Simple tech External Hard drive problem

This forum is for help with and discussion about your computer hardware.
User avatar
LivingFlame
Joined: Sat May 28, 2005 4:41 pm
Location: Closer than you think...
Org Profile

Postby LivingFlame » Fri Aug 08, 2008 10:43 am

Sorry for the double post.

I figured I'd add in that, if worse comes to worst, then you can always try pulling the drive out of the enclosure and connecting it to the computer internally. If you don't know how to do that, then find someone that does.

Again, that's the last resort.
... yea ...

User avatar
AaronAMV
eating that e. coli spinach
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 7:54 pm
Status: (◔ ◡ ◔ )
Location: (◔ ◡ ◔ )
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby AaronAMV » Fri Aug 08, 2008 11:00 am

O__O
I didn't even know that was possible... |:
I thought the only thing you could add for laptops was ram... rofl
Okay, well thanks for doing what you can and helping me. I appreciate it. (:
Image

User avatar
LivingFlame
Joined: Sat May 28, 2005 4:41 pm
Location: Closer than you think...
Org Profile

Postby LivingFlame » Fri Aug 08, 2008 1:04 pm

Well, if you were going to install it internally, it would have to be on a desktop PC. I highly doubt an external enclosure is using a laptop form-factor drive. You would only be doing this to salvage the files and probably move them to a new external drive anyway.

There's also the possibility that an IDE or SATA cable (whichever this drive happens to be using) came loose inside the enclosure, actually. You may eventually have to open it up anyway.
... yea ...

User avatar
AaronAMV
eating that e. coli spinach
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 7:54 pm
Status: (◔ ◡ ◔ )
Location: (◔ ◡ ◔ )
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby AaronAMV » Fri Aug 08, 2008 1:19 pm

Ohhh, I didn't think it was possible to move it to a laptop... In that case, I'm screwed... >_> I don't got a working desktop in my house....
Image

User avatar
AaronAMV
eating that e. coli spinach
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 7:54 pm
Status: (◔ ◡ ◔ )
Location: (◔ ◡ ◔ )
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby AaronAMV » Fri Aug 08, 2008 4:47 pm

Well... So my mom's tech guy at works thinks it's the case, because all it does it turn on for a second when I turn the power on, but that's all. So Frys sells external hard drive cases, so I'm gonna go and switch them out tomorrow. Hopefully it'll work. :cry:
Image


Return to “Hardware Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests