Buying a new laptop for editing?

AimoAio
Being elegantly...lazy
Org Profile

Buying a new laptop for editing?

Post by AimoAio » Mon Sep 28, 2009 7:17 pm

So yeah,thought it was about time I got a new computer for editing and this time I'm looking for a laptop.I'm not really good with technical stuff..actually I'm pretty much a dunce at it so I kinda need some help when it comes to the product specs :sweat: I know about RAM and Hard Disk space and a little bit about processors but the rest are totally alien to me :?

Basically I just want to know what you guys would recommend since I have no idea where to start.I'm not looking for anything complicated,something simple would be good,however I'd like to be able run After Effects and I'm also looking to do some 3D animation work on it.

Budget wise,I only have about £300-£400 to spend(about $470-$630) although I'm willing to spend a bit more if the laptop is worth it.I know there might be PCs with better specs and cheaper too but since I'm off to university next year,a laptop would come in more handy.

Oh yeah and sorry if I sound a like total newb :oops: But truthfully speaking I am one when it comes to techy stuff like this.So I'd be eternally grateful if anyone is willing to help me out here! :D

P.S.If you're interested in knowing,my current PC specs are:

AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2600+
2.07 GHz, 448MB of RAM
111 GB of Hard Drive Space

Kariudo
Twilight prince
Org Profile

Re: Buying a new laptop for editing?

Post by Kariudo » Mon Sep 28, 2009 7:59 pm

You'll probably want to look for a laptop with a Core2Duo processor, 2 or more Gigs of ram, and a dedicated graphics card...but that'l put you about £500.

You can probably deal with integrated graphics (especially if you have 4GB of ram), in which case the price comes down to about £430
something like this

everything else is pretty much to your taste.
DDR3 is better than DDR2 but you probably wouldn't notice the difference