crossfade question

The old Video Software Help forum, left visible as an archive.
DreamsofaCobra
Org Profile

crossfade question

Post by DreamsofaCobra » Sat Apr 05, 2003 3:58 am

First, I am a newbie. I know it, now you know it, so be gentile

I am using Premiere 6.0, and I was wondering if there is a noticeable difference between using a cross-dissolve transition, and simply using the transparency rubber band (video tracks 2 and up). I do a lot of fade in, fade-outs and mostly load clips into track 2 or 3, then use the transparency rubber band to create the cross fade, or fade in/out. Then previewing my latest video, which uses both rubber band fades and a few drag and drop cross dissolve transitions, I thought the cross dissolve transitions looked smoother than the rest of the fades. Was I hallucinating? Is there a difference? What about using the "QuickTime" effect? (Seems to me more trouble than a simple cross fade is worth). Any comments are appreciated.

burntoast
Org Profile

Post by burntoast » Sat Apr 05, 2003 10:01 pm

there might be some slight differences between the cross-dissolve and using the rubberbands, but i don't really notice any. i think the rubberbands are more convenient to use, and more control is allowed over them for complex fades.

i barely use cross-dissolve anymore. :twisted:
"The only one to deprive you of happiness is yourself."

Leanan
Org Profile

Post by Leanan » Sat Apr 05, 2003 11:56 pm

I prefer using the rubberbands over cross disolve since I can control how I want the fade to go (well for a more complex fade).

Dugan
Org Profile

Post by Dugan » Sun Apr 06, 2003 12:49 pm

Yes there is a difference between the rubberband crossfade and the cross-dissolve transition. The crossfade darkens the image while the cross-dissolve does not.

mckeed
Org Profile

Post by mckeed » Sun Apr 06, 2003 10:51 pm