About Donating

BJbear2001
Org Profile

About Donating

Post by BJbear2001 » Thu Dec 19, 2013 2:19 pm

1. Please clarify the penalty that AMV incurs from Paypal donations.
IE: I didn't know what to do so I'm donating $1 via Paypal, which is not penalized according to PP, but penalized according to AMV.

2. Please clarify the pledge frequency.
IE: I didn't know what to do so I'm donating $1 per month. The PP reciept says annual while AMV says monthly; but also, common sense says monthly.

3. Please clarify an amount that is acceptable via Paypal that is also less than twelve U.S.A. dollars per month.

4. Is the recipient amvorg@hotmail.com the correct recipient.

5. I didn't find these answers in the FAQ, can someone put the info there or somewhere in plain sight?

Thanks.

Kariudo
Twilight prince
Org Profile

Re: About Donating

Post by Kariudo » Thu Dec 26, 2013 9:58 pm

*DISCLAIMER*
I was an admin, but have retired and am no longer formally part of the administration for the org. I highly doubt any of the information I'm posting is inaccurate, but it does not necessarily reflect the views of the current administration. You may want to wait for a member of the current administration to verify my information.

*/DISCLAIMER*

Paypal does charge fees for donations, at least that was the case the last time that I checked. Paypal doesn't charge a fee for certain transactions (like cost-of-living, ie. sending rent to your landlord), but donations still pay the fee. It's the standard $0.30 USD + 2.9%, which for $1 comes out to $0.33. Thus, the org would get $0.67. Donations to registered 501(c)(3) organizations incur less fees, but unless I'm mistaken, the org is not a 501(c)(3).

The monthly pledges just send out a reminder for you to make another donation via paypal. The donation system does not (at time of writing) use the "Recurring Payment" part of paypal's API.