I'm going to kill something... (Interlacing problem)-Solved

This forum is for questions and discussion of all the aspects of handling your footage. If you have questions about capturing/ripping footage, AviSynth, or compression/encoding/converting, look here.

I'm going to kill something... (Interlacing problem)-Solved

Postby Songbird21 » Fri May 06, 2011 1:43 am

Omg. I seriously wanna tear my hair out. This worked the last time I did it, dammit.

I'm trying to deinterlace (The damn thing is progressive footage. Premiere Elements 9 just seems to like to put in interlacing on every frickin' fade) my huffy of my FMA: Brotherhood vid so I can post the damn thing on this site. The problem is my deinterlace filters don't seem to be working. Here is the script I'm using:

AVISource("C:\Users\Wendy\Documents\Quicksilver Studios\Finished Vids\Huffys\Untitled_1.avi")
ConvertToYV12()
TFM(slow=2)
TDecimate(mode=1)


And the damn thing STILL winds up looking like this:
Image

I really wanna post this vid. If you can suggest a script change or if you happen to know how ta get PE9 to stop adding the damn interlacing please help.
Last edited by Songbird21 on Sat May 07, 2011 1:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Best editing Connecticon 2013: Bravery

Switchplate City- Custom lightswitch covers (Some anime related), etch glassware and more!
User avatar
Songbird21
 
Joined: 18 Jun 2002
Location: MA, USA
Status: Single

Re: I'm going to kill something... (Interlacing problem)

Postby BasharOfTheAges » Fri May 06, 2011 6:22 am

Honestly, I think it's a better idea to get premiere to stop doing that instead of fixing it afterwards, especially if it's only doing it on fades.
User avatar
BasharOfTheAges
Just zis guy, you know?
 
Joined: 14 Sep 2004
Location: Merrimack, NH
Status: Extreeeeeeeeeme

Re: I'm going to kill something... (Interlacing problem)

Postby Scintilla » Fri May 06, 2011 6:31 am

If it's only happening on fades, then my first suggestion would be to make sure your project settings have the field order set to "No fields (progressive)".
ImageImage
:pizza: :pizza: Image :pizza: :pizza:
User avatar
Scintilla
(for EXTREME)
 
Joined: 31 Mar 2003
Location: New Jersey
Status: Quo

Re: I'm going to kill something... (Interlacing problem)

Postby post-it » Fri May 06, 2011 12:42 pm

umm .. just a "wild" thought here; De-Interlace "blend" won't work if
your dvd decriptor didn't do its job correctly .. do you remember
what its settings were -- by some chance?
User avatar
post-it
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2002
Status: Audio: bass remains; if else, 3D

Re: I'm going to kill something... (Interlacing problem)

Postby mirkosp » Fri May 06, 2011 12:47 pm

post-it wrote:umm .. just a "wild" thought here; De-Interlace "blend" won't work if
your dvd decriptor didn't do its job correctly .. do you remember
what its settings were -- by some chance?

The source is progressive, the issue is introduced by her NLE. Did you even take the time to read her post?

Anyway, I'll echo Bashar and Scintilla's posts: definitely see if you can get Premiere Elements to output progressively, if possible. If however it is limited and won't behave, I guess this is the sort of thing you could just try to fix with vinverse in avisynth.
Image
User avatar
mirkosp
MODkip
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2006
Location: Gallarate (VA), Italy
Status: (」・ワ・)」(⊃・ワ・)⊃

Re: I'm going to kill something... (Interlacing problem)

Postby Songbird21 » Fri May 06, 2011 1:32 pm

Scintilla wrote:If it's only happening on fades, then my first suggestion would be to make sure your project settings have the field order set to "No fields (progressive)".

I would, but PE9 doesn't let the user edit most of (Including field order) the project settings manually. :( Which pisses me off greatly.

mirkosp wrote:Anyway, I'll echo Bashar and Scintilla's posts: definitely see if you can get Premiere Elements to output progressively, if possible. If however it is limited and won't behave, I guess this is the sort of thing you could just try to fix with vinverse in avisynth.

What's vinverse?
User avatar
Songbird21
 
Joined: 18 Jun 2002
Location: MA, USA
Status: Single

Re: I'm going to kill something... (Interlacing problem)

Postby mirkosp » Fri May 06, 2011 5:08 pm

It's an avisynth filter that is meant to be used to fix leftover combs, especially in fades, hence why I think it would be somewhat appropriate in this case.
Download
Same old story: unzip and place the dll in your avisynth plugins folder (inb4 autoloading haters post about how you should be loading it manually).
Image
User avatar
mirkosp
MODkip
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2006
Location: Gallarate (VA), Italy
Status: (」・ワ・)」(⊃・ワ・)⊃

Re: I'm going to kill something... (Interlacing problem)

Postby Songbird21 » Fri May 06, 2011 10:36 pm

mirkosp wrote:Same old story: unzip and place the dll in your avisynth plugins folder.

Can you suggest a starting script for me try? I'm not good at working out my own scripts.
User avatar
Songbird21
 
Joined: 18 Jun 2002
Location: MA, USA
Status: Single

Re: I'm going to kill something... (Interlacing problem)

Postby mirkosp » Sat May 07, 2011 10:00 am

You just call it as vinverse() after doing IVTC (which you already are doing).
Image
User avatar
mirkosp
MODkip
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2006
Location: Gallarate (VA), Italy
Status: (」・ワ・)」(⊃・ワ・)⊃

Re: I'm going to kill something... (Interlacing problem)

Postby Songbird21 » Sat May 07, 2011 1:48 pm

mirkosp wrote:You just call it as vinverse() after doing IVTC (which you already are doing).

IT WORKS! OMG I LOVE YOU!!!!! Thank you so MUCH!!! *glomp*
Best editing Connecticon 2013: Bravery

Switchplate City- Custom lightswitch covers (Some anime related), etch glassware and more!
User avatar
Songbird21
 
Joined: 18 Jun 2002
Location: MA, USA
Status: Single

Re: I'm going to kill something... (Interlacing problem)-Sol

Postby Mister Hatt » Sat May 07, 2011 9:18 pm

If it's a non-linear fade (which IIRC FMAB is, going by the 1080i .ts raws) reblend_vin is probably a better choice than vinverse, for future reference.
Mister Hatt
 
Joined: 25 Dec 2007
Status: better than you

Re: I'm going to kill something... (Interlacing problem)-Sol

Postby mirkosp » Sun May 08, 2011 9:10 am

Hatt, remember that the issue is introduced by the NLE, so the fade is linear. :)
Image
User avatar
mirkosp
MODkip
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2006
Location: Gallarate (VA), Italy
Status: (」・ワ・)」(⊃・ワ・)⊃

Re: I'm going to kill something... (Interlacing problem)-Sol

Postby Mister Hatt » Mon May 09, 2011 12:30 am

You can do non-linear fades in good NLEs tho— OWAIT ADOBE WW
Mister Hatt
 
Joined: 25 Dec 2007
Status: better than you

Re: I'm going to kill something... (Interlacing problem)-Sol

Postby Mister Hatt » Mon May 09, 2011 12:31 am

Also, FMAB still has its own fades that have probably been ruined by whatever processing the OP has done.
Mister Hatt
 
Joined: 25 Dec 2007
Status: better than you

Re: I'm going to kill something... (Interlacing problem)-Sol

Postby mirkosp » Mon May 09, 2011 1:51 am

You can do non-linear fades in premiere, you know. But it's not so common to actually use those in my experience. I don't know about Songbird, though, but in any case, it's hardly a problem.
Image
User avatar
mirkosp
MODkip
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2006
Location: Gallarate (VA), Italy
Status: (」・ワ・)」(⊃・ワ・)⊃

Next

Return to Footage Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests