Building a Computer to Get Back in Business

Cambdoranononononono
Org Profile

Building a Computer to Get Back in Business

Post by Cambdoranononononono » Fri Sep 04, 2009 4:42 am

After a long break from editing after a frustrating project with my lower-level software and hardware, I'm finally trying to put together a new computer that can hopefully last for a good while and accommodate the Adobe Creative Suite. (Particularly Premiere and After Effects, which don't fit on my current computers and would murder my computers if they did.) I've never built a computer before, so I ended up using this guide to direct me to (hopefully) good components. Here are the specs:

Motherboard: ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard
Processor: Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core
RAM: Corsair XMS3 12GB (6 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Hard Drive: Western Digital Caviar Black WD1001FALS 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s
Power: Corsair CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7
Casing: COOLER MASTER Centurion 534 RC-534-KKN2-GP Black Aluminum & Mesh bezel / SECC Chassis ATX Mid Tower
Video card: PNY VCQFX1800-PCIE-PB Quadro FX1800 768MB 192-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 Workstation
Disk Drive: Pioneer BDR-203 Blu-ray Disc/DVD/CD Writer

I'd be running 64-bit Vista on this. (The site that designed this build has a whole explanation on why it's now recommending Vista at 64 bits as opposed to XP or something.) Since I know so little about all this, I thought I'd check it with more experienced AMV makers. Do the general system specs look okay here? Do things (video card, burner) look like too much? I'm looking to go a bit overboard to prolong the usefulness of the computer, and I'm also planning to do some light gaming.

There are also a few specific components not listed on the site that I'm trying to research: