Build assistance

This forum is for help with and discussion about your video hardware.

Postby Willen » Sun Sep 28, 2008 8:35 am

Having trouble playing back videos? I recommend: Image
User avatar
Willen
Now in Hi-Def!
 
Joined: 10 Jul 2005
Location: SOS-Dan HQ
Status: Melancholy

Postby Krisqo » Sun Oct 05, 2008 9:17 pm

After some thought, I've decided on this build (getting HDD and Optical from Best Buy after I get my next paycheck.

Acer AL2216Wbd Black 22" 5ms Widescreen LCD Monitor with HDCP support

-$25.00 Instant
$219.99
$194.99

CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply

-$50.00 Instant
$20.00 Mail-in Rebate
$179.99
$129.99


EVGA 132-CK-NF78-A1 LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 780i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard

$30.00 Mail-in Rebate
$219.99

EVGA 896-P3-1260-AR GeForce GTX 260 896MB 448-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card

-$30.00 Instant
$40.00 Mail-in Rebate
$299.99
$269.99

CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model TWIN2X2048-6400C4

$30.00 Mail-in Rebate
$109.98


Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP3 English 1 Pack for System Builders w/multiple CD
$149.99

Thermaltake Armor Series VA8003BWS Black Full Tower Case w/ 25CM Fan
$169.99


Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16GHz LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor Model BX80570E8500
$189.99

Grand Total: $1,434.91
Image
User avatar
Krisqo
Cooking Oil
 
Joined: 07 Jul 2003
Location: Moderating the Adobe Forums
Status: W.O.A (Waiting on Aion)

Postby Krisqo » Fri Oct 10, 2008 5:38 am

Okay got another question. I just tried hooking this bastard up and everything works except when I plug in the Graphics Card. Now I have to double check the insertion since it's a true pain in the ass to put it in. But are you guys sure the PSU is powerful enough to run it?
Image
User avatar
Krisqo
Cooking Oil
 
Joined: 07 Jul 2003
Location: Moderating the Adobe Forums
Status: W.O.A (Waiting on Aion)

Postby kenzuka » Fri Oct 10, 2008 11:19 am

Your power supply is more than enough for your configuration.


Since it seems like the problem comes from the GC, you can try:
- checking if your card is well plugged and no hardware interfere with the connection.
- Have you connected all the power plug on the MB and/or the GC?
- have you connected all your component with the same 12V channel (do not know the real name in english, sorry; there are more than one on a PS)? Try using more than one to balance your PS.

If this doesn't work, try putting your GC in another computer. If it doesn't work, well, go exchange your card to your retailer... It is possible to buy a card which doesn't work. I had the problem on a MB last year, so don't exclude that.
Image
User avatar
kenzuka
 
Joined: 01 Dec 2006
Location: France

Postby Krisqo » Fri Oct 10, 2008 11:44 am

Yep and low and behold it turned out that we missed a simple 8 pin connector during our build last night.

Let this be a lesson kiddies, do not try to put a computer together when you are 1) tired and 2) trying to continue when you are frustrated to the point where you are gonna toss the damn thing out the window.

I still think I shorted out the Optical drive :oops: but it booted and loaded up Windows... even though I didn't install the OEM yet.
Image
User avatar
Krisqo
Cooking Oil
 
Joined: 07 Jul 2003
Location: Moderating the Adobe Forums
Status: W.O.A (Waiting on Aion)

Postby Krisqo » Sun Oct 12, 2008 6:47 pm

Now we have another problem. I got everything working and I tidied up the wires and such. But when I tried turning it on again, the fans and LEDs turn on for a second and then shut off. The MoBo lights are still on but the thing won't power up. What did I do? I just unplugged everything and will try plugging it back together tomorrow, but I have no Idea what caused this. Any Ideas?
Image
User avatar
Krisqo
Cooking Oil
 
Joined: 07 Jul 2003
Location: Moderating the Adobe Forums
Status: W.O.A (Waiting on Aion)

Postby Chez » Sun Oct 12, 2008 7:22 pm

could be a overheating issue did you make sure you installed the HSF properly and put on some thermal compound (if you bought a hsf if stock should have some on it already)
Image I stream and stuff o.o
User avatar
Chez
Not Mexican
 
Joined: 30 May 2008
Location: Texas
Status: Who am I?

Postby Krisqo » Sun Oct 12, 2008 9:49 pm

Yeah covered the whole processor. And I'm sure it's not overheating since the longest I've run the thing is about 2 mins.

Though I did just have a nice scare. The jacks for the onboard mic and headphone connectors are on the very bottom of my case and the wire barely reached after maneuvering around my brick of a Graphics Card. But I read online that there might be a PSU problem. Luckily I have a spare one on hand (430watts) and I plugged that in. It tried to start but began revving like a car and then out of the blue I smelled burning rubber and some smoke coming from the audio jacks so I killed the power and pulled them out. Tried it again and all worked well. Put the 750watt back in and it boots again like new. (Still wondering where the OS came from, though. )

Could that wire shorting have prevented my machine from starting up since the revving never happened with the new PSU.
Image
User avatar
Krisqo
Cooking Oil
 
Joined: 07 Jul 2003
Location: Moderating the Adobe Forums
Status: W.O.A (Waiting on Aion)

Postby Kariudo » Sun Oct 12, 2008 10:15 pm

a modern processor can overheat in under 10 seconds if it isn't properly cooled
(and amd Durons could actually explode if you took the heatsink+fan off, n00btube exploding duron for proof)
try reseating your cpu's heatsink+fan

no idea about the other stuff though...
ImageImage
Image
User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!

Postby Joe88 » Mon Oct 13, 2008 1:40 am

Krisqo wrote:
Could that wire shorting have prevented my machine from starting up since the revving never happened with the new PSU.

very possible

any other piece of metal touching the case which also receive the short, cd drives, hard drives, psu's ect...
Image
Image
User avatar
Joe88
 
Joined: 12 Feb 2006
Location: NYC

Postby Krisqo » Mon Oct 13, 2008 9:47 am

Well I sat on it and booted this morning and it works wonders. Still boots to an unknown copy of windows XP but kept it on for a few minutes and no problems so I think the wire just shorted. Oh well. Was planning on getting a dedicated audio card anyway.
Image
User avatar
Krisqo
Cooking Oil
 
Joined: 07 Jul 2003
Location: Moderating the Adobe Forums
Status: W.O.A (Waiting on Aion)

Previous

Return to Video Hardware Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest