I'm going to kill something... (Interlacing problem)-Solved

This forum is for questions and discussion of all the aspects of handling your footage. If you have questions about capturing/ripping footage, AviSynth, or compression/encoding/converting, look here.
User avatar
Songbird21
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2002 5:00 pm
Status: Single
Location: MA, USA
Contact:
Org Profile

I'm going to kill something... (Interlacing problem)-Solved

Postby Songbird21 » Fri May 06, 2011 1:43 am

Omg. I seriously wanna tear my hair out. This worked the last time I did it, dammit.

I'm trying to deinterlace (The damn thing is progressive footage. Premiere Elements 9 just seems to like to put in interlacing on every frickin' fade) my huffy of my FMA: Brotherhood vid so I can post the damn thing on this site. The problem is my deinterlace filters don't seem to be working. Here is the script I'm using:

AVISource("C:\Users\Wendy\Documents\Quicksilver Studios\Finished Vids\Huffys\Untitled_1.avi")
ConvertToYV12()
TFM(slow=2)
TDecimate(mode=1)


And the damn thing STILL winds up looking like this:
Image

I really wanna post this vid. If you can suggest a script change or if you happen to know how ta get PE9 to stop adding the damn interlacing please help.
Last edited by Songbird21 on Sat May 07, 2011 1:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Best editing Connecticon 2013: Bravery

Switchplate City- Custom lightswitch covers (Some anime related) and more!

"Bloodline of Atlantis: The Triple Psi" - My fantasy novel (Only $1.99 It's an Ebook).

User avatar
BasharOfTheAges
Just zis guy, you know?
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 11:32 pm
Status: Breathing
Location: Merrimack, NH
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: I'm going to kill something... (Interlacing problem)

Postby BasharOfTheAges » Fri May 06, 2011 6:22 am

Honestly, I think it's a better idea to get premiere to stop doing that instead of fixing it afterwards, especially if it's only doing it on fades.

User avatar
Scintilla
(for EXTREME)
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2003 8:47 pm
Status: Quo
Location: New Jersey
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: I'm going to kill something... (Interlacing problem)

Postby Scintilla » Fri May 06, 2011 6:31 am

If it's only happening on fades, then my first suggestion would be to make sure your project settings have the field order set to "No fields (progressive)".
ImageImage
:pizza: :pizza: Image :pizza: :pizza:

User avatar
post-it
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2002 5:21 am
Status: Hunting Tanks
Location: Chilliwack - Fishing
Org Profile

Re: I'm going to kill something... (Interlacing problem)

Postby post-it » Fri May 06, 2011 12:42 pm

umm .. just a "wild" thought here; De-Interlace "blend" won't work if
your dvd decriptor didn't do its job correctly .. do you remember
what its settings were -- by some chance?

User avatar
mirkosp
The Absolute Mudman
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 6:24 am
Status: (」・ワ・)」(⊃・ワ・)⊃
Location: Gallarate (VA), Italy
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: I'm going to kill something... (Interlacing problem)

Postby mirkosp » Fri May 06, 2011 12:47 pm

post-it wrote:umm .. just a "wild" thought here; De-Interlace "blend" won't work if
your dvd decriptor didn't do its job correctly .. do you remember
what its settings were -- by some chance?

The source is progressive, the issue is introduced by her NLE. Did you even take the time to read her post?

Anyway, I'll echo Bashar and Scintilla's posts: definitely see if you can get Premiere Elements to output progressively, if possible. If however it is limited and won't behave, I guess this is the sort of thing you could just try to fix with vinverse in avisynth.
Image

User avatar
Songbird21
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2002 5:00 pm
Status: Single
Location: MA, USA
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: I'm going to kill something... (Interlacing problem)

Postby Songbird21 » Fri May 06, 2011 1:32 pm

Scintilla wrote:If it's only happening on fades, then my first suggestion would be to make sure your project settings have the field order set to "No fields (progressive)".

I would, but PE9 doesn't let the user edit most of (Including field order) the project settings manually. :( Which pisses me off greatly.

mirkosp wrote:Anyway, I'll echo Bashar and Scintilla's posts: definitely see if you can get Premiere Elements to output progressively, if possible. If however it is limited and won't behave, I guess this is the sort of thing you could just try to fix with vinverse in avisynth.

What's vinverse?

User avatar
mirkosp
The Absolute Mudman
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 6:24 am
Status: (」・ワ・)」(⊃・ワ・)⊃
Location: Gallarate (VA), Italy
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: I'm going to kill something... (Interlacing problem)

Postby mirkosp » Fri May 06, 2011 5:08 pm

It's an avisynth filter that is meant to be used to fix leftover combs, especially in fades, hence why I think it would be somewhat appropriate in this case.
Download
Same old story: unzip and place the dll in your avisynth plugins folder (inb4 autoloading haters post about how you should be loading it manually).
Image

User avatar
Songbird21
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2002 5:00 pm
Status: Single
Location: MA, USA
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: I'm going to kill something... (Interlacing problem)

Postby Songbird21 » Fri May 06, 2011 10:36 pm

mirkosp wrote:Same old story: unzip and place the dll in your avisynth plugins folder.

Can you suggest a starting script for me try? I'm not good at working out my own scripts.

User avatar
mirkosp
The Absolute Mudman
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 6:24 am
Status: (」・ワ・)」(⊃・ワ・)⊃
Location: Gallarate (VA), Italy
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: I'm going to kill something... (Interlacing problem)

Postby mirkosp » Sat May 07, 2011 10:00 am

You just call it as vinverse() after doing IVTC (which you already are doing).
Image

User avatar
Songbird21
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2002 5:00 pm
Status: Single
Location: MA, USA
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: I'm going to kill something... (Interlacing problem)

Postby Songbird21 » Sat May 07, 2011 1:48 pm

mirkosp wrote:You just call it as vinverse() after doing IVTC (which you already are doing).

IT WORKS! OMG I LOVE YOU!!!!! Thank you so MUCH!!! *glomp*
Best editing Connecticon 2013: Bravery

Switchplate City- Custom lightswitch covers (Some anime related) and more!

"Bloodline of Atlantis: The Triple Psi" - My fantasy novel (Only $1.99 It's an Ebook).

Mister Hatt
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 8:26 am
Status: better than you
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: I'm going to kill something... (Interlacing problem)-Sol

Postby Mister Hatt » Sat May 07, 2011 9:18 pm

If it's a non-linear fade (which IIRC FMAB is, going by the 1080i .ts raws) reblend_vin is probably a better choice than vinverse, for future reference.

User avatar
mirkosp
The Absolute Mudman
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 6:24 am
Status: (」・ワ・)」(⊃・ワ・)⊃
Location: Gallarate (VA), Italy
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: I'm going to kill something... (Interlacing problem)-Sol

Postby mirkosp » Sun May 08, 2011 9:10 am

Hatt, remember that the issue is introduced by the NLE, so the fade is linear. :)
Image

Mister Hatt
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 8:26 am
Status: better than you
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: I'm going to kill something... (Interlacing problem)-Sol

Postby Mister Hatt » Mon May 09, 2011 12:30 am

You can do non-linear fades in good NLEs tho— OWAIT ADOBE WW

Mister Hatt
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 8:26 am
Status: better than you
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: I'm going to kill something... (Interlacing problem)-Sol

Postby Mister Hatt » Mon May 09, 2011 12:31 am

Also, FMAB still has its own fades that have probably been ruined by whatever processing the OP has done.

User avatar
mirkosp
The Absolute Mudman
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 6:24 am
Status: (」・ワ・)」(⊃・ワ・)⊃
Location: Gallarate (VA), Italy
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: I'm going to kill something... (Interlacing problem)-Sol

Postby mirkosp » Mon May 09, 2011 1:51 am

You can do non-linear fades in premiere, you know. But it's not so common to actually use those in my experience. I don't know about Songbird, though, but in any case, it's hardly a problem.
Image


Return to “Footage Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests