AMV Organizer

General discussion of Anime Music Videos
Epical Zamora
Org Profile

AMV Organizer

Post by Epical Zamora » Wed Jan 16, 2008 8:20 pm

As I do, I'm sure most of you have folders in folders in folders to properly sort your collection of AMVs. Either that, or you just keep them in one crazy jumbled mess. They're probably organized in a million different ways, constantly needing a different way to sort them.

So then I got to thinking, what if there were a program to easily organize them based on Song, Artist, Title, Editor, Genre, etc. Then throw in being able to reorganize with a single like ala Winamp or iTunes. That would be damn helpful. All you would need to do is plug in the info when you get the video and drag it in.

Now, I'm not a programmer, so I have no idea how such a thing would be made. But it doesn't sound like too difficult. It could just be a basic sorting program based on user-based information. That way, if you want to watch an action video, have it sort by genre. Want something from Air? Sort by anime. You all get the picture. Click on the desired video and it opens in the program you have set to open that filetype.

Could this be done? If so, please do. Or has it already been done and I'm just behind the times?
Image Image
Image Image Image Image

Infinity Squared
Mr. Poopy Pants
Org Profile

Post by Infinity Squared » Wed Jan 16, 2008 8:56 pm

I've often pondered writing a program that will automatically rename video files. I sort my video collection in terms of editor and video name. I get rid of all other information. These days it's not too hard to organise it because most of videos are now renamed, but it was an annoying task in the beginning when I decided to do it this way.

I haven't programmed properly 3 years though, so I've got nothing to contribute other than my yammering.

Moonie
Give me some candy!
Org Profile

Post by Moonie » Wed Jan 16, 2008 9:00 pm

There is something simliar to that.
Its not free though