General No-No for AMVs?

General discussion of Anime Music Videos
parkervn
Org Profile

General No-No for AMVs?

Post by parkervn » Sun Dec 09, 2007 12:11 am

I'm kind of new to AMVs...and I'm wondering if subtitles is a general no-no for AMVs. Like, will people hate ("hate") me for it? Thanks.

Ileia
WHAT IS PINK MAY NEVER DIE!
Org Profile

Post by Ileia » Sun Dec 09, 2007 12:22 am

It's one of the first signs of a badly made video. So even if you made a great video, if it contained subtitles a person would probably just stop the video and delete it. Same goes for Dvix logos and (not always but, usually) encoding the video in WMV.
:cupcake: :cupcake: :cupcake: :cupcake: :cupcake: :cupcake: :cupcake: :cupcake: :cupcake: :cupcake:

NS
I like pants
Org Profile

Post by NS » Sun Dec 09, 2007 12:24 am

yeh, because if you try to lip synch it's hard to focus on the lips.. I always find my eyes drifiting to the words instead of the video.

parkervn
Org Profile

Post by parkervn » Sun Dec 09, 2007 12:31 am

Thanks!

JaddziaDax
Crazy Cat Lady!
Org Profile

Post by JaddziaDax » Sun Dec 09, 2007 12:35 am

a lot of the people in the amv community watch/read subtitled anime, so it's really distracting to watch the video when you're so used to reading the subs

SarahtheBoring
Org Profile

Re: General No-No for AMVs?

Post by SarahtheBoring » Sun Dec 09, 2007 12:37 am

parkervn wrote:I'm kind of new to AMVs...and I'm wondering if subtitles is a general no-no for AMVs. Like, will people hate ("hate") me for it? Thanks.
I doubt they'll hate you, even with air quotes. Dislike your video, probably. But there are too many bad videos out there to make a fuss about just one of them, unless the maker tries really hard to get all up in people's faces ("My video is the best in the universe and I'll be back with another one tomorrow blah blah").