it's my first time...........................[buliding a pc]

RonnieDaking
Org Profile

it's my first time...........................[buliding a pc]

Post by RonnieDaking » Thu May 28, 2009 4:55 pm

i'm planing to replace my crappy DELL OptiPlex 330 with a afordably pc i'm planing to bulid. So i'l like to know is it easy to bulid a pc or not, also is this setup any good for very basic video gaming and video editing?

ASRock N68-S AM2+/AM2 NVIDIA GeForce 7025 Micro ATX AMD Motherboard -$48

Rosewill R101-P-BK 120mm Fan MicroATX Mid Tower Computer Case-$25

MD Sempron LE-1250 Sparta 2.2GHz 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM2 45W Single-Core Processor-$30

Broadway Com Corp OKIA-500-RB 500W ATX 12V V2.2 Power Supply-$15

ITACHI Deskstar 7K160 HDS721680PLA380 (0A32727) 80GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive-$33

PS. I also have spare ram and dvd drives at home.

Kariudo
Twilight prince
Org Profile

Re: it's my first time...........................[buliding a pc]

Post by Kariudo » Thu May 28, 2009 6:09 pm

That's a pretty light machine, dunno how it would fare in editing (should do just fine...though encoding/transcoding will be sluggish) but it would not be good for gaming unless you're planning on playing old stuff like simCity.

If you want to play fps games like F.E.A.R., Gears of War, Crysis, etc... you'll want a graphics card

I'd change out the power supply you have there at the very least. Cheap power supplies are the bane of many a system.

Hard drive is a bit skimpy, given the restrictions of your mATX case I'd go for a larger one (price per GB drops as capacity increases).

You should make sure that your ram is ddr2 if you plan to reuse it in your new system...but even if it isn't, ddr2 is dirt cheap right now

here's what I'd go for:
Foxconn A78AX-S $50 after rebate
Athlon64 X2 5000 $53
Corsair 400W psu $40 after rebate
Rosewill R220-P-BK ($25, mid tower...more room)