Total newbie question about premiere pro

The old Video Software Help forum, left visible as an archive.
andyzhang2
Org Profile

Total newbie question about premiere pro

Post by andyzhang2 » Thu Oct 19, 2006 1:06 am

I've been using Movie Maker, and it seems as if premiere pro does not let you split a large video file, and only lets you trim it.

Is it at all possible to split the video like you can in movie maker to make the clips on your window more specific and managable, or do i need to use another program to split the actual file?

Also, does premiere pro have any really big problem codecs? What happens when you use these problem codecs w/ premiere pro?

CrackTheSky
has trust issues
Org Profile

Post by CrackTheSky » Thu Oct 19, 2006 1:09 am

Very few editing programs besides WMM split the clips automatically for you. You'll have to do it yourself, using VirtualDubMod. Read all about it in the EADFAG.

Also, don't use DivX or XviD-encoded clips in any editing programs, because these cause the program to become very unstable, and most likely your clips will show up black or cause the program to crash altogether.

Purge
Org Profile

Post by Purge » Thu Oct 19, 2006 4:50 am

use in and out points to select a smaller clip from large clips with premiere not the trimmer.

gypsy
Org Profile

Post by gypsy » Thu Oct 19, 2006 10:44 am

have you tried using the "cut / splice " tool ?
Cheers vir eers

andyzhang2
Org Profile

Post by andyzhang2 » Thu Oct 19, 2006 12:27 pm

well the in and out points can cut a clip down, but it won't change the clip in your media library will it? It'll only edit how long the clip plays for in the timeline. The cut/splice tool or razor or w/e it's called does the same thing i think. It just cuts the clip in your timeline, but it remains the whole clip in your media library.