2007
Location: Limbo
Status: Catgirl

Re: Need help capturing with VirtualDub

Postby KiTo~chan » Mon Apr 02, 2012 12:55 am

Ok I still can't figure this out
The infamous Killer Tofu.
User avatar
KiTo~chan
 
Joined: 27 Apr 2007
Location: Limbo
Status: Catgirl

Re: Need help capturing with VirtualDub

Postby Mister Hatt » Mon Apr 02, 2012 1:39 am

More information on what the problem is? Maybe screenshot your settings? I spoke to Cannonaire on IRC a bit about this too...
Mister Hatt
 
Joined: 25 Dec 2007
Status: better than you

Re: Need help capturing with VirtualDub

Postby Cannonaire » Wed Apr 04, 2012 5:33 pm

The problem has been mostly resolved. She was able to capture the video properly with Vegas, and the audio with Virtualdub. Later on we'll try to figure out what went wrong capturing video with the latter. Thanks for your help!
Image Think millionaire, but with cannons. || Resident Maaya Sakamoto fan.
User avatar
Cannonaire
 
Joined: 05 May 2010
Location: Oregon
Status: OVERLOAD


Return to Footage Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest