What specs would your PC need to have to be able to edit

This forum is for help with and discussion about your video hardware.

What specs would your PC need to have to be able to edit

Postby Subtle Sorrow » Fri Jul 25, 2008 1:49 pm

I don't mean just downloading a fansub and doing some basic stuff in WMM. I mean using Adobe Premiere Pro 2, and after effects etc. What things would you want to get so you can edit.

I'm asking this because I'm going to buy a new PC in a couple of months, and I want to spend 1000 pounds on a PC ( just the computer, not monitors etc.)
Subtle Sorrow
 
Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Location: England

Postby Malificus » Fri Jul 25, 2008 1:59 pm

One quick way to tell would be to check the requirements of the editing software you'd like to use.
Image
ImageImage
User avatar
Malificus
Dr. Malpractice
 
Joined: 03 Aug 2002
Location: St. Paul, Minnesota

Postby Zarxrax » Fri Jul 25, 2008 2:00 pm

Years ago, I would run Adobe Premiere 6 on a 650mhz machine with 512mb or ram. It was quite quick and responsive.

Today I have a 2.7ghz quad-core machine with 4gb of ram, and it struggles with premiere pro and after effects.
User avatar
Zarxrax
 
Joined: 01 Apr 2001
Location: Concord, NC

Postby Otohiko » Fri Jul 25, 2008 2:02 pm

I don't think you can go wrong these days - any computer in that price range will do you good. Even 5 years ago a computer in that price range would've done all you wanted, just that rendering previews etc. would take longer. For you it's more a question of best value for your buck.

The other question is, what else do you want to do with your computer? If you're getting the PC just for editing, for example, you wouldn't need to bother with things like fancy video cards, and that'd let you invest in the processor and RAM. But if you're planning to be gaming on this PC as well, then that'd be something to look out for.
Otohiko
 
Joined: 05 May 2003

Postby Otohiko » Fri Jul 25, 2008 3:14 pm

Zarxrax wrote:Today I have a 2.7ghz quad-core machine with 4gb of ram, and it struggles with premiere pro and after effects.


Well, I think that's also more due to the fact that editors' requirements have gone up in some cases a lot more than software ones. I generally do moderately simple editing, and my dual-core AMD 4600+ (processor cost <$200 a year ago when I bought it) is really fast for my purposes, and hell, it encodes DVD-sized mp4s in pretty much real time.

However yea, if you're doing AE or any other sort of technically-complex stuff, you're looking at a much higher entry price.
Otohiko
 
Joined: 05 May 2003

Postby BasharOfTheAges » Fri Jul 25, 2008 4:41 pm

And then there's always the RAM limit. Unless you're running a 64-bit OS, you're limited to 4GB of addressable space - taking all your I/O devices and bootrom into account, you're down to a 3.5GB limit of usable RAM on a 32-bit OS.
Another Anime Convention AMV Contest Coordinator 2008-2014 & Head of the AAC Fan-works Theater - follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/AACFanTheater
:sorcerer: :sorcerer: |RD: "Oh, Action!" (side-by-side) | |
User avatar
BasharOfTheAges
Just zis guy, you know?
 
Joined: 14 Sep 2004
Location: Merrimack, NH
Status: Extreeeeeeeeeme

Postby leahzero » Fri Jul 25, 2008 5:28 pm

DOKTOP KPbI/\OB wrote:However yea, if you're doing AE or any other sort of technically-complex stuff, you're looking at a much higher entry price.


Not necessarily "much higher." It depends on what you're doing and what your workflow is like. AE runs like a dream even on machines that are modest by today's standards (e.g. my previous PC, a single-core P4 that lasted a good 4 years) when you make intelligent decisions about comping and rendering. Noobs who lump everything into one comp and stack 10 effects on each layer may encounter different results.
User avatar
leahzero
 
Joined: 22 Apr 2003
Location: Chicago

Postby Willen » Sat Jul 26, 2008 6:23 am

For £1000 you should be able to get something that will have little problem editing videos.

If I was buying a desktop PC for editing today, I'd get something with these specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo or Quad CPU (Quad core may help out when rendering video)
Dedicated graphics card (GPU type doesn't matter much unless you intend to play games)
4GB RAM
1TB 7200rpm SATA HDD (depending on your storage habits, you may need more or less)

You could easily get something with these requirements for about £500 or less.
Having trouble playing back videos? I recommend: Image
User avatar
Willen
Now in Hi-Def!
 
Joined: 10 Jul 2005
Location: SOS-Dan HQ
Status: Melancholy

Postby leahzero » Sat Jul 26, 2008 11:23 am

Quad core makes a HUGE difference for video rendering speed, as well as ripping DVDs, encoding files, and anything else that relies on pure CPU power. Especially if you get an Intel 45nm chip with SSE4. If you do a lot of any of the tasks listed here, a quad core is a great investment.
User avatar
leahzero
 
Joined: 22 Apr 2003
Location: Chicago

Postby trythil » Sat Jul 26, 2008 5:03 pm

leahzero wrote:Quad core makes a HUGE difference for video rendering speed, as well as ripping DVDs, encoding files, and anything else that relies on pure CPU power.


Not unless the processes you're performing are parallelized, of course.

To speak of some tools in common use: DVD Decrypter and SmartRipper certainly don't. Premiere Pro may have been updated to do so, but to my knowledge rendering in Premiere Pro still makes use of only one core. On the other side of things, After Effects' rendering engine can take advantage of multiple cores and machines. So can many 3D rendering engines. Audio rendering systems occasionally can spread work across audio renderfarms, though I don't think that's a really common case here.

The OS task scheduler can distribute more (serial) work across the additional cores, and that helps somewhat with responsiveness and individual program performance, but only to a point. Eventually you hit bottlenecks from RAM or disk, and the only way around that is to re-work algorithms.
This is a block of text that can be added to posts you make. There is a 512 character limit.
trythil
is
 
Joined: 23 Jul 2002
Location: Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch

Postby Zarxrax » Fri Aug 01, 2008 11:17 am

trythil wrote:After Effects' rendering engine can take advantage of multiple cores and machines.

However, it's rather poorly implemented. After Effect's multithreading basically consists of starting up new instances of After Effects in the background and letting them render some frames. In practical terms, this means if you want it to use 2 cores to render, then you need to have twice as much ram as you would for 1 core to render. Start using 4 cores and the ram requirements are astronomical. Many people recommend having 8gb of ram if you want to run after effects with 4 cores.
User avatar
Zarxrax
 
Joined: 01 Apr 2001
Location: Concord, NC

Postby Knowname » Mon Aug 04, 2008 12:58 pm

atm I'm on a P4 w/ 256mb RDRAM. I'm too scared to install prem pro on it. I'd figure Prem Pro requires significantly more resources than regular Prem. WMM actually requires even more than THAT!!... but than I don't know if their's a computer in existance that can satisfy WMM :cry:
User avatar
Knowname
 
Joined: 16 Nov 2002
Location: Sanity, USA (on the edge... very edge)
Status: Indubitably

Postby Knowname » Mon Aug 04, 2008 1:09 pm

trythil wrote:Not unless the processes you're performing are parallelized, of course.


also it still helps ease the use of the processor just because whole threads like say a simultaneous audio encode, winamp session or... who doesn't get distracted by Word.... er, the internet, during a long encode, or even an antivirus scan. all of these processes together may only be single threaded, but they could also benefit greatly from more cores if used simultaneously.
User avatar
Knowname
 
Joined: 16 Nov 2002
Location: Sanity, USA (on the edge... very edge)
Status: Indubitably

Postby gazzarix83 » Mon Aug 04, 2008 2:33 pm

i am looking to start creating my self and i would like to ask the following: would my single 2.4ghz cpu with 512 ram make the cut?
gazzarix83
 
Joined: 04 Aug 2008

Postby GloryQuestor » Mon Aug 04, 2008 5:11 pm

gazzarix83 wrote:i am looking to start creating my self and i would like to ask the following: would my single 2.4ghz cpu with 512 ram make the cut?


The CPU is fine, but the memory isn't. You will probably want to up that memory to at least 2GB at the minimum. Also make sure you have at the very least a 120GB hard drive just for AMV creation.
( :| Serious Business Studios :| )
Website Administrator, AnimeMusicVideos.Org
Pittsburgh Japanese Culture Society Events - AMV Department Head
Anime Weekend Atlanta - Video Art Track Department Supervisor
Another Anime Convention - Fan-Works Theater Staff
ImageImage
User avatar
GloryQuestor
Moderation Hero
 
Joined: 13 Apr 2004
Status: Study, Study, Study, Edit, Study, Study...

Next

Return to Video Hardware Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests